DEV Community

Jan Peterka
Jan Peterka

Posted on

Gratitude journal - dev edition (29.3. - git)

So, how are you holding up?

In pursuit of happiness in these difficult times, I will continue my gratitude journal.
Last week I wrote about Stimulus.js and why am I grateful for it.

This week I will focus on something fundamental for most of us - git.
I am probably not only one who cannot imagine working without git these days, but it wasn't always that way.

When I started learning to code, I had no idea there is anything like version control systems. I just made new and new files with names like code_2_0_new and so. You may know what I am talking about.

I learned to use git after that - or to be more precise, I mostly learned how to operate GitHub (which was the same for me at a time).

So, I was very surprised when I was supposed to use TortoiseSVN in my first job. It was really weird, ugly and complicated. Soon, I happily returned to git.

Since then, I am using git almost daily - at work (learning how to use it for collaboration) or in my hobby projects (adding things like pre-commit, integrating with deploys and so).
I am no expert in git, I have a lot to learn, but even now, it helps me with my programming tremendously.

So for today, I am grateful for git (and in extension, for all git software I used so far - GitHub desktop, GitKraken and my current Sublime Merge).

What are you grateful for? :)

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I used to keep a daily gratitude journal, I need to get back into it. I really helps you think through the positive things once per day.

Today I am grateful for good health, and the help of everyone working the front lines, from hospitals, to grocery stores, pharmacies, and restaurants.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Also, git is such an amazing technology. It really needs to be engrained in more brains than just those contributing to open source. I still see things like code_2_0_new daily.

Collapse
 
janmpeterka profile image
Jan Peterka

I was recently thinking about how versioning git-like technology could be used outside development and IT, for example in law changes. I believe it could make the mess of it (currently looking at all pandemic chaotic changes in our country) slightly better. Also, it could be called legit, which seems funny to me.