DEV Community

Cover image for How do you learn about new technologies and frameworks?
Shahed Nasser for Medusa

Posted on

How do you learn about new technologies and frameworks?

It's important to stay up-to-date with new trends, frameworks, technologies, or general changes in the tech world.

How do you stay updated with new technologies and frameworks? And is it part of your day-to-day routine or is it not a high priority for you?

P.S: Medusa is holding a mini-contest and the winner gets a free t-shirt! Learn more about it and how to participate in this post.

Top comments (39)

Collapse
 
khokon profile image
Khokon M.

There is a YouTube channel called fireship, I love watching videos from this channel.

Collapse
 
needforsound profile image
Nirmit Pahwa

ITS THE BEST CHANNEL OUT THERE FOR DEVELOPERS!

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Looks interesting, I love the idea of explaining something in 100 seconds

Collapse
 
khokon profile image
Khokon M.

yeah, those 100 seconds are worth watching.

Collapse
 
bigkrp profile image
bigkrp

I am reading some articles according to the themes on dev.to also medium.
At now trying to use https://app.daily.dev/ - but integration in browser is extremely annoying(i prefer regular blank new tab) and android application didn't even start

Collapse
 
devcodenext profile image
Akshit Chaudhary

I use it and Love it.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

I know that they have a web app though: app.daily.dev

Collapse
 
bigkrp profile image
bigkrp

yeah
I use it)

Collapse
 
wrench1815 profile image
Hardeep Kumar • Edited

Google Discover

*mic drop

Collapse
 
warwait profile image
Parker Waiters

This website helps :)

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

It does! Which articles do you find most helpful on here?

Collapse
 
mjcoder_5 profile image
MJCoder

I'm signed up with quite a few newsletters, so that is a way for me to keep up to date. Theres also YouTube channels that I watch too. I learn from the videos and by building something or just tinkering with the code.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Sounds nice, are there any you recommend?

Collapse
 
mjcoder_5 profile image
MJCoder
Collapse
 
drsensor profile image
૮༼⚆︿⚆༽つ • Edited

Mostly from Twitter, GitHub, and YouTube. All accounts I follow are personally curated. So I usually unfollow and even block/mute account that either uninteresting or irrelevant to me. Unfortunately, blogging platform like dev.to and medium don't give me good recommendation. Hashnode seems interesting and can give a good recommendation but for me the audience is not yet there. Better to use RSS feed when I found hidden gem.

Collapse
 
ravavyr profile image
Ravavyr

I built webnuz.com , i have it pulling articles from some 50+ source sites [RSS feeds], parses them into my own db.
It updates every 2 hours, some 250-350 articles per day.
I just scan headlines to see what's new and read the ones that stand out to me.

Note, this was a lot easier to keep up with when i first built it in 2011 and i only got like 20-30 articles a day lol

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

That's a cool project!

Collapse
 
brense profile image
Rense Bakker

Google does a fairly good job based on my interests. I get dev.to articles in my news timeline regularly 😜

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Nice, is it through Google discover? Or the Google app?

Collapse
 
brense profile image
Rense Bakker

I believe it's the google app... It shows up in my news timeline on my android phone. From there if I see something interesting I bookmark it to my reading list.

Collapse
 
taijidude profile image
taijidude
  • Podcasts to hear about them
  • Learning them and getting deeper: books and udemy tutorials
Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

That's nice! Are there any podcasts you recommend?

Collapse
 
taijidude profile image
taijidude

For general tech and programming:
hanselminutes.com/
For java related stuff:
airhacks.fm/

Collapse
 
eshimischi profile image
eshimischi

Digging around github, reading sources and etc

Collapse
 
sakaz22 profile image
Tatenda Carl Sakarombe

Posts like this help!

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Glad you found it helpful!

Collapse
 
lse profile image
Lucas

I like this one readspike.com/webdev/ !

Collapse
 
sanampakuwal profile image
Sanam

Internet

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden
  1. Reading articles (DEV, Hashnode, Medium)
  2. daily.dev
  3. Social Media (Twitter, LinkedIn, YouTube)
Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

All great choices!

Collapse
 
hamiecod profile image
Hargunbeer Singh • Edited

HackerNews[0] and some great subreddits on Reddit[1]