DEV Community

Cover image for 💬 What is your programming credo and how it helps you at every day code?
Vic Shóstak
Vic Shóstak

Posted on • Updated on

💬 What is your programming credo and how it helps you at every day code?

Introduction

Hi, friends! 👋 How are you feeling?

Hope, everything is okay and you're now at good soul's state! Because today I would like to hear your stories in comments, more than to tell some of my stories...

So, pour yourself a delicious tea or make a coffee and let's go on... Conversation club opens its doors for you!

Hmm... a credo? 🤔

Follow Wikipedia, credo (pronounced [ˈkɾeːdoː], Latin for "I believe") is personal belief, the basis of the worldview of man.

It was not by chance, that I used credo word, as it would be interesting to learn not about "momentary think", but about really deep principles that define you as programmers at every day.

Let me get started!

My programmer credo is...

✅ If you may not use X, do not use X.

Where X may be hyped JavaScript framework, a controversial experimental tool, trendy (yet another) mobile app, etc.

For example, if I need to create static website for evergreen browsers (only), I never use any CSS frameworks and SASS (SCSS), because I will use default (built-in) CSS Grid Layout and CSS Custom properties.

Therefore, I will not need all power of bundlers (like Webpack, Rollup.js or else), but I will not lose development speed! Just because I won't have to write (OK, copy from past projects) a config and lost time to re-compile bundle each time I save file!

It might seem weird to someone, but that's exactly what completely describes my programming credo! 🤷‍♂️

☝️ What's your credo?

Please, tell your story in comments below... and let's talk about it! No words limit, but would be nice to follow this rules (I just saying 👌):

✅ Describe your programmer credo.
🎯 Tell some real life example, where it helps you at coding.

Photo by

[Title] Matthew Henry https://unsplash.com/photos/kZzYRiZcwTw

P.S.

If you want more articles (like this) on this blog, then post a comment below and subscribe to me. Thanks! 😻

And of course, you can help me make developers' lives even better! Just connect to one of my projects as a contributor. It's easy!

My projects that need your help (and stars) 👇

  • 🔥 gowebly: A next-generation CLI tool for easily build amazing web applications with Go on the backend, using htmx & hyperscript and the most popular atomic/utility-first CSS frameworks on the frontend.
  • create-go-app: Create a new production-ready project with Go backend, frontend and deploy automation by running one CLI command.
  • 🏃 yatr: Yet Another Task Runner allows you to organize and automate your routine operations that you normally do in Makefile (or else) for each project.
  • 📚 gosl: The Go Snippet Library provides snippets collection for working with routine operations in your Go programs with a super user-friendly API and the most efficient performance.
  • 🏄‍♂️ csv2api: The parser reads the CSV file with the raw data, filters the records, identifies fields to be changed, and sends a request to update the data to the specified endpoint of your REST API.
  • 🚴 json2csv: The parser can read given folder with JSON files, filtering and qualifying input data with intent & stop words dictionaries and save results to CSV files by given chunk size.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
damonholden profile image
Damon Holden • Edited

I know it's a meme, but I've always liked - "we do these things not because they are easy, but because we thought they were going to be easy". Always makes me feel better when I code my way into a sticky situation.