DEV Community

Cover image for Why do you still use Sublime?
Rishabh Singh โšก
Rishabh Singh โšก

Posted on

Why do you still use Sublime?

In 2021, there are a wide variety of code editors available online & most of them are free. One of the most popular one is probably VS Code which comes with a lot of amazing features you'll ever need in a code editor. Not only that it also got a built-in marketplace from where you can get any extension of your choice and make your VS Code Setup even more powerful!

Now the question arises, does anyone still uses Sublime in 2021?

Well of course some people do but even after there are so many amazing code editors available, why they prefer sticking to Sublime?

Discuss

  • Do you still use Sublime?
  • If yes, then why?
  • Ever thought of moving to any other code editor?

Top comments (23)

Collapse
 
darkain profile image
Vincent Milum Jr

I use Sublime Text daily for everything. It is smaller, faster, and right to the point. It is a text editor with zero cruft to get in the way. And yes, it also has quite the extensive extension community. It also doesnt NEED as much extensions to get things working great though, especially as many of those vscode extensions are of low quality and often buggy.

Every time I've tried any other editor, without fail, some THING of some sort will get in the way of doing just basic text editing, which is the ultimate goal of these applications. To me, time is extremely valuable, and nothing has come even remotely close to the simplicity and time saving features of Sublime Text.

For me, its just not worth the time investment to re-learn an entirely different editor that actively has features that get in the way of doing my job, an editor that has done everything they can to attempt to clone every feature of Sublime Text, but not as elegantly, just for the sake of using what is now deemed "popular"

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

It is smaller, faster

Than what? Other editors in general or the VSCode OP favours?

Collapse
 
darkain profile image
Vincent Milum Jr

For pretty much everything. It loads instantly, it never hitches, even when working on files of hundreds of megabytes in size (yes, sometimes I need to work with large logs of results sets). And it handles all of this on every operating system, including FreeBSD.

For reference, I've used quite the number of editors over the years, formerly being a Visual Studio user (pre-dating VSCode by well over a decade)

Collapse
 
huncyrus profile image
huncyrus

Yes, I still use Sublime (v3). It is still quite fast and way better than notepad++ or vi/vim/nano and working totally same on mac/linux/windows.

Very good for resource handling (low cpu & memory) and fast for small tasks and able to handle basic projects also.
I using a few module (productivity, log handling, coding stuff).

Collapse
 
ashtyn3 profile image
Ashtyn

I wouldn't say faster then raw vim but it is definitely faster notepad++

Collapse
 
eayurt profile image
Ender Ahmet Yurt

I use Sublime on Mac because it is very fast. Sublime is a lightweight editor and i can do whatever I want. In addition there are many extensions for Sublime. I can write my own plugins and I can use them and share them to community. Maybe i can use Vim but learning curve is high for Vim. Using Sublime is very easy and there is no learning curve :) it's just a text editor.

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

I guess the ability to write your own plugin is a big plus.

Not that I cannot do it for VSCode, but not everyone loves TypeScript. But I don't know how at all for IntelliJ.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Most editors support plugins, don't they?
I know Vim will let you write one in whatever language you want, pretty much, provided you've got local support for it. I presume other editors are similar or at least support one or two common languages.

Thread Thread
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

That is, if you are good enough / editor is simple enough, to develop one.

Thread Thread
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

That's not a point in favour of ST though unless what you're saying is that it has a much simpler plugin interface than other editors?

Collapse
 
luciferchase profile image
Lucifer Chase • Edited

Aside from the obvious that it is blazingly fast, By the time VS Code or other editors open up, you are halfway doing completing your work in sublime.

Added to the fact that for a beginner who is most probably never going to use all the bloat features of VS Code, Sublime is the best.
And for powerusers, it still is the GOAT of editors.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I just started VSCode on my Windows gaming machine (while writing here and tabbed out of a game). I have PC components which vary from 11 to 8 years old.

It started in 4 seconds. Even if you open it ten times a day that would take you six years to have saved a day's worth of your life. I mean, I know things add up, but... but I'm not even subtracting how long ST takes to start up because I don't want it installed.

Collapse
 
pupdoggify profile image
Paul Davis

I still use Sublime Text because Iโ€™ve been programming before you were conceived. Before you were conceived, programmers took pride in packaging their software in the smallest possible executable. Nowadays, we have Electron and VSCode to laugh at. If and when you decide to learn more about your origin, look into what WinAmp is, what it does, and how it was developed.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

What about WinAmp?

Collapse
 
edgarmendozatech profile image
Edgar Mendoza

I've used Sublime Text 3, VS Code and now I use Vim and I think I won't change it

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

I am intrigued to know why too. Sublime was the GOAT until VS Code showed up. Anyone still using Atom that was good too.

Collapse
 
leober_ramos33 profile image
Leober Ramos

Atom and VSCode is builded in Electron.js, a framework of JavaScript. Basically you run a browser when you open this editors.

I use Vim, but i'm a user of Linux. Sublime Text is cross-platform and works perfectly in every OS.
But i still preferred Vim.

Collapse
 
ashtyn3 profile image
Ashtyn

Agreed, Vim is the GOAT. The high learning curve is so worth it. After using vim for 2 years I can't go back to normy editors...

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy ๐ŸŽ–๏ธ

Atom was also slow and bloated... even slower than VSCode

Collapse
 
pranavbaburaj profile image
Pranav Baburaj

Yes, I use sublime as a second option. I will use it If I had to open some folder for referring

Collapse
 
clavinjune profile image
Clavin June

I use sublime for opening a directory of files, because i haven't had time to configure my vim :(

Collapse
 
ridwanzal profile image
M. Ridwan Zalbina

Yes, i think it's still the best code editor with minimal, small, and fast. Everything is great. I'm still using it though.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy ๐ŸŽ–๏ธ • Edited

VSCode is bloated and slow. Sublime Text is easily the best editor I've used. Been with it since version 1 (now version 4)