DEV Community

Cover image for Articles vs Videos - Which is Your Learning Preference?
Shahed Nasser for Medusa

Posted on

Articles vs Videos - Which is Your Learning Preference?

Hello Again

Some developers love learning through blog posts, articles, or just any form of written content. Others prefer finding videos, whether on Youtube or online courses, to learn about different programming topics.

Which is your preference when learning something new? It can also be a combination of both!

P.S: Look out for details about our latest release of Medusa this week ๐Ÿ‘€

Top comments (56)

Collapse
 
aileenr profile image
Aileen Rae

I much prefer written content. A few reasons:

  • reading is quicker for me,
  • reading is a more active brain task so I absorb the information more,
  • it's much easier to skim (or Ctrl+F) in an article to reference something than it is to scrub through a video timeline
  • you can copy and paste code snippets.

I do occasionally prefer a video for introducing me to a brand new concept, or for high-level abstract topics. The WET Codebase talk from Dan Abramov is a good example of something I would not take in as well in writing.

As an aside, I imagine DEV members will on average prefer written content, given that's what it's a platform for?

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

I was gonna mention if a video has a transcript would it be similar to a blog post experience, but then noticed that the video you included has a transcript so I guess that could answer my question!

Collapse
 
aileenr profile image
Aileen Rae

Haha, Yes, that transcript is a really nice accessibility addition but itโ€™s not as nice to read as a formatted article.

In theory, you could write a nicely formatted transcription, but at that point youโ€™re creating two pieces of content and thatโ€™s a lot of work.

Thread Thread
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

I think there are tools that automate it but you most probably would still need to proof it, especially if it contains code blocks.

Collapse
 
lengsovandara profile image
Sovandara LENG

I do agree with you guys. Reading is good when we already have some basic concepts but video is better when new concept. Actually, I also prefer reading because it quicker too for me.

Collapse
 
liftoffstudios profile image
Liftoff Studios

The written format is the one I usually prefer
I find it easier since I can copy and test code, tinker around with it and scroll to the parts of the tutorial I need, without the hassle of going through the whole article

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

True, written content is definitely the best for copy-pasting

Collapse
 
alonedatascientist profile image
alonedatascientist

Written. As long as it is well written. I like being able to go at my own pace and try out code before going on to the next section of the article. I find I get far more from written then I do video. That being said video is nice occasionally to re-enforce complicated topics or to get a brief overview of a new topic.

Collapse
 
mayankfawkes profile image
Mayank Gupta

I prefer written because written saves time at-least for me, lets suppose someone made a video of 10 min explain some topics then to understand that you need to waste your 10 minutes when i can consume the same thing with 2 minutes of reading thats my way of thinking and what i do.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

That makes sense! Would it apply the same way if you were totally new to a topic?

Collapse
 
mayankfawkes profile image
Mayank Gupta

90% of the time written works for me, but I also agree that sometimes learning with visuals can help you understand more with new topics, I also believe its the matter of your skill stage.

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR ๐Ÿฅ‡

Completelly agree. Moreover you can check the documentation much faster this way than if it was a video ๐Ÿ˜…

+1 on the written format here.

Collapse
 
facsiaginsa profile image
Bagus Facsi Aginsa

Both..

If I want to learn new things and dont know where to start, e.g: "I want to learn NodeJS", then I prefer video.

But..

If I want to search spesific usecase, e.g. "how to connect NodeJS to Redis", then I prefer article.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

That seems to be the general approach for everyone!

Collapse
 
lico profile image
SeongKuk Han

I prefer reading. But when I want to use new skills right away, I watch youtube videos. Like, when I got an assignment from the interview, I had to use 'react-query' that I didn't know and had to wrote test code, so, I watched videos about that and I could use them following their styles that were on the videos.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

That's interesting! Did the interview go well btw? ๐Ÿ˜„

Collapse
 
lico profile image
SeongKuk Han

Yes, It went well, and I'm working there now :)

Collapse
 
mteheran profile image
Miguel Teheran

I like both, when I am learning something from scrash videos is a good option but whenI want to review a library or extension of something that I know I prefer read and article also when I am following a guide to complete a setup.

Collapse
 
jamesmawalker profile image
James M. Walker

I generally prefer videos, if I'm honest. The format typically allows for quick little asides that more fully explain why a given thing is being done. Articles tend to have a lot of this information stripped out in the editing process.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Thatโ€™s true in some cases, it probably depends on the type of article or its purpose

Collapse
 
onurcanavci_ profile image
Onur Can AVCI

It depends on the situation. If I don't have a know how about the technology, first I watch a short video. Then, I start to read documentations and articles. Articles and documentations much more useful to find what you wonder or learn.

Collapse
 
lexiebkm profile image
Alexander B.K.

Written resources, of course. The documentation should be friend for the programmer.
Some official websites of the subjects provide nice written tutorials for getting started or quick start such as React Native that learners can immediately play around to get motivation.
Videos are for listening to what experienced people tell, like Patrick Syu aka Techlead (ex-google, ex-facebook, millionaire, youtuber) tells, for fun.

Collapse
 
wadecodez profile image
Wade Zimmerman

Originally it was videos but articles save so much time. The more you read, the easier it is to skim past the repetitive content.

Also it's easier to tell which articles are click bait or copy/paste compared to videos.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Thatโ€™s a good point!

Collapse
 
panditapan profile image
Pandita

When it comes to software I prefer written cause it's the medium I'm more used to and it's less concerning for evil bosses who look at my screen (I'm looking at my dog right now!!). But if it's something I'm 100% a noob on, then video it is.

But, at the same time I love watching videos on science, history, art, gossip, etc. on my lunch time. I try to have other interests than software so, I don't actively look for software stuff in my downtime. c:

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre

Why choose? If content is great, I consume anything. Videos are something I prepare for (get the headset, reserve some time), while articles and documentation is something I use more often and more casually and/or in spots

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

No need to choose! Just getting a general idea of what developers prefer ๐Ÿ˜Š

Collapse
 
kristianhnielsen profile image
Kristian Hviid Nielsen

I prefer videos.
It is much easier for me to get an idea of the process as a whole.

It also allows me to see stuff like how to handle styles or folder structure that's implicitly given with videos.

Collapse
 
shahednasser profile image
Shahed Nasser

Makes sense. What I'm mostly curious about with learning through videos if you're following a tutorial with code snippets. How easy/difficult it is to follow along?