DEV Community

Cover image for Eye Care: Tips for Managing Dry Eyes and Fatigue (Bite-size Article)
koshirok096
koshirok096

Posted on

Eye Care: Tips for Managing Dry Eyes and Fatigue (Bite-size Article)

Introduction

Speaking from personal experience, I've recently noticed the onset of dry eyes and eye fatigue due to long hours spent working on a PC.

If you are a programmer who spends long periods facing a PC screen, it's important to know the right ways to address such issues.

In this article, I will share some measures and personal practices that have helped me manage eye fatigue effectively.

Image description

Eye Fatigue

If you're already experiencing dry eyes or feel tiredness in your eyes, it's advisable to use eye drops and use them regularly. I've recently started using eye drops and found they alleviate symptoms, so I highly recommend them.

Many of us grab a drink while tackling programming tasks on PC, and I recommend choosing beverages, like green tea, that are said to be beneficial for the eyes. While I'm not an expert in nutritional science, I've frequently heard that consuming almonds and blueberries can alleviate eye fatigue. Therefore, including them as snacks during breaks could be advantageous.

Additionally, I haven't tried this yet, but warming your eyes with a hot towel before bed or performing eye massages may also be effective in relieving fatigue.

Image description

PC Setup, Posture, and Position

This might sound general, but you can adjust the brightness and other display settings of your display to make it less tiring for your eyes (align the brightness with your work environment's lighting). Too much brightness or sharpness can strain your eyes, so adjust these settings to your preference.

Also, ensure your chair and display position support maintaining a straight back and feet flat on the ground.

Generally, keeping the screen about 50cm to 70cm away from your eyes is recommended, so set up your work environment keeping the appropriate distance in mind.

Tip: The 20-20-20 Rule

A simple exercise to rest your eyes during work is the 20-20-20 rule. Every 20 minutes, look at something 20 feet (about 6 meters) away for 20 seconds. Even if your workspace is small, periodically looking away from the PC screen to gaze at something distant is a good idea.

In my case, when I work from home, there's a window in front of my room, overlooking the neighbor's house and backyard, which I use as my focal point. It somehow gives me a sense of relief for my eyes, so I recommend it.

Image description

Adequate Breaks and Exercise

Beyond eye care, sitting in a chair all day can harm your back and overall health. Personally, I also feel it impacts work efficiency. In previous articles, I've mentioned related content, suggesting that moving outside, where the body is often in motion and standing, might enhance blood flow to the brain compared to sitting at home working.

Therefore, taking walks during breaks, working out at the gym, or using a standing desk, etc, could positively affect your health and productivity.

The ideal duration varies from person to person, but aiming for at least 30 minutes a day is advisable.

Image description

Conclusion

This article was inspired by my own experience with dry eyes. I hope it helps everyone create a healthier environment for programming.

Thank you for reading!

Top comments (0)