DEV Community

Jan Peterka
Jan Peterka

Posted on

Beyond Flask tutorials

disclaimer

I have no idea what is the correct way to do things. I probably do some things really wrong, and I will be glad to learn that. Here I'm just sharing my experience and where I'm now in using Flask for multiple small projects (all basically CRUD apps). Your experience may be different, and I will gladly hear it.

what's this about

As many (I guess), I started to learn Flask with Flask Megatutorial by Miguel Grinberg (who's for me a Flask guru). You can learn a lot from tutorials, but at some point you get to situations where you don't find a reference for how to do this a clean way, "Flask way". So, there are many things I tried and changed and changed again. It's not that the code is not working, but when you are thinking about how to keep your code sustainable, you are just trying to find a good way all the time.
I want to show how I use Flask. How I think about structure, what tools and packages I use for my app.

I will randomly add some articles as I'm handling different parts of my application/s. If I will see something to be worth sharing, I will try to do so.

I hope for this to become place for me to structure my thoughts and experiences, for you to be inspired, and for all of us to exchange thoughts, discuss and learn.

Let's start!

Questions for this post:

  • Do you use Flask? And have you comparison with other web frameworks?
  • Is there something you are stuck on, something that doesn't just "feel right" in you Flask project?

Top comments (0)