DEV Community

Cover image for What I did to go from 20 to 400 users in 3 days
Jordi Enric
Jordi Enric

Posted on

What I did to go from 20 to 400 users in 3 days

Picture by Austin Distel

Worktunes went from 20 users reached the first day to 400 in 3 days. Here's what I did:

Dev.to article: 270+ Users reached

I published this article and got really good feedback and some users contacted me to ask about how I made the app. I have an article on the list explaining that and also I'd like to open source a vuejs + firebase boilerplate that I use (made by me).

Twitter: 80+ Users reached

After publishing the article on dev.to they shared it on twitter. I can't check how many impressions it had but I got around 80 users from twitter so it probably had more than 4000 impressions.

Indiehackers: 40+ Users

I just shared a quick post on indiehackers, I'm pretty sure if I had written something better like I did for dev.to I could have gotten way more reach.

Makerlog: 10+ Users

I really like makerlog, I just share what I do throughout the day there and talk with other indie makers.

Conclussion:

Since I have less than 100 followers on twitter I thought it'd take me way more time of promoting the app to reach 250 users, which was my goal for this month. Now my goal is 500 and improve the app.

Thank you for reading, have a good day ✌✌

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I just checked it out. Where do you get the music from?

By the way, something appears to be broken: I can't hear it, because I foolishly clicked the blue square under the number wondering what it did and now the volume is stuck on zero. Even opening an incognito window doesn't fix it :/

Collapse
 
jordienr profile image
Jordi Enric

Hello Ben, try moving the square left to right, I guess it's not obvious at all, thank your for telling me.

I use the Youtube iframe API and have a database of links to livestreams from youtube :)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair • Edited

I can't move it left or right (latest Firefox, Windows). Interestingly, if I click it to focus, then I can use the mouse scroll wheel and the volume changes (including changing the number) but the slider still doesn't move. The first click to the volume track immediately sets it to zero again.

I also see this.$refs.player is undefined in the console if I press play before selecting a genre, but that's not a show-stopper!

Thread Thread
 
jordienr profile image
Jordi Enric

Thank you for the feedback Ben. I got the error in the console in my backlog but since it's not breaking anything I haven't stopped to fix it yet. I will try to improve the volume slider next 😊

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I have noticed that being active, consistent and sharing good articles is a good way to gain exposure.