DEV Community

Nallely
Nallely

Posted on

Essential items for my programming motivation

For a few months now I have told myself "Okay, you need to start programming at home". I have wanted to start on projects that I find interesting and improve my programming skills along the way. However, I have always been the type that could never really get anything done at home. Since my college days, I always had to be in the library because I knew that studying at home was out of the question. My attention span is short and I know that if I am home, something else will grab my attention (Oh look! dirty dishes that need washing!).

I decided that in order for me to find motivation to program at home and increase my productivity I needed to set up some sort of work space. I had tried setting up my laptop on my dining table but that was neither comfortable nor practical. Any time I wanted to eat I would have to put my laptop away and without fail, I would forget about it or be too lazy to set it up again.

Since a dining table set up wasn't going to work, I bought a few items that I believed would be essential to my productivity and motivation.

Small Desk

My laptop needed a permanent home so I bought a cheap but cute and practical desk that was small and wouldn't take up too much space in my apartment. This desk fulfilled everything I was looking for. Small, easy to assemble, and cheap.

Desk Chair

Although my dining room chairs are fine for sitting a few minutes to eat a day, they are extremely uncomfortable for multiple hours of sitting. A chair with decent back support was necessary.

Monitor

I needed an extra monitor because let's be real, one screen just isn't enough. One screen for the editor and the other for the browser.

These items have been essential in my motivation to program at home. I don't have to put anything away because I have a dedicated space for my laptop setup. All I have to do is hit the power button, get comfortable and start programming.

It has only been a few days but I have been working on a side project every single day. I'm hoping to keep it up!
it's only my third day out here

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
skydevht profile image
Holy-Elie Scaïde

I'm quite mobile so my items are:
The roost stand: therooststand.com/
The Ducky One 2 Mini Keyboard: mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index...
The apple mouse: come with a Mac I had, but planning to get this: logitech.com/en-us/product/mx-mast...
and this headphone: sony.com/electronics/headband-head...

Collapse
 
nalcaraz profile image
Nallely

These are all great and ergonomic! Thanks for sharing them, if I ever go mobile I will check them out again! :)