DEV Community

Nandini S Hinduja
Nandini S Hinduja

Posted on

Freelancing vs Full Time job

Pros of freelancing

  • It offers flexibility in terms of time, you can work whenever you want.
  • It offers flexibility in terms of place, you can work from anywhere in the world.
  • It offers flexibility in terms of type of work, if you don't like a project, you can reject it.
  • It offers flexibility in terms of people, you can decide who to work with. If you don't like a client, you don't have to work with them.

Cons of freelancing

  • Freelancing sites can delete your account whenever they want. So it is a bit unsteady.
  • It is difficult to get regular flow of projects.
  • You might earn less on one month and more on the other, so there is less predictability.
  • You might not make enough money initially.

Cons of a full time job

  • People can be mean, bossy and act as though they own the company even when they don't.
  • No flexibility in terms of what projects you work on.
  • Fixed time of working.
  • Long exhausting commutes.
  • Office politics.

Pros of a full time job

  • Fixed income makes you more financially stable.
  • Benefits like health insurance.
  • Events where you can socialize like outings, trips, functions, parties.
  • Rewards, promotions and recognitions are given which motivates people.

Which do you prefer and why? Leave it in the comments!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

I don't need to be employed to have most pros of a full-time job, and for me it's not about full-time vs. part-time (you can find some part-time dev jobs here) but about employed vs. self-employed.

Some pros are irrelevant to me as a senior

Rewards, promotions and recognitions are given which motivates people

  • I prefer my customers' feedback - in person, on my Google business profile, or as a recommendation that helps me find a future project. I don't care about titles in a company, I have had many different role descriptions for doing the same things in different teams and companies, I couldn't care less now.

Events where you can socialize like outings, trips, functions, parties

  • As a freelancer, I go on trips, I go to conferences, I go to meetups, if there aren't any, I can organize one, I go to parties but it doesn't have to be office parties together with my boss and coworkers,

benefits like health insurance:

  • the only difference is, who pays for it, at least where I live,

Pros of being employed by a company

fixed income

  • fixed income is the only and most important advantage of being employed as a senior developer.

But for a junior, things might be different.

Pros of being employed by a company as a junior

  • training on the job: mentorship, apprenticeship, working student jobs are great opportunities to get some practice and experience right from the start!

  • coworkers that you can ask for help and advice

  • contact to projects and customers that would have never booked you otherwise,

Cons of being employed by a company as a junior

  • I saw many young coworkers got assigned stupid assistant work without the chance to learn and take responsibility,

  • I saw many senior coworkers reluctant, too busy or not even allowed to help juniors,

  • I heard juniors being told to accept a dysfunctional status quo as normal

  • I heard juniors getting told off for suggesting helpful innovations

  • I saw seniors and team leaders take the juniors' work and promote it as their own ideas. While that might be legal and acceptable for all the pros that you get, it's still not what I would call recognition and innovation.

Conclusion?

It depends! Many people seem to love their job and their office, others pretend to do so because the need the regular income. But many people hate their jobs, get bullied, get sick in a toxic environment, get paid less than they would earn as freelancers and get pushed back and have no time time to learn anything new.

I think it's a good time to freelance if you have enough

  • experience
  • money (savings for the times between paid projects)
  • insurance
  • connections
  • communication skills.

Enough might be less than you think. If you can save some months' salaries and have at least one person you can work for as an individual, it might be enough to start and try! Communication skills don't have to be great, just learn to answer requests on don't be too shy to advertise yourself now or then. Experience will grow, just like connections, and both might grow faster outside of a company. But again: it depends!

Collapse
 
thesanjeevsharma profile image
Sanjeev Sharma

Really good insight.

I have about 5 years of experience and Im trying to get into freelance. Can you suggest some platforms or tricks that worked for you when you started?

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

Fiverr worked well for me, you can try it!

Collapse
 
nikunjbhatt profile image
Nikunj Bhatt

Exactly mine thoughts.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

Thanks for your insights, they were very helpful!

Collapse
 
nikunjbhatt profile image
Nikunj Bhatt

Fixed income for financial stability is the only one factor for me to choose a full-time job; so, otherwise, freelancing is my choice.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

Same here!

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

What is the question here?

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

Which do you prefer (freelancing or full time job) and why?