DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

happy-friday-rabbits

Top comments (95)

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

I started a new job!! As a backend developer. This is a huge win for me given that I am In my last year of college. Thanks in large part to my dev.to articles, the interview process was all smooth sailing.

Collapse
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

I swear this platform is changing lives. I have my own success stories that started here. Congratulations on landing the job

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

Share them on a post. I'd love to read your success story.

I agree, dev.to is an amazing platform for personal growth.

Collapse
 
srikanthm9 profile image
Srikanth Mokkapati

This is something happened to me today...I did not get the confirmation yet, but my performance satisfied myself in the interview. Thanks, to Dev.To.

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

🎊 I hope you get your win as well. Reply to this when the confirmation comes!!! All the best. 🎊

Continue contributing to the dev.to community in your own little way whenever you can.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Congrats!!!!!

Collapse
 
prashant profile image
Prashant Nigam

Great and best of luck with your new job

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

Thank you.

Collapse
 
tuwang profile image
TuWang

congrats!!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Congrats!

Congrats!

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

This cracked me up 😂😂. Thanks Nick.

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

I listened to my interview on The Stack Overflow podcast and didn't cringe to death 😅

play pause The Stack Overflow Podcast
Collapse
 
erikthered profile image
Erik Nelson

Congrats! I'm looking forward to giving this a listen soon.

Still me when I hear my voice on anything:
shut up shut up

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

My wife brought home a Stranger Things LEGO set yesterday and we're gonna do some building tonight! 🙌 🙌

https://p78.f0.n0.cdn.getcloudapp.com/items/yAu4qzvo/Image+2019-11-15+at+4.20.07+PM.png?v=a496a931c7d234028e62a845549bef6c

I just might consider giving this to my niece and nephew after we've had our fun... that's a hard might.

Collapse
 
tarasnovak profile image
dataPixy 🧚‍♂️

😁

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

Noice!

Noice!

Collapse
 
tarasnovak profile image
dataPixy 🧚‍♂️

I 💖 that gif! Thx Nick! :)

Collapse
 
prashant profile image
Prashant Nigam

Quite a prolific week. Great stats and congrats

Collapse
 
tarasnovak profile image
dataPixy 🧚‍♂️ • Edited

hey, I am a prolific dev! They don't call me dataPixy for nothing :) Just b/c I have not blogged for years doesn't mean I can't spread my wings in prose. Most of them were just my README.md reposts & some recent updates I am working on ...

On a serious note, I was quite surprised by those week 1 stats. Turns out there are more devs interested in my vscode dataViz tools content on this platform than on Twitter.

Will def. post my dev tools updates on dev.to from now on since it looks like it's where good hands-on devs congregate lately :)

Collapse
 
richardeschloss profile image
Richard Schloss

I joined DEV.to and people actually noticed my little article. I didn't think anyone would care about what I had to say, but some folks did. That was kinda cool.

Collapse
 
trackrunner profile image
Laszlo Toth

Nice, you just joined and already wrote an article! I am new member too, but I am far away from write anything right now. I am at my early learning process :)
I read your article, and however not everything is clear I see you put the effort, so well done.

Collapse
 
richardeschloss profile image
Richard Schloss

Ok. Joining a community is always a great step in the right direction. I think with practice and experience, I'll get better at writing to make myself clearer :).

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Whoo!

Collapse
 
thecodepixi profile image
Emmy | Pixi

I resigned from my dead end admin job to focus on Flatiron School full-time! 🎉

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Woohoo, good luck!

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard • Edited

Launched meetingplace.io/ (an alternative to Meetup), and got 50 live groups, with over 100 more already registered but not live yet!

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

Awesome. I had this in mind for a while now. Is it an open source project?

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

It's not right now, though I do plan to open source at least large chunks of it in the future. I want to try to get it off the ground first though :)

Thread Thread
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

Cool. I'll look out for when you do. See if I can provide valuable contributions with the backend stuff.

Collapse
 
saviobosco profile image
Saviobosco

That's great. I would love to contribute if you dont mind.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I got a new job! I bypassed the interview because I'm an active contributor in a 200k community of Filipino Freelancers and the recruiter got familiar with my name

Collapse
 
lewiskori profile image
Lewis kori

congrats. This is very cool.

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Thanks!

Collapse
 
jeastham1993 profile image
James Eastham

Started #100DaysOfCode, learning ReactJS. I've always used Angular in the past, but am in love with React so far.

It's shown me the huge benefits of not just sticking to what you know, and at least having an understanding of the alternatives.

Collapse
 
missiemediva profile image
Evelyn Green

Hello, I love the way you talk about learning to code, my question is how does one get started on 100 Days of Coding, give me the low down on how I can learn to code for a 100 days, where do I start?

Collapse
 
jeastham1993 profile image
James Eastham

Hey Evelyn :) Thanks for the comment.

I've just written another article on my first week of #100DaysOfCode (dev.to/jeastham1993/100-days-of-co...).

In terms of getting started, I just picked something I wanted to get better at (front end dev), picked something I didn't know already (I know Angular, don't know React) and then found some resources to learn (Udemy in this case).

Hope that helps!

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

I am almost done rebuilding my portfolio I will probably launch it this week! I did not use any third party javascript library or framework so its just pure vanilla and after launching it will be the fastest website I've ever made :D

Collapse
 
dylanesque profile image
Michael Caveney

A former client referred me to a local business which has turned into a regular consulting gig. I found myself signing a W-9 the other day, so I guess I'm a "legitimate" freelancer now?

Collapse
 
prashant profile image
Prashant Nigam

Finally!!! finished and published first part of the tutorial in dev.to that has been pending for sometime. Feels good :)

Collapse
 
t00m profile image
Tomás Vírseda

Three achievements this week:

  • After one year of development during my spare time, I proudly released my almost-ready-for-production application in GitHub
  • At the sametime, I learnt how to do commits and branch in GitHub
  • As a consecuence, I wrote my first post in dev.to :)
Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

Survived a visit from my parents. yuk yuk yuk

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

ha, feel you.

Collapse
 
jarodpeachey profile image
Jarod Peachey

Got paid for my first freelance project 🎉🎉 It was a 7-page static site built with Gatsby. I had to integrate the back end with Google Sheets, which was new for me.

I also had fun learning how to download each image (from the sheets data) from the url, save it to a directory and access it, so I could still take advantage of using gatsby-image 🔥