DEV Community

Cover image for December 3rd, 2020: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

December 3rd, 2020: What did you learn this week?

Liquid syntax error: Tag '{% https://dev.to/devteam/what-was-your-win-this-week-2e3d %}' was not properly terminated with regexp: /\%\}/

Top comments (22)

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

I'm participating in Advent of Code for the first time and learned a lot about parsing inputs as external files this week.

Related to Advent of Code, I learned that in Javascipt .split() takes an optional second argument of a number of splits to make. It came in handy for the Day 2 problem.

And I watched Ania's Make Your Oen API video. I've done a few projects with backend APIs but the refresher on building a very simple one was inspiring and helpful.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome! Also, Ania has great content.

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
baharajr profile image
Bennett(he/him)

I learned about Behavior-driven development and was able to use Cypress and Cucumber to write and execute test scenarios.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Noice!

Noice!

Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

I tried my hands on seo performance optimization in nuxtjs and was able to get a lighthouse score of 100 in SEO and 91 on performance.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice

Collapse
 
duongricky profile image
duongricky

.

Thread Thread
 
duongricky profile image
duongricky

.

Collapse
 
rossanodan profile image
Rossano D'Angelo

I learnt how use struct and class in Swift. Yeah, very beginner level

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Collapse
 
rafi993 profile image
Rafi

I recently started reading Practical Machine Learning in JavaScript I'm really excited about it.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice! I have the book, but haven't started it yet. I have some others to read first, but will probably get to this during the holidays.

Pam from The Office saying Nice!

Collapse
 
audreymengue profile image
Audrey Mengue

I learned to build a website with HTML and CSS. Finishing up today.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

That's awesome! 🔥

Yes, that's awesome!

Collapse
 
georgejustin22 profile image
Justin George

Accessibility. Even though the UI frameworks that we use tackle most of the accessibility problems, we still have a lot to do.
I wrote an article about this

Collapse
 
nitya profile image
Nitya Narasimhan, Ph.D

I launched my #100DaysOfKotlin learning journey - and in the process I learned about mkdocs (static site generator using markdown), discovered their material-mkdocs theme and became obsessed with it.

End result:
Learned enough to get a site running that is perfect for my #100Days journey!
See: kotlin.fyi

I really want to write a post on mkdocs now and I hope to do that soon. But for the curious - here are the links (and yes it deploys to GitHub pages easily - and can be setup with Github Actions to auto build/deploy - though I haven't done that yet)

Mkdocs: mkdocs.org/
Material Theme: squidfunk.github.io/mkdocs-material/

Bonus: It's really built for effective documentation requirements so if you understand and love folder hierarchies for organizing information, and Markdown for formatting pages - then you will 😍 it too!

Collapse
 
cmohan profile image
Catherine Mohan

I really hate asynchronous programming, but I spent today making a set of generic C# classes that handle API requests/responses that I can reuse in future programs so I don't have to do this again.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Hot Rod saying Cool beans!

Collapse
 
tawishi1 profile image
Tawishi

I learned about APIs and used them in my project for a hackathon.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Gym teacher from Glee saying amazing!

Collapse
 
cerchie profile image
Lucia Cerchie

I got an intro to pair programming with Martin Fowler's article. I'm excited to practice more now that I know the theory.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Captain America saluting