DEV Community

Cover image for Changelog: DEV has Some Stories for You
Nick Taylor for The DEV Team

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at iamdeveloper.com

Changelog: DEV has Some Stories for You

My first PR to the DEV repository was when I added Storybook to the project. In fact, this was in March of 2018, when the repository was private (which means that I can't even link you to the PR where I added it!)

![Screenshot of my first commits to the DEV codebase](https://dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/x23u4dfcyplsubjkouzp.png)

If you're interested, here is the commit.

If you are new to Storybook I recommend giving this post I wrote a while back a read as well as checking out the Storybook documentation.

The TLDR is, Storybook allows you to build out components in isolation and test them visually based on the different states they could be in. Each story you write is the component in a different state.

I added some stories for some Preact components, but after that, Storybook never really got used. Fast forward to January 2020. I started working at DEV and I had some discussions with my awesome product designer Pawel, @pp, about the design system. I mentioned that Storybook was already in the project, but needed to be resuscitated. Once I got it back up and running, we started collaborating, building out design system components and some application components.

Storybook could be run locally if you had the DEV codebase but it was not deploying as part of our CI/CD pipeline. After doing some pairing with @andy this week, we got it deploying to Netlify (awesome service!) whenever JavaScript files changed on master.

All that to say, you can view our very work in progress Storybook at storybook.dev.to.

Photo by Robyn Budlender on Unsplash

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I know nothing about Storybook but it looks so good! 🤩

Collapse
 
terkwood profile image
Felix Terkhorn

Yeah, neat utility. Preact support makes me happy 😊

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

It's an amazing tool if you are doing UI work. It also supports all the main JS frameworks ((P)React, Angular, Vue, Svelte) as well as plain HTML.

Screenshot from the Storybook homepage

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Yess, just saw that. Added to my bucket list. 🔖 🤩

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Sooooo stoked :D

Collapse
 
omenlog profile image
Omar E. Lopez

This is great !! I used storybook in some projects and I really think that it can improve the development process in many ways, getting as result better components, easier to test and with high stability in production