DEV Community

Cover image for What do you use for CI/CD?
Madza
Madza

Posted on

What do you use for CI/CD?

In DevOps, a continuous and automated delivery cycle is the backbone that makes fast and reliable delivery possible.

What do you use for CI/CD?

Top comments (39)

Collapse
 
gsarig profile image
Giorgos Sarigiannidis

GitHub Actions. It does everything I need, but I would like it if it supported global secrets, as I often have to create the same secrets on multiple projects.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

"one PAT to rule them all" ... can relate 😄

Collapse
 
wagslane profile image
Lane Wagner

It does now I believe

Collapse
 
tylerauerbeck profile image
Tyler Auerbeck

+1 You're now able to create secrets at the org level and reference them across all of your repos.

Collapse
 
confiq profile image
Igor Konforti

this is why you have terraform/pulumi .... Also I have strong believe that CD/CI should be stored in git anyway!

Collapse
 
gitlabc profile image
Gitlab Meetup Community

Hello Madza, Greetings from GitLab Meetup Community 🥂
I would strongly recommend GitLab CI CD. Trust me you'll love it because you have Auto DevOps & lot more on your plate, which can setup your apps entire lifecycle. So stretch your legs and lean-back, GitLab will save your time 😇
about.gitlab.com/blog/2019/07/12/g...

Collapse
 
anikethsdeshpande profile image
Aniketh Deshpande

Yep, I've used it, it's a easy and simple way to do

Collapse
 
humzakhan profile image
Humza K.

GitLab CI, works perfectly for my team.

Collapse
 
gustavosvalentim profile image
Gustavo Valentim

I use AWS CodePipeline and Github Actions at the company I currently work. Most of the projects are using AWS CodePipeline. I often use it in my side projects and find it quite easy to setup and monitor. The integrations you can build with other AWS and third party services are great too.

Collapse
 
ale_jacques profile image
Alexandre Jacques

I've been using Gitlab CI and liking it a lot. I can even configure a remote Runner on a VPS and never touch the free tier limits.

Collapse
 
gitlabc profile image
Gitlab Meetup Community

You got me man 😉
GitLab wishes you a happy CI CD 🦾

Collapse
 
mattcasey profile image
Matt Casey

I was using CircleCI at my previous company. It's definitely reliable, but one thing I didn't like was how hard it was to manage and update 20+ different builds. I am now working on a project on my own and using Github Actions because it's free. It's been a great experience so far. I love having everything right inside of Github.

Collapse
 
peter279k profile image
peter279k • Edited

In the past, I used the CircleCI to do the CI/CD and verify my projects in my company.

After the BitBucket Pipelines is released, I transfer to this because my repositories are available on BitBucket and I don't need to integrate third-party CI/CD service now :).

I usually use the GitHub Action and Travis CI to develop/contribute open source projects on the GitHub.

Collapse
 
emjimadhu profile image
Em Ji Madhu

Been using bitbucket pipeline for almost an year. And I love it.

Collapse
 
mikenikles profile image
Mike

I use a combination of GitHub Actions and Google Cloud Build (cloud.google.com/cloud-build).

Actions deploys the web app to Vercel and runs code scans. Cloud Build tests, builds and deploys the Google Cloud Platform services.

Collapse
 
confiq profile image
Igor Konforti • Edited

same here! Or almost...

I usually use GCB (Google Cloud Build) for CD because I'm having a hard time giving secrets to the 3th party.

Because I Still didn't figure out how to have the output of GCB in GitHub action tab when creating PR, we use GitHub actions for mainly CI stuff, like unittests/e2e/lint etc...

Also, GCB is cool because you can bring your own docker-compose and basically run there whatever you want! Something that every CD/CI should have in my opinion.

Collapse
 
yaythomas profile image
yaythomas

GitHub Actions to host the CI/CD process.

The automation itself I do in pypyr pipelines, which allows me to run the same CI/CD sequences locally as on the CI/CD server itself. This helps a lot with simplifying troubleshooting the devops itself.

So a single command runs the build/test/deploy sequence locally, and you can run the same single command on the GitHub Actions for the same effect.

Because the real work happens in the pypyr automation pipeline, this means you can jump between CI/CD hosts without a fuss, because they're really just providing the execution environment.

Collapse
 
mubbashir10 profile image
Mubbashir Mustafa • Edited

We moved away from self hosted jenkins to Circle CI and from there to AWS Codebuild & Code pipeline. However, for our new services we use Github Actions - it just work!
Also we were hitting webhook/repo limit (which is 20 I believe) and we were able to solve that issue using the Github Actions too.

Collapse
 
hi_artem profile image
Artem
Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

I use GitHub Actions. Since I'm already using GitHub, using Actions for CI/CD means one less system to keep track of.

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

I use this workaround that works well on any git repository such github, gitlab, bitbucket and so

Collapse
 
phyberapex profile image
PhyberApex

We use TeamCity. It has been very reliable so far and has been a breeze to setup.

~Cheers

Collapse
 
janpauldahlke profile image
jan paul

Using bitbucket pipelines. Beeing excited how ez it is to have CI/CD :-)