DEV Community

Eden Jose
Eden Jose

Posted on

Setting my bash prompt for WSL

This is just a dump of my settings for bash prompt for my WSL terminal. I didn't like to show the whole path since it takes up the whole line already but I do want to see the directory where I'm currently at.

Appended this to the bottom of ~/.bashrc and then re-opened my terminal.

$ vim ~/.bashrc

export PS1="[\[\e]0;\u@\h: \W\]${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\[\033[01;32m\]\u@\h\[\033[00m\]:\[\033[01;34m\] \W\[\033[00m\]]$ "
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Image description

Also, the desktop and dloads are aliases I added to the same file.

$ addalias

alias addalias='sudo vi /home/joseeden/.bashrc'
alias desktop='cd /mnt/c/Users/Eden\ Jose/Desktop'
alias dloads='cd /mnt/c/Users/Eden\ Jose/Downloads'
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (0)