DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

happy-friday-gif

Top comments (105)

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

I graduated today!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Wow, congrats!!!

Collapse
 
overlordex3 profile image
Exequiel Beker

Congrats!! Very nice!!

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
jamiekaren profile image
Jamie Ferrugiaro

Congrats!!

Collapse
 
rizwanjavaid profile image
Rizwan⚡️

That's awesome! Congratulations.

Collapse
 
k88manish profile image
Manish Kumar

Congratulations man

Collapse
 
valour442 profile image
VUU

Congratulations Man!

Collapse
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot

Khans Academy?

But in all seriousness, congratulations John.

Collapse
 
alchermd profile image
John Alcher

lmao yeah finishing the content of khan academy would be a harder achievement than finishing the syllabus of my CS degree. Thanks man!

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

This week I secured a senior frontend developer position due to start on Monday. I had spent a couple of months working on my own venture prior to that. It's kinda exciting to be back to the office environment.

Collapse
 
temimiah profile image
temimiah

Congratulations Jermaine

Collapse
 
onecastell profile image
Franklin Castellanos

Congrats Jermaine! 👍🏿

Collapse
 
dmahely profile image
Doaa Mahely

Congrats Jermaine!

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Cheers Doaa!

Collapse
 
rubyhightower profile image
ruby--pinealgandrx

I saw my classroom for the first time where I am going to be teaching inmates who have been locked up for a very long time how to code!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

That's incredible!!

Do you know Alex Qin ? I was volunteering with her Code Cooperative program for a short time.

Collapse
 
rubyhightower profile image
ruby--pinealgandrx

Sorry I am not familiar, but I'm looking into their CC program!

Collapse
 
rizwanjavaid profile image
Rizwan⚡️

Very nice. How was it?

How did you get started with teaching?

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

I reached 1,000 followers on this site and 100 followers on Twitter. ☺️

Collapse
 
sm0ke profile image
Sm0ke

1001 ..

Collapse
 
ashleemboyer profile image
Ashlee (she/her)

Hi! Thank you 🥰

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich • Edited

I wrote a post about growing up with a Mom in tech because it was Mother's Day and I'm gearing up for a 5 minute lightning talk at ACT-W in Portland, OR. It felt great to honor the memory of my mother in a meaningful way!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

This week, I...got to announce our two newest team members to the community :)

Collapse
 
edisonywh profile image
Edison Yap • Edited

This week I submitted to not one, but two conference talks! One to ElixirConf and one to RubyConf.

These would be my first time(s) submitting a CFP, and it's quite a mental hurdle to overcome and decide to submit. There's always that slight doubt lingering at the back of my mind (you'll never get accepted!), but this time I've decided to just do it anyway :)

Also, I've recently been trying to speak more at meetups too, so hopefully everything works out and that my talks get accepted!

Collapse
 
laurenmaffeo profile image
Lauren Maffeo

*Started my 3-year term as a distinguished speaker with The Association for Computing Machinery.
*Became a community moderator for OpenSource.com
*My proposals to speak at/get travel funding for Open Source Summit North America were accepted.
*My team won the "Most Innovative" award at our company hackathon yesterday.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker • Edited

I started learning Rust, and did a thing. It was surprinsingly dificult to make, giving how simple the program is.

I feel like every Rust tutorial that doesn't cover the basics should begin with a warning like:

If you don't know anything about Rust and want to follow along, please don't. Go read "the book" until chapter 10 or check out Rust by example and then come back.

Rust has a nice and polite compiler, it would be a shame if you spend the next two hours yelling at it.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

thanks for the warning hahaha!

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

I got my new interview preparation site and class online.

I'm hoping to provide a good set of resources to help people prepare for interviews.

I also signed my millionth W8-BEN form for work in the USA! XD

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks

I got promoted to Senior Consultant!

Collapse
 
michaelrice profile image
Michael Rice

Nice! I come from a consulting background - it's an incredible career and landing Senior Consultant is usually a big deal. Congrats :-)

Collapse
 
francoislagier profile image
Francois LAGIER • Edited

Finally released our new onboarding flow for CloudForecast.io. FrontEnd work is not my forte but I'm really happy with the result.

Also cleaned up my code a bit:
PR

Collapse
 
golangch profile image
Stefan Wuthrich

Well, in day job, product for which I'm responsible as PO and Head of Development, we won 3th time in a row industry awards for our SMS/MNP P/SaaS.

And my Side Project Full-Stack Developer Job's got new features for the free Online Resume Builder, like Privacy and Contact Settings, Advanced Filters, Remote Work Settings etc.

Collapse
 
malgamves profile image
Daniel Madalitso Phiri

I finish building my personal website - malgamves.dev

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Love the aesthetic of the site! 😍

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Looks pretty bad-@$$ & fast!

Collapse
 
vgrovestine profile image
Vincent Grovestine • Edited

It may not seem like much, but this one CLI snippet has made my day! (...and spares me from the tedium of doing a hundred screen grabs by hand.)

for k in scene*.swf; \
do gnash --screenshot last \
--screenshot-file ./lastframe/$k.png -1 -r1 $k; \
done

Long story short: A Flash-based educational tutorial circa 2004 is getting overhauled for future longevity. However the source files were lost years ago, so I'm left to tease media assets from rendered *.swf scenes piecemeal.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.