DEV Community

Cover image for Where do the Queers, "Weirdos," & "Freaks" Gather...?
Jo
Jo

Posted on

Where do the Queers, "Weirdos," & "Freaks" Gather...?

Folks, if networking is king, where is a centralized space for atypical individuals? I'm talking people left of center. People working with what they've got over what they never will. Those late-night ghoulies whose brains are powered by moonlight. Masking burnouts replicating normality by force. And rainbow saluters.

We need a space. So if we have one, share it. And if we don't, we should figure out how to build it. Or at least connect together as some semblance of a web. Because life is hard, developing is hard, and not fitting into "the mold" is hard too. But we're social creatures, the most of us. So let's build our pillow fort, and help one another climb the ladder our own way.

RSVP!

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
jodoesgit profile image
Jo

Guess we gather somewhere else, cause there's zero responses here =P!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Bahhh, sorry I missed this post, Jo.

Those places that Rachel mentioned are great!

Also, we have a yearly event for Pride month where we encourage folks to post under #devpride (and some folks post under #pride).

As Rachel mentioned though, we could certainly get better organized here!

Collapse
 
jodoesgit profile image
Jo

Hahaha, no worries Michael! I was hoping to catch some fish, as they say. Baiting them with this post. LGBTQA+ is cool, but damned if I didn't want more than a single segregation of folks. I feel like there's a small underground army of individuals who are just waiting to be united. I want that intersectionality, of what people would consider the crayon nubbins of the world. Then I want them melted together to form a jumbo-crayon ;P!

I'm gunna follow those tags too by the by! Thank you!

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha, thanks for spelling it out to me... love the melted jumbo crayon analogy! 🙌

For what it's worth, I most definitely consider myself to be in the "weirdo" and "freak" category. At least that's who I aspire to be... all my heroes are weird and freaky haha!

It would be really fun to try and build a gathering of us like-minded oddballs...

Maybe we could us an org or create a dedicated tag. Gonna think on this for a bit! 🤔

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Lol to this comment, we would love to have a more clustered queer place here!

We do have a DEV tag:

#lgbtq

Tag to discuss anything oriented around the LGBTQIA+ community, experiences, resources, materials and more.

That I have always wanted to revive. Good luck to ya and let me know if I can lend a hand!

Collapse
 
rachelfazio profile image
Rachel Fazio

Ah, seems like we also have:

#lgbt


#trans

A dedicated tag for trans people to share articles, tips, and discuss about technology.

and maybe some org pages too! @michaeltharrington mentioned to me

which our Brazilian Portugues dev community created, which could be cool to check out!
Thread Thread
 
jodoesgit profile image
Jo

Thanks for this Rachel. They're a good start, but I don't want to just be relegated to queers. I love my freaks and geeks too! I wish there was a space for all folks considered "other" to gather. So we can gather in ranks, and help one another up the ladder together. I'm gunna follow the lot though.

Thanks again!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.