DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Giving a talk
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

party-parrot
Happy Friday!

Top comments (73)

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim • Edited

I got my first paycheck after career change!

It is neither a dev job nor a huge amount, but still, it feels really amazing. ✨πŸ₯³
paycheck

βž• My apology for the lengthy comment, but I have to brag this as well.
Thank you, everyone, on Dev.to❣️ This is way much bigger celebration then I expected.
Beloved Comment badge

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Thank you very Ben!πŸ₯°
I’m looking forward to a day I can submit ”your win this week” as ”I got my first paycheck as a dev!”. 🀩

Collapse
 
gerardoboss profile image
Gerardo Jaramillo Boss Leads

Good Times!

Collapse
 
kfowlks profile image
Kevin Fowlks

Congrats!

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi
  • did a 10k with my partner!
  • celebrated the publishing of Your First Year in Code, which includes a chapter by me!
  • oh and got engaged β˜ΊοΈβ˜ΊοΈβ˜ΊοΈπŸ’πŸ’πŸ’
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wow congrats!!!!!

What a week!

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi

Truly!!! We went on vacation right after the 10k so it’s barely even started to sink in!

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Triple congratulations! It must have been an epic week.
And, wish your "happy ever after"!

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi

thanks so much! it truly was a busy one!

Collapse
 
parasharrajat profile image
Rajat Parashar

I am sorry to ask but What is 10k? ☺️

Collapse
 
desi profile image
Desi
Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Two wins:

I gave my first ever talk at Codeland!

And the book I contributed a chapter to launched:

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

What a week!

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Thanks! And it was great meeting you (and the rest of the crew) again!

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hopefully we keep meeting up again and again for a long time!

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim • Edited

Congratulation! That's amazing. So it was THE first talk EVER, right? So cooool.
I just saw Codeland about one hour before. Same on me.
Really want to hope I also to give a talk there one day!

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Yes, it was my first! (I've spoken at a Meetup, but never at a conference).

Good luck to you! I'm sure you'll get there!

Thread Thread
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim • Edited

Wow. Truly amazing.
πŸ₯Ά Thanks! I'm looking forward to it happening. #treacherous

Thread Thread
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson

Oh, you'll do great!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

This was an awesome week for the DEV team! We got to launch a book, bring some of our team together for Codeland Conf, and play a scavenger hunt across Brooklyn!

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I need to know more about this scavenger hunt

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

+1 how was your detail of scavenger hunting. tried to stalk Jess's tweeter, but failed.
Congratulation for working with such an amazing team!

Collapse
 
amyroche profile image
Amy

I had a great phone interview on Tuesday! So great that they asked me to come back for an in person interview/coding challenge! I’ll be spending next week getting mentally prepped for that because my in person interview is on Monday the 5th. Woo! This job would be a huge step forward in my web development career.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Congrats!!

Collapse
 
itsmenatalie profile image
Natalia

Fingers crossed! :D

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill
Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Wow, quadruple wins! I envy you for the first one. I just saw it one hour before. 😭Hope to meet you there, in the future!

Collapse
 
haseebelaahi profile image
Haseeb

Published a blog 2 weeks consecutively 😁

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Woohoo keep it up!

Collapse
 
voidjuneau profile image
Juneau Lim

Good luck with 22 continuous week and more after that!
Cat Running GIF by NFL

Collapse
 
saraahmed626 profile image
Sara °°°
  • Learned Bootstrap 4.
  • Recreated my portfolio using bootstrap 4.
  • Learned about the SOA (Service Oriented Architecture) knowing that i will be working on a project that contains: a mobile app + a website, and i hadn't have the slightest idea of how it should work together before.
Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

I finally got around to learning basic SASS (I've been meaning to do so for a while now), and then immediately applied that knowledge to improve load times for the web app I've been working on by using SASS imports to cut down on the total number of style sheets that need to be fetched. In all, it made the app load almost 3.5 seconds faster on a simulated 3G network.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes • Edited

This week, I... landed 2 short term clients - one shopify and one mobile UI design gig! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Edit:

Plus I'm half way through the NPO's website that I'm developing. πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
xowap profile image
RΓ©my πŸ€–

My article on the 10 NASA rules pissed a lot of people, it's pretty awesome to confront an idea to so many people and to see you've got the finger onto something (or maybe that I'm plain stupid, another option to be considered)

Collapse
 
areahints profile image
Areahints

TIL! nice article

Collapse
 
coreyja profile image
Corey Alexander

This week my team and really my whole company had a HUGE product release and launch that went super smoothly and I'm really happy about it! I lead one of the teams that was responsible for a lot of the work and I couldn't be prouder of my team and what we were able to build!

I work at Betterment and we launched a NEW Savings product that took a ton of work from a lot of different teams internally! We ALSO announced a new Checking product that is coming out in the near future!
You can signup for the checking waitlist and find out more about Savings, and our new Everyday offerings below!
(NOTE: This following IS a personal referral link that will boost me higher in the checking waitlist)
wwws.betterment.com/cw/ayy059
(or the non personal link if you prefer! betterment.com/everyday-checking/)

Collapse
 
codingsam profile image
Coding Sam

I spent the whole week at work creating e2e tests with cypress.
Not the most funny thing to do, but it's a big deal because it would allow us to test really important user flows before each deployment!
Learned so much! :)

Collapse
 
ssimontis profile image
Scott Simontis

Nailed the tech interview for my dream job!

Collapse
 
dhanushkadev profile image
Dhanushka madushan

Wow. Congratulations!

Collapse
 
areahints profile image
Areahints • Edited

ive got quite a few.

crossed my monthly target of 50 articles (1000 words) for a client im currently ghostwriting for.

got an offer for a new writing gig with much better perks than current one. still reviewing. will most likely say yes.

played my fav songs of beyonce's new album 2000+ times, basically humming them in my sleep now.

was able to spend more time with my dog. really missed her!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.