DEV Community

Cover image for May 29th, 2020: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

May 29th, 2020: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again.

So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

![Claymation owl teacher helping a student owl](https://media.giphy.com/media/3ohzdU2IVgD2goFS3S/giphy.gif)

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

And remember, if something you learnt was a big win for you, then you know where to drop it as well.👇👇🏻👇🏼👇🏽👇🏾👇🏿

![Winning!](https://media.giphy.com/media/OHZ1gSUThmEso/giphy.gif)

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
milantenk profile image
Milán Tenk

I wrote my first post on DEV:
dev.to/tenkmilan/deno-angular-stac...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Congrats on your first post!

You did it!

Collapse
 
milantenk profile image
Milán Tenk

Thank you! :)

Collapse
 
protorob profile image
protorob

I discovered python itertools and a service called distancematrix.ai

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Collapse
 
wk4 profile image
Walter Kennedy IV

I took something that was a C# monolith and began breaking it out into microservices. Specifically, I'm using Azure Functions, which are new to me although the concept of serverless isn't, and I gotta say... I'm hooked. I love every bit of it. I've previously used the standard ol' SQL database, but I've been setting up my functions to use and trigger off of CosmosDB in Azure, and it's really fun to work with and makes me feel smarter than I am.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Man punches out a Jenga piece without making it collapse

Collapse
 
bholmesdev profile image
Ben Holmes

Made my first kinda-complex keyframe animation with CSS! Took a while to figure out switching between timing functions but I finally figured out a neat bounce effect. Could use a blog post maybe 👀
codepen.io/bholmesdev/pen/GRpbvdB

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Noice!

Noice!

Collapse
 
glebirovich profile image
Gleb Irovich

I have finally finished my second post on dev.to
dev.to/glebirovich/angular-in-reac...

Also had a chance to look into PiXi js. I dream to work on creating a browser game as my side 🥳🥳project

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Chow Yun-fat giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
nagamocha3000 profile image
Naga Mocha

I learnt how joins work in SQL, and their connection (or lack thereof) with foreign keys. Wrote up what I learnt in this post on dev.to post

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome that you wrote up a post on what you learnt. 🔥

Collapse
 
xuz99 profile image
John J Davidson

I learned how to add a custom item to the right click menu (Context menu) in windows to open PowerShell in my current directory using this thread.

stackoverflow.com/questions/368103...

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I learned what the JAM in Jamstack means.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

A glowing ninja dancing saying "That's my Jam"

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I learned a bit about Vue and Pug!

Yay pug

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
amorriscode profile image
Anthony M.

I learned the actual difference between block, inline, and inline-block elements. I always had an intuition about them but had never actually figured out the exact rules.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

That's awesome! 🔥

Yes, that's awesome!

Collapse
 
parulgu profile image
Parul

As a beginner I was getting overwhelmed by all those frameworks and technology,
So finally after few days of running here and there I found what is good for me 😀

Collapse
 
ledestin profile image
Dmitry Maksyoma
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Animated avocado halves dancing