DEV Community

Cover image for Generating Ideas and Driving them to completion
Pawel Kadluczka
Pawel Kadluczka

Posted on • Originally published at growingdev.net

Generating Ideas and Driving them to completion

It is impossible to achieve a successful and fulfilling career in Software Development only by following someone else's orders. A significant part of taking the lead is coming up with ideas to innovate and move the team or the company forward.

The two models of idea generation

Image from the cartoon

Over the years, I've witnessed companies using two main ways to generate ideas: on-demand and organic.

On-demand idea generation

The on-demand idea generation model works as follows: the manager shows up out of nowhere and demands, "We need some ideas for X!" They organize a brainstorming meeting where the team members try to invent some ideas. After the meeting, everyone returns to their work, feeling they have fulfilled their idea generation duty until the next time.

My experience with on-demand idea generation has been mixed. This setting usually seeks big ideas, which are generally quite hard to come up with on the spot and under pressure. In the end, only a few ideas are proposed, and barely any are implemented.

The most important reason why on-demand idea generation is ineffective is that most interesting ideas strike at unexpected times and not during a scheduled meeting.

Organic idea generation

Organic idea generation is the opposite of the on-demand model. Here, the ideas stem from observations made when working on daily tasks:

  • writing or reviewing code
  • investigating issues reported by users
  • struggling with tools or infrastructure
  • mitigating incidents
  • discussing issues with co-workers

All these activities are great opportunities to identify problems and propose improvements.

One of the biggest advantages of organic idea generation is that it is a continuous process. As a result, it allows for the generation of many ideas.

Most ideas generated organically are small: refactor some code, add test coverage, or fix a non-critical but annoying bug. Some are medium, e.g., redesigning a component for better extensibility. Occasionally, you will stumble upon a big idea that may lead to revamping your entire architecture and unlocking previously unthinkable possibilities.

Executing ideas

Even the best idea is not worth much if not acted upon. However, careless execution may have negative consequences. For example, failing to deliver a promised feature on time due to working on unplanned and non-critical refactoring is hard to justify. Here is my approach to avoiding these problems.

I start by noting the idea in my work log. This way, I rest assured that I won't forget about it and will consider it when planning my work for the next week. Implementing small ideas is usually a matter of finding time to work on it. If I don't have the bandwidth, I may ask a fellow developer working on related code to pick it up or use it to ramp up a new team member.

Medium and big ideas require more thinking. When planning my week, I block a couple of hours to write a one-pager describing the idea in more detail. Writing allows me to get more clarity on my idea, understand its feasibility, and weigh the costs and benefits.

Most ideas never reach the execution stage. Some are just not great, and external circumstances may block others. Over time, when these circumstances change, an infeasible idea may become viable. I recently revived an idea I had a year ago when I learned that our partner team had fixed a long-standing issue in their system.

I share ideas I believe are worth pursuing with my team and my manager to gather feedback. Depending on this feedback, I either shelve the idea or continue working on it until completed, often with other teammates.

But there is one more step after successful implementation: spreading the word about what we did, how we did it, and who made it possible. This step is especially important for bigger projects that take a while to implement and involve other team members. Everyone who contributed deserves to get the credit.

Conclusion

The most successful software developers generate many ideas because they understand that only some will come to fruition. But ideas are only the first step. The key is execution. Successfully executing an idea, letting the right people know, and sharing the credit is a huge career booster.


💙 If you liked this article...

I publish a weekly newsletter for software engineers who want to grow their careers. I share mistakes I’ve made and lessons I’ve learned over the past 20 years as a software engineer.

Sign up here to get articles like this delivered to your inbox.
https://www.growingdev.net/

Top comments (0)