DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

Happy Friday!

happy-friday-gif

Top comments (80)

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

This week I started my YouTube channel. I've always wanted to do this for the longest time and I'm excited I finally have it up :)

Collapse
 
amiamigo profile image
Ami Amigo

Your tutorial was excellent! I will deploy my site on Netlify

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

Awesome! Thank you πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
xanderyzwich profile image
Corey McCarty

I finally got enough reputation to comment on Stack Overflow after 5 years of being a professional dev

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

This week I realized that a local coffee shop has a big backyard with plenty of shaded seating. They open up at 7am and never get super busy. It has helped facilitate some super enjoyable and productive mornings.

Random peaceful nature GIF (source):
waterfall gif

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

My goodness, I read the first line, saw the picture, and was immensely envious!

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

Nice! It's hard to find places like that.

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

My biggest win this week would be completing a big rewrite, pulling a 1000+ line, unreadable, unintelligible and untested class into small, understandable and above all unit and integration tested classes. Three days of arg! And WTF!?, followed by: cool it's working! 😁

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

New blog post! But more importantly, I created reallybad.design for demonstration purposes.

Iron man cringing and saying "Eww"

Collapse
 
amejiarosario profile image
Adrian Mejia

haha, nice! I think most pages from the 90's would fall in this category now, with their blink elements and marquee tags

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

haha! reallybad.design is a good name... too good actually. need to take that name back to the drawing board as I'm sure you can up with much worse to match that design. πŸ˜‹

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him) • Edited

Probably. I had the base of the design laying around from helping someone with a Grid layout, so it was starting from a good design and I just added more CSS to make it into the monster it has become.

That and the subdomain really.reallybad.design are both open source though πŸ˜‰

GitHub logo 12vanblart / really-bad-designs

A website to demonstrate deploying a hover domain name to Netlify.

really-bad-designs

A website to demonstrate deploying a hover domain name to Netlify.





really-really-bad-designs

A website to demonstrate deploying a hover subdomain name to Netlify.

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh wow! I really wish I could contribute to really.reallybad.design ... I'm honestly probably not capable enough at development to do that yet. That sounds super sad, haha.

But hey, I can contribute this. For inspiration, check out brendanfraser.com/ I always hang onto it as an example of beautifully bad retro design... and funny that that's still out there in the wild.

Thread Thread
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

It's.... It's beautiful😍

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

This is hilarious. I love it.

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

It's probably my favorite pair of websites I've ever made.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice

Collapse
 
amiamigo profile image
Ami Amigo

Well! On a Desktop the design doesn't look bad at all! At least not as bad as I would have imagined it to be.

Collapse
 
paigeegorry profile image
paigeegorryπŸ‘©β€πŸ’» • Edited

I made a Last Airbender API and had students at Alchemy Code Lab in PDX beta-test it while learning how to fetch from APIs (bootcamp) and async redux with React (career track). Got lots of feedback, I am excited to create version 2 with their feedback! It is OPEN SOURCE so feel free to submit PRs if you feel inclined: last-airbender-api.herokuapp.com/

Last Airbender API

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

This is πŸ”₯πŸ’¨πŸ’§πŸŒŽ

Collapse
 
paigeegorry profile image
paigeegorryπŸ‘©β€πŸ’»

Thank you!!!!

Collapse
 
amejiarosario profile image
Adrian Mejia

Very nice!

Collapse
 
knpfletcher profile image
Karen Fletcher

Finally published my portfolio!! You can check it out here! Would love any constructive, positive feedback on it!

knpfletcher.dev/

Collapse
 
allison profile image
Allison Walker

It looks great, Karen! Well done. :)

I'm really impressed by your volunteering. You seem very outgoing.

The typography looks good. I do think there could be a little more connection between your resume and your portfolio, like maybe there could be similar colors, or typography, or font-size.

The home page feels really short. You might want to consider putting your work on the home page, to give more emphasis to your work. Or you could put a call to action at the bottom of the homepage, instead of the resume.

Collapse
 
knpfletcher profile image
Karen Fletcher

Thank you, Allison!

That's a good point, I'll try to play with the colors and pull in the resume color.

Call to Action might be the way to go on the home page. I also played around with having little work "tiles" on the home page, but didn't want it too cluttered.

Thread Thread
 
allison profile image
Allison Walker

Seems like you have a pretty good eye for design, so I'm sure you'll think of something great. :)

Thread Thread
 
knpfletcher profile image
Karen Fletcher

Thank you so much!! This comment made my day! πŸ’œ

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

It looks nice -- and it's responsive (the first thing I always try).

I'm not keen on the browser screenshots. I think they'd make a strong impact without the browser UI bits.

Collapse
 
knpfletcher profile image
Karen Fletcher

Thanks so much!

I'll try the screeenshots without the browser, thank you!

Thread Thread
 
kennethvandenberghe profile image
Kenneth Van den Berghe

Just a tip: google chrome 74 has tooling for this... developers.google.com/web/updates/...

Collapse
 
amiamigo profile image
Ami Amigo

I love the resume! Good design. But I bet you can do better on the Home page, maybe try to have a consistent color scheme as your resume.

Collapse
 
knpfletcher profile image
Karen Fletcher

Thanks, Ami! I go back and forth on the home page, I wanted to create something that was uniquely 'me', but I'm also concerned it's too out there haha.

Collapse
 
matthewtrout profile image
Matthew Trout

Did you create your illustration out of interest? It's awesome :)

Collapse
 
knpfletcher profile image
Karen Fletcher

Thank you! I did not, credit for the illustrations belongs to undraw: "A constantly updated collection of beautiful svg images that you can use completely free and without attribution." You can pick a primary color to customize them on the site, and some of them I customized further by editing the SVG.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Gardening! Yeah, I've used this one before, but I'll use it again... it's great!

πŸŒ±πŸ…πŸŒ±πŸ†πŸŒ±πŸŒΆ

Here's a picture of tiny bell pepper plant that's sprouted one massive pepper. Now I just gotta wait for it to turn red...

https://cl.ly/570bdf6a5aad/download/Image%202019-05-31%20at%2012.00.40%20PM.png

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

I'm waiting for my five chili plants, various cultivars, to product fruit.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice!! Loves the peppers. 🌢🌢🌢

I have various bells, jalapeΓ±os (which are coming in nicely), and some poblanos (which have yet to come in at all)!

The tomatoes are really taking off right now, you can see one photobombing in the top right corner there. But, I gotta say that nothings made me happier than this enormous pepper. Turn red, turn red! 🀞🀞

Collapse
 
jsrn profile image
James

I managed to drag myself out of my house to a local meetup for the second time this month. I've been wanting to get more involved locally for a while, so it was great to get out of the house and talk to other programmers.

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

I gave a presentation "Everybody's a Developer" about the need to be inclusive in our development effort. Unfortunately there is no recording, but maybe I'll do it again soon (if you know anybody interested, let me know).

The Abstract

Join us for this Tuesday evening with Edaqa to find out why our culture must become more inclusive, rather than a war of titles.

In a war of titles, we're increasingly losing focus on what is vital to development. The path to better technology lies in working together, not only as teams but across teams throughout an organization. Let's take a look at the dangers of isolation, specialization and throwing things over the wall. By improving how we view each other, we can improve the product, increase morale, and build a strong sense of self-worth for yourself.

Stop the game of words and embrace everybody as a developer.

Collapse
 
sm0ke profile image
Sm0ke

Improve my SEO optimization skills: adding fonts optimization and CSS splitting for a legacy project is quite challenging if you are a newbie.
Also, writing an article here on Dev, about it:

Seo tips from a newbie

Hope this mention doesn't look spammy. For me, SEO optimization was quite an achievement.

Collapse
 
amejiarosario profile image
Adrian Mejia

Nice, I have been reading a lot about SEO as well. It's quite interesting and broad topic

Collapse
 
sm0ke profile image
Sm0ke

I prefer to delegate the SEO stuff to an expert, but the budget is not always 'in the mood' for this. :)

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

I topped 40,000 reputation on Stack Overflow this week. Pretty pleased with that.

I also built a couple of example apps with the MediaRecorder API (blog posts are on their way too).

And I went to the gym for the first time in forever (I don't really do gyms, trying something new really). 2 days later and everything still hurts. Hopefully this will improve.

Collapse
 
amejiarosario profile image
Adrian Mejia • Edited

Finished posting my first series in dev.to!

Collapse
Collapse
 
aimerib profile image
Aimeri Baddouh

In my first week at my first full time job as a programmer:

  • I was able to reduce the onboarding of the dev environment from 4 weeks previously (really brittle setup), to just a few clicks. Tested on multiple computers and vms, and it now just works!

  • Worked with the trainer for our software to recognize pain points of our users, and already added 3 changes to our backlog, pending dev call next week to prioritize those changes

  • Submitted my very first PR!

feelsgoodman

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

I accepted a job offer today! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
yashints profile image
Yaser Adel Mehraban

Congrats