DEV Community

Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

Any book recommendations about women who laid down the foundations of computer science?

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I really enjoyed The Innovators which chronicled many of the most important women and men involved in crafting the science and industry.

Collapse
 
nikola profile image
Nikola Brežnjak

May not be eeeeexactly what you're looking for, but I promise you you'll fall in love with these two books (and potentially even buy a dozen of them as gifts!):

I own a lot of books, wrote a few, read even more, and I'll say that these books fall into the top books ever. Probably why I'm so hyped up about them is because I get to read them to my daughter every night, and get to 'show' her how strong girls are made out to be/become 💪

Ada Lovelace is the first one portrayed in the book, and just the other day I asked my daughter which of the girls she likes the most; she said Ada, because she was a programmer as her dad (hey that's me). I melted ❤️

Collapse
 
sheldonnunes profile image
Sheldon Nunes

Two recommendations for Grace Hopper:

1) Grace Hopper and the Invention of the Information Age - This one focuses more on the computer development of the time and not so much directly about Grace Hopper. It is still an enthralling read.

2) Grace Hopper: Admiral of the Cyber Sea - This one is more of a bio on her but still has enough info on the computer aspects and contributions

Collapse
 
tompearson profile image
Tom Pearson

Programmed Inequality by Marie Hicks is fantastic book about the postwar British computing industry; how the contributions of the predominantly female technical workforce were first undervalued and then erased. It's not an easy read but I can't recommend it highly enough.

Collapse
 
jrohatiner profile image
Judith
Collapse
 
jrf profile image
Josefina R.
Collapse
 
vdumbrava profile image
vdumbrava

Pioneer Programmer: Jean Jennings Bartik and the Computer that Changed the World g.co/kgs/mERjBv

Collapse
 
kmelve profile image
Knut Melvær

Broad Band by Claire L. Evans is highly recommended! Enjoyed every single page of it 💯