DEV Community

Cover image for What are your favorite Microsoft products?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What are your favorite Microsoft products?

Some Microsoft products/acquisitions that first come to mind are Windows, Edge, GitHub, VSCode, NPM, TypeScript, .NET, MS Server, Azure, LinkedIn, OneDrive, To Do, Skype, Office, Xbox and so on.

What are your favorites from Microsoft?

Top comments (44)

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

SkiFree, hands down

ski free

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Hahah, you guys know all the classics πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
adriangrigore profile image
Adrian Emil Grigore

Windows Subsystem for Linux 😝

Collapse
 
jrohatiner profile image
Judith

VSCode, the linux subsystem (now that they fixed it), Azure (which basically encompasses everything), .NET Core, etc. I also am part of the Windows Insider Program which is a good way to explore new features in beta.

Collapse
 
valplusplusle profile image
Val++le

100% VSCode. TBH i use the VS Codium Version because i hate it if programms "call home". And i have a MS aversion. But hey VSCode is really good!
I drop intellij and eclipse for it and hey its a electron app and i am dev electron apps with it:D

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

windows 98 Paint

'nuff said.

Collapse
 
robole profile image
Rob OLeary

I don't think MS realised how popular it was until they announced that they would be discontinuing it, and then an uproar followed!

Collapse
 
frikishaan profile image
Ishaan Sheikh

Classic.

Collapse
 
gsarig profile image
Giorgos Sarigiannidis • Edited

WSL
OneDrive
Office 365 (It gives you the latest versions of all the office products, plus 1GB of OneDrive at a great price)
GitHub
OneNote (even though it could be better at some aspects)
Arc Mouse (it's not great for long-time use but it is ideal when you travel).

Also, I acknowledge that their **online **version of Outlook is great, even if I don't use it (I have a GSuite account). I hate the desktop app and the classic desktop Outlook.

My all-time favorite MS product, though, is Surface Pro. Moving from a classic laptop (I had a Macbook Pro and before that a Dell Inspiron) to a Surface was similar to what happened when I switched from a desktop to a laptop. After switching, I couldn't go back to the previous devices. Having a single device for everything and being able to use it as a tablet, a laptop and a desktop, depending on the occasion, is a must for me anymore.

Collapse
 
jkw profile image
Kristian Wedmark

I'm still looking for a replacement for OneNote, but I have yet to find it. I used to have a opensource program that did almost the same but it was structured with .md-files. But I can't remember the name of it... ><

Collapse
 
camilocaquimbo profile image
Camilo Caquimbo Tabares

Take a look to Notion

Collapse
 
psiho profile image
Mirko Vukuőić

Minesweeper :) Not completely a joke. Because I like so little from MS. But to be serious, MSSQL Enterprise Manager in the old days was really a life saver. Nowdays I don't use MSSQL anymore so I don't know how it is now.

Collapse
 
maymeow profile image
May Meow • Edited

WSL
VS Code & Visual Studio
Office 365 (excange, OneDrive ...)
Azure
.NET Core (C#)
and of course GitHub

Collapse
 
elmuerte profile image
Michiel Hendriks

According to Microsoft's telemetry it's: notepad

It's probably also the only one which works properly and has been consistent in its usage for years. I use it as a notepad, for quick and temporary notes.

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza • Edited

I use notepad for quickly un-style rich-text from clipboard πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
nake89 profile image
Kevin Kivi

TypeScript. VSCode is good. Best noobie friendly editor. I added Vim extension to VSCode. Nowadays I just rock Vim with CoC to make Vim like VSCode. Best of both worlds!

Unless I'm doing a oneliner or some simple CLI app, I will always prefer TypeScript over js.

Collapse
 
louislow profile image
Louis Low

LinkedIn, Github (all-time-favorite GIT), and NPM (I didn't know NPM was acquired by Microsoft, until this post).

Collapse
 
ajboni profile image
ajboni

Azure devops is so good that it doesn't even seem like a ms product

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

MS Access - the version around 2006. That’s where I really learnt to program (VBA).

Collapse
 
jkw profile image
Kristian Wedmark • Edited

I was a Atom user before I discovered Visual Studio Code, hesitated for a long time before I tried it. Now Visual Studio Code Insiders is my daily editor. Miss Atom though, mainly because it was written in CoffeeScript. :D

Collapse
 
madza profile image
Madza

Atom still takes special place in my heart due to it's beautiful UI 😍
Unfortunately to meet the deadlines productivity is the key, that's why I find VS Code superior due to it's features, extensions, etc.. πŸ˜‰
Surely I use Atom theme on it (One Dark Pro), but it's still no match to the look and feel of Atom's default ones πŸ™

Collapse
 
theonlybeardedbeast profile image
TheOnlyBeardedBeast

C#, VS, Windows 10, Windows 10 IoT, Outlook, Edge, Kinect