DEV Community

JC Smiley
JC Smiley

Posted on

Dealing with self-imposed boundaries in tech

I want to talk about self-imposed boundaries and how transitioning into tech can be scary. I remember hiding in a bathroom stall, frozen with fear from a crowded hackathon room. I recall finding an excuse to not car-pool with co-workers from being terrified of being enclosed in a space with others. This created a self-imposed boundary of avoidance and silence to deter anxiety that resulted in being alone.

Last year, I did something that scared me. I attended a tech conference, Magnolia.js. Guess what, it was wonderful. Literally the sun was shining and I saw butterflies outside the venue. I learned a lot, saw many of my tech heroes, and was inspired to dream bigger. Even more, I crossed a boundary and the world didn’t crash or those preconceived demons didn’t flare up.

Someone recently inspired me to explore my self imposed limits. To consider that as we get older, how we deal with those boundaries should change. An older aunt explained to me how she combats anxieties with prayer, courage to “Do it Afraid '', and understanding that whatever she is afraid of more than likely will not happen.

We have to reason with our fear and question why “we can’t” (because we can). Examples of self-impose limits:

◼ I’m not smart enough.

First, you are smart enough. Second, transitioning into the tech industry isn’t about smarts but passion, dedication, and resilience.

◼ This isn’t for people that look like me or come from my neighborhood.

People from every shape, color, creed, disability, and whatnot are in tech breaking barriers. If they can, then you can.

◼ I didn’t go to college.

College is not required for every opportunity. The only real requirement is showing the value you can deliver.

◼ My experience isn’t in the tech industry, it’s not transferable.

Domain knowledge is an asset. Tech isn’t about code. It’s about problem solving which if you have work anywhere you have it.

◼ I’m too old.

Let’s turn this around, you have tons of wisdom (aka more value)

My question to you, what is a self imposed boundary or limit that you want to conquer or have conquered? Share it in the comments so others can either benefit or realize “We aren’t alone”.

This was written to the background song of Blackway & Black Caviar - "What's Up Danger" (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse)

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

As a Software Freestyle Engineer, I can relate to the challenges and self-imposed boundaries mentioned in your article. Transitioning into the tech industry can indeed be intimidating, but it's important to recognize that many of these boundaries are self-imposed and can be overcome.

I completely understand the fear and anxiety that can arise when facing self-imposed boundaries in the tech industry. It's common to feel overwhelmed or doubt our abilities, especially when we compare ourselves to others or think we don't fit the typical mold. However, as a Software Freestyle Engineer, I've learned that these boundaries are often based on misconceptions or limiting beliefs.

One of the self-imposed boundaries I had to conquer was the belief that I wasn't smart enough to succeed in tech. I realized that intelligence alone doesn't define success in this field. Passion, dedication, and resilience play crucial roles in overcoming challenges and achieving growth. By shifting my focus from self-doubt to continuous learning and improvement, I was able to thrive as a Software Freestyle Engineer.

Another common self-imposed boundary is the idea that certain backgrounds or demographics are not suited for tech. The reality is that the tech industry thrives on diversity and inclusivity. People from all walks of life, regardless of their race, gender, age, or educational background, can excel in tech. It's the passion and drive to contribute that truly matters.

I've also encountered the belief that my previous experience outside the tech industry wasn't transferable. However, I quickly realized that problem-solving skills are universal and highly valued in the tech field. Whether it's from a different industry or domain, the ability to analyze and find solutions to complex problems is a valuable asset that can be applied in software development.

Age is another self-imposed boundary that many people face. But let's reframe it. With age comes wisdom and a wealth of experience that can bring immense value to the tech industry. Instead of viewing age as a limitation, we should embrace it as an opportunity to contribute our unique perspectives and insights.

we should challenge these self-imposed boundaries and break free from limiting beliefs. The tech industry is evolving and welcoming individuals from diverse backgrounds. By recognizing our own value, embracing continuous learning, and supporting one another, we can conquer these boundaries and achieve great success. Let's inspire and encourage others to do the same, realizing that we are not alone in this journey.

And remember, just like the empowering soundtrack you mentioned, we can embrace the challenge and say, "What's up danger?"

Collapse
 
jcsmileyjr profile image
JC Smiley

LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!!!!!!

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa

Yeah me too, read more in this Software Freestyle Engineer Paper

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Loved this article— thank you for sharing! I am struggling to think of some, though I know I have been thinking about this a lot recently. I think one limiting belief I am trying to work through is "I wouldn't like that" --> "I can try it for a bit and see if I like it." I think trying things out that even make me feel the full body cringe or anger or other tough feelings are super productive, because I am learning new things about myself! I want to experience all the feelings— and experiencing difficult ones is the key to doing that.

Collapse
 
jcsmileyjr profile image
JC Smiley

100% agree that even cringe worthy experiences can be a learning opportunity that in most situation we would say "we can't".