DEV Community

Chris Wagner
Chris Wagner

Posted on

Where do you store your IMPORTANT passwords?

Remembering your passwords can be a tricky thing to do these days.

So, we should have a password manager that can keep our passwords safe.

For this solution, we have compiled the list of the best Password Managers:

https://hostingpill.com/best-password-managers/

Those are 100%, secure password managers.

Please let me know which password manager are you using?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
eddex profile image
eddex • Edited

Quite an extensive list of 26 password managers, I give you that. But claiming a software is 100% secure is a bold statement. Especially for proprietary, cloud based password managers.

I use KeePass because it gives you complete control over the password file.

Collapse
 
jjamet profile image
Jérémy JAMET

Hello guys, it's an interesting topic. Developing myself a file manager for Android. I will like to know what are the reasons that make you like one password manager over another. This will allow me to prioritize developments and focus on the most expected features.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

A KeePass file. More explicitly, github.com/patarapolw/KeePassDX-di... (a fork), and KeePassXC.

I also use LastPass and Chrome's default.

I still don't get how can cloud be secure. Is storing plaintext passwords in Heroku PostGres (plus transfer via HTTPS) secure?

Collapse
 
emptyother profile image
emptyother • Edited

Ah, password managers. Low and medium important passwords I save to Bitwarden.

Important passwords, like the password for Bitwarden, backup of Bitwarden, certificates, cryptokeys, bitcoins, product keys, etc.. They go to an encrypted usb stick on my key chain:

My KeySmart

Nothing safer than having stuff not hooked up to a computer unless I need it. And got a backup of that too, hidden away, just in case.

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

1Password.

Collapse
 
jeraldjamescapao profile image
Jerald James Capao • Edited

Thanks for the great article. The password manager that I am already using for 2 years is unfortunately not on the list - Dashlane!😀

Collapse
 
niklashansen profile image
Niklas Hansen

Bitwarden

Collapse
 
raohammas profile image
Rao Hammas

I'm already using BitWarden Open source and fully featured . Works great for Mobile and Desktop :)