DEV Community

Nandini S Hinduja
Nandini S Hinduja

Posted on

Women's Day

So Happy Women's Day to all the women who follow me on here and any women who come across this post.

This women's day, I want to hear your stories about women who inspired you or helped you in your career.

I will share a story of mine too. So here goes..

When I was in the sixth grade, my mathematics teacher really inspired me because I really liked the way she taught, she wanted to make us understand rather than trying to complete the syllabus. She used to teach one sum and then give another similar sum as homework, this made daily studying so much easier. I got the highest mark in mathematics in some tests and exams and so she suggested me to become a mathematics teacher when I grow up and when I said that I did not want to be a teacher, she suggested me to become a software engineer and now that is what I became. So I always remember her advice and her uniqueness. She inspired me and helped me choose my career path too.

Share about 1 inspiring woman who helped you shape your career in the comments!

I'm all ears.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Thanks for sharing your story with us @nandinishinduja! 😊 For me, it’s @rupali_codes! :) If it wasn’t for her asking me to be a maintainer at LinksHub, I wouldn’t be here right now.

Collapse
 
nandinishinduja profile image
Nandini S Hinduja

great! best of luck!