DEV Community

Cover image for Feb. 7, 2020: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

Feb. 7, 2020: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

A comic sloth riding a flying book saying "Knowledge is powah!"

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

And remember, if something you learnt was a big win for you, then you know where to drop it as well.👇👇🏻👇🏼👇🏽👇🏾👇🏿

A show host dancing a winning dance in their seat

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
paurakhsharma profile image
Paurakh Sharma Humagain

I started learning FastAPI super awesome web framework for Python.

I also learned to deploy multiple servers for building microservices using docker-compose and access them from the same port from the host machine using nginx reverse proxy.

Collapse
 
pernambucano profile image
Paulo Fernandes

Awesome! Really want to see those tutorials if you still have them. o/

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

I learned that sometimes, when you actually put something live for the first time, no matter how many tests you’ve run and scenarios you’ve tried, you will still find some good and some nasty surprises! So be prepared to learn from them and adapt fast!

Collapse
 
axelledrouge profile image
AxelleDRouge

I really started learning TDD thanks to

d_ir image


and the book Mastering React Test-Driven Development. It's really well explained and I am progressively starting to implement what I am learning in my daily work.
Collapse
 
navdeepsingh profile image
Navdeep Singh

Learnt practical use of async and defer attribute in script tag.

As we know that Javascript files are main hindrance in page rendering path. But with help of async we tell renderer to load this file asynchronously (means dont wait for anything) and defer refers to execute it after DOM loaded.

Yipeee... #performanceMatters

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne • Edited

Well I learned one of the interfaces I use for controlling Data in my app is being deprecated and I am having to reprogram a lot of crap. On a good note I feel like as a jvm dev I am finally getting a good grasp on node js. I kinda like it.

Collapse
 
mjraadi profile image
Mohammadjavad Raadi • Edited

I learned how to use traefik to setup a reverse proxy and TCP port forwarder for docker containers and internal subnet. It used to be such a pain to write nginx config. Thanks #traefik team.

Collapse
 
flrnd profile image
Florian Rand

That communication skills are far more important than I use to care about sometimes.

Collapse
 
bimbimprasetyoafif profile image
Bimo Prasetyo Afif

redis for cache in django

Collapse
 
mateiadrielrafael profile image
Matei Adriel

How to typecheck a visual programming graph

Collapse
 
wonder2210 profile image
Wonder2210

Learnt how to properly set up storybook alongside typescript + next.js

Collapse
 
teenahg profile image
Tinashe Gondwa

I finally got to deploy my AI project. Though it's still a work in progress. I really feel like this was a big win because it got me up on my feet. Looking forward to an even bigger win next week

Collapse
 
diek profile image
diek

I started with spring two weeks ago due to the teams needs. This week I have learned the builder pattern, it's clean, it's awesome and it makes me an stronger pro 🤓