DEV Community

Cover image for July 23rd, 2020: What did you learn this week? CodeLand Edition
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

July 23rd, 2020: What did you learn this week? CodeLand Edition

It's that time of the week again except we're doing it a little earlier as it's CodeLand and if you attended day 1, you probably learnt a few things. 😺

So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

![An animated stack of books saying "Learn new tings!"](https://media.giphy.com/media/Ec5RkrmARxPmTuXgrZ/giphy.gif)

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

And remember, if something you learnt was a big win for you, then you know where to drop it as well.👇👇🏻👇🏼👇🏽👇🏾👇🏿

![Kid riding flying animal in the Neverending Story movie](https://media.giphy.com/media/cOB8cDnKM6eyY/giphy-downsized-large.gif)

Top comments (17)

Collapse
 
singhsuryansh12 profile image
Suryansh Singh • Edited

I learnt about Salary Negotiation, especially, not being the first one to tell the number. There were many great talks at Codeland, but this one stands out for me.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor
Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

hell yes

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

This talk was so good!

Collapse
 
akshay090 profile image
Akshay090

That we can use html/css in SVG to create animated SVG easily. This trick is really helpful to create awesome Github README.md files.
I made a collection of some cool animated SVG made from codepen here : github.com/Akshay090/svg-banners

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

I learned how to use the update_attribute in the rails console

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice

Collapse
 
peter279k profile image
peter279k

I've researched some papers about smart grid security and penetration testing :).

And it can help me to try to integrate some security stuffs for smart grid in Taiwan :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice

Collapse
 
yuhanasy profile image
Yuhanas Yulianto

as I write code in javascript, I often get typeErrors because of undefined when accessing a property in an object. Today, I learn various ways to handle that, so I can deliver my app without worrying of breaking the page.

Collapse
 
bestape profile image
Kyle MacLean Smith

I learned that the DEV community has pragmatic humanitarian values that closely align with my own. I also learned that I'm not the only one who thinks testing is unreliable and software engineering is as much art as it is science (especially at high abstraction layers).

Collapse
 
bogdaaamn profile image
Bogdan Covrig

I learnt a lot about IoT and got a bunch of ideas to do myself. Excited to see how it goes!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Lego astronaut saying awesome!

Collapse
 
christopher2k profile image
Christopher N. KATOYI

I learnt about how to make great quality tech videos with tools like Final Cut Pro. Can’t wait to upload my first !

Collapse
 
singhshivani profile image
Shivani Singh

This Week I learn an animation in Flare and have successfully integrated with a flutter app. I was amazing.💃