DEV Community

Cover image for How do you 'Save for later'?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

How do you 'Save for later'?

Let's say you find an awesome article somewhere across the web, but you don't have time to read it. You need to save it for later.

So far I've tried only Pocket. What are your solutions to this?

Top comments (61)

Collapse
 
amiralikulov profile image
Amir Alikulov

Mail to yourself, and never return to it :)
Honestly, the right solution for me is to read the article right there and then. "Perfect time is now"

Collapse
 
gsin11 profile image
Gurpreet Singh • Edited

Agree to your statement here, I never open my bookmarks.
But still as a suggestion your could check raindrop.io

Collapse
 
exploreraadi profile image
Aadi

Do check my solution that I added in the discussion and give your thoughts on it🙏

Collapse
 
ddaypunk profile image
Andy Delso

Fully agree with this.

Collapse
 
k4ml profile image
Kamal Mustafa

Or snooze forever.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

Been there, done that 🤣🤣
That's the only guarantee you will consume the info 📚

Collapse
 
jeffjadulco profile image
Jeff Jadulco

I'm using Notion Web Clipper extension. It scrapes the article to a new notion page.

Take a look at my saves :)

Collapse
 
val_baca profile image
Valentin Baca • Edited

Pocket.

Before Pocket that it was Evernote, but didn't like my bookmarks mixed in with my notes. before that it was del.icio.us until it went away.

I literally never use the Pocket "read mode" (or whatever it's called) I just use it as a super-fast cross-platform/cross-device bookmark and "to read" list.

Collapse
 
exploreraadi profile image
Aadi • Edited

Can you look at the solution I came up with and give your thoughts on it ?🙏

Collapse
 
val_baca profile image
Valentin Baca

What would that be?

Thread Thread
 
exploreraadi profile image
Aadi

So I decided to build a bookmark reminder extension that will ask for you to set a reminder everytime you save a bookmark and it will send you a push notification incase you miss to read them. (Most of us do this right ? Saving bookmarks for later and then forget so I wanted to solve that issue)
Do let me know your thoughts 🙏

Collapse
 
art_wolf profile image
John Doyle

I'll bookmark the article and move on. In the evening, I review what I have, delete any I read. Quickly look over the others and delete any that I realize I don't actually see myself reading. Rinse, repeat.

Collapse
 
ddaypunk profile image
Andy Delso

I honestly have tried too many and have yet to find my flow. I came back to Pocket since it is a part of Firefox recently and like it, but I found myself wanting more. I want an easy way to take things I want to read later, and send them to Kindle. The solutions available aren't the greatest, but decent.

I tend to have app overload so I have things saved in Pocket, Instapaper, Notion, and a few others probably.

Honestly, the best solution is the one that works best for you. Having a web clipper integration is definitely a plus though!

Collapse
 
hunterheston profile image
Hunter Heston

I tend to use pocket when I’m going to read the article right away for a better reading experience.

For anything I want to save for later I have a notion.so page called “inbox” that a share the link with.

I clear this page whenever I have time to go back through the things I’ve saved by deleting them or moving them to a permanent location.

Note: sharing from mobile with the app installed or on desktop with the notion browser extension installed.

Collapse
 
brunooliveira profile image
Bruno Oliveira

I share it on my Facebook wall immediately.

I spend a lot of time on Facebook so chances are that in the future, while mindlessly scrolling through Facebook, I will want to read the article and then, it's right in front of me :)

Collapse
 
xebuz profile image
Jesús Roldán

Pocket for websites works fine because I can use it on mobile and desktop.
I use tags a lot, it keeps things nice and tidy.

For reminders and sometimes pages that I'm gonna use soon, I send myself a message on Telegram.

Collapse
 
woutb profile image
WoutBuelens

For verrrry quick reads I use pushbullet. It's basically the magic 'ecosystem' where Apple fanboys are talking about.
You can send/share urls with your laptop, phone, tablet,.... & it's GUI is just a chat. Very easy & quick but not very organized.

Collapse
 
firzenyogesh profile image
Yogesh S • Edited

I used to mail myself, when Inbox by Google was around, to snooze then only to be ignored
Then switched to OneNote to store links only to forget them
Then I used to take notes on my ipad only to clutter my notes application
Then finally moved to Pocket

I generally read it at least once before thinking of Read Later

Collapse
 
melaniephillips profile image
Melanie Phillips

I use the Pocket app. It's easy to use and integrates well across devices (I use the Chrome extension for most saving). Bonus: it works with my Kindle and iPhone (which I usually have with me) so when I only have a few minutes, I can pull up a few articles.

Collapse
 
donnaken15 profile image
Wesley

I'll be lazy sometimes
If it's StackOverflow or a code example, I bookmark it but forget about it
If it's a snippet I want to use or look at a part of again, I save it in a text file and forget about it 🙃

Collapse
 
vdedodev profile image
Vincent Dedo

I have a few hundred links in my facebook saved items, left over bookmarks from old work accounts and other things scattered here and there. I'm consolidating all of that into a folder in a personal repo and I have a recurring task on todoist to go through some of those. Right now I'm porting everything over and once it's all there, I'll be organising them and doing a small write up of the good points. Ideally I want a knowledge base I can search if and when I need it. But realistically it's all in text files and I don't plan on using anything more complex.

Collapse
 
dylanwilson80 profile image
Dylan Wilson

I've been thinking about this problem a lot.
I have a huge pile of things I want to read or at least save for future reference. At the moment they are all in TickTick (another to do list app) but to be honest it gets pretty annoying having them clutter up things I actually want to do.
I've even considered writing my own app to solve this.

Collapse
 
txndai profile image
GT Fari

consider me beta tester number one if you ever do this, seriously.

Collapse
 
dylanwilson80 profile image
Dylan Wilson

Sure thing. I'm currently looking for a new side project to work on. I don't know if it'll be this or not but I'd love to discuss it sometime.

Collapse
 
michelemauro profile image
michelemauro

Used Pocket in the past, but it became an idea graveyard. Since my main news source is twitter, I use bookmarks or share with Google Keep and work them from there.

Oh, and of course I think some of my bookmarks will graduate from high school soon...