DEV Community

Krishna Agarwal
Krishna Agarwal

Posted on

Are you a Mac, Windows or Linux user?

Are you a Mac, Windows or Linux user?
Me: Windows

Top comments (28)

Collapse
 
jeoxs profile image
José Aponte

Windows user. I switched from Linux 2 years ago. Although linux is more power/recourses efficient, I was tired of dealing with compatibility issues on my everyday tools. I'm also a gamer, so I also got tired of using proton/wine/PlayOnLinux tools for games that can run effortlessly on Windows.

Collapse
 
w3ndo profile image
Patrick Wendo

Have you considered getting a steamDeck? i also had to dual boot my machine cause I want to play games. I wanted to get the steam deck but I can't get one in my country and as far as I know, it is not available till Q3. But SteamDeck is a linux machine that runs steam games pretty well.

Collapse
 
jeoxs profile image
José Aponte

Yes! I've seen/read a lot of reviews about the SteamDeck and it looks promising. As you said, the SteamDeck is a Linux machine which uses ProtonDB (a Steam/Valve tool which allow Steam to play native Windows games on other platforms). There are some compatibility issues with some games that requires Anti-Cheat software, but Valve says that the new updates will solve a lot of these issues. I might buy it at the end of year!

P.D: I will still use Windows for daily run!

Collapse
 
w3ndo profile image
Patrick Wendo

Linux.
Simply because it was the cheapest option when I was starting out. I wanted to buy a new laptop that I really had my eye on. But I only had about $400 on me. The laptop was $500 but it came with windows installed. I asked the vendor if they would drop the price if they could not include the windows CD with it.

I got the laptop, went home and spent days figuring out how to install ubuntu on it.

7 years later, here I am running 3 different distros on my machines cause it's fun. Also cause the problems I face with linux are also uniquely mine. If something isn't running, it's probably because I messed up a configuration somewhere. It holds me accountable for my messes and frankly it is a great, albeit sometimes irritating, way to learn how to fix issues.

Collapse
 
siddsarkar profile image
Siddhartha Sarkar

Windows user switched to Linux and never going back!

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

All three. Mostly Mac for general use & games & development (Xcode & Visual Studio & PyCharm), but also Windows for development (Visual Studio), and Linux on Raspberry Pi for fun.

In ancient days, also Amiga OS, GS/OS, ProDOS, AppleDOS, MS-DOS, OS/2, DEC VMS, and various Un*x (DEC Alpha Tru64, Sun Solaris, Minix, System V, FreeBSD, MS-Xenix before it was SCO-Xenix).

Collapse
 
tonievalue profile image
tonievalue

Mac user.
It was tough descission, because it was new experience. For most of my life Windows was my primary OS, with some swaps to various Linux distros. Now i can freely say, that for me Mac is the most comfortable OS to work with.

Collapse
 
xmain profile image
VeskoPL

Cook > Gates

Collapse
 
developerbishwas profile image
Bishwas Bhandari
Collapse
 
rebaiahmed profile image
Ahmed Rebai

Linux User, current OS: linux mint 20

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Currenly using Windows

Collapse
 
muslihiddin profile image
Muslihiddin

My Windows gamer family give some noise

Collapse
 
paugramming profile image
Pau Riosa

Mac

Collapse
 
sakko profile image
SaKKo

Windows for games
Mac for most work
Linux for some work

Collapse
 
sanjaybabu profile image
C K Sanjay Babu

Using mac for work.
Windows for personal projects.
Constantly switching between the 2.

Collapse
 
guitarino profile image
Kirill Shestakov

Mac 👌 at work, Linux ❤ at home

Collapse
 
pblgllgs profile image
pbl.gllgs

Windows and wsl