DEV Community

Cover image for December 11th, 2020: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

December 11th, 2020: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

![Information flowing through your brain](https://media.giphy.com/media/qKltgF7Aw515K/giphy.gif)

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

And remember, if something you learnt was a big win for you, then you know where to drop it as well.👇👇🏻👇🏼👇🏽👇🏾👇🏿

![Price is Right contestant celebrating](https://media.giphy.com/media/gF29UEqBhSoDY8LHKg/giphy.gif)

Top comments (30)

Collapse
 
gaous profile image
Gaous Muhammad Saklaen

I finally saw +1 downloads ( haha... ) in google play for my first android application that I created last month.
If you want to have a look the application I created, here's the link:
play.google.com/store/apps/details...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor Leonardo DiCaprio as Gatsby doing a cheers

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Hey @nickytonline Today I am so excited to say that I have launched my second portfolio site and anyone can download it for free 💐

I request you guy's, please follow the link and share your review and any idea or anything about my work. I love to hear from you 💋

Check out the live demo 👉 View now

Download for Free 😎 👉 Download

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Bobby Moynahan character from SNL saying awesome!

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Planned to get to know and get my feet wet on pair programming (never done that before) but I'm not confident enough 😂

So I was all about CSS flexbox & learned a bit about Google analytics this week 😊

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Stephen Colbert saying Awesome Sauce

Collapse
 
cococreates profile image
Coco

I finally learned the serious power of dbt (data modeling) docs commands in dbt CLI ... It’s changed my whole workflow and saved me tons of time combing through model architecture! It’s a 10 minute, 2 command investment that lets you see powerful graphs of your model lineage.

docs.getdbt.com/docs/building-a-db...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Collapse
 
aminarria profile image
Amin Arria

Started learning about WebAssembly by reading pragprog.com/titles/khrust/program...

Collapse
 
weeklytyped profile image
Weekly Typed

Wow, me too!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Yeah!

A T-Rex saying Yeah!

Collapse
 
justan0therdev profile image
Ruan Montelo

Adapted a Batch Script for deploy of an internal application in a development environment. I wrote some stuff with it when I was a kid but never had the opportunity to use it in a professional environment. It was pretty interesting coming back to the language having a deeper programming knowledge and learning it again.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Jean-Luc Picard from Star Trek TNG saying Well done!

Collapse
 
rafi993 profile image
Rafi

I just picked up my next book The master algorithm I'm so excited about it !!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

BB-8 giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
audreymengue profile image
Audrey Mengue

I built a hotel website with vanilla html and css.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Hot Rod saying Cool beans!

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

graphql-hooks for DatoCMS 😄

Collapse
 
neelamsivakumar profile image
Shivakumar Neelam

This week I learnt something cool about message format other than JSON i.e. Apache Avro. It is a data serialization system. Avro format is a key factor in Event Driven Architecture (EDA) for your massage/payload. This is recommended in Distributed Streaming platforms like Kafka because the message/event of avro format converted into byte array ans stored so it will be faster and occupies very less memory

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Blazingly fast?

Quicksilver from X-Men running

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Turning 40 during a pandemic is just as much fun as turning 30 while deployed to Afghanistan.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Captain America saluting

Collapse
 
phantas0s profile image
Matthieu Cneude

Writing a book is hard but very, very interesting.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Borat saying Great Success!

Collapse
 
nashthecoder profile image
Nash The Coder • Edited

How to read another developers code for a job I landed! Whoop whoop!#workinprogress

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Puppet bird looking through binoculars

Collapse
 
yjdoc2 profile image
YJDoc2

I learnt what is aggregation in MongoDB and how to use it.
I also wrote a post about it 😉 :
dev.to/yjdoc2/what-is-aggregation-...

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

That's awesome! 🔥

Yes, that's awesome!

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I started using Sanity and I have to say it's so quick to start! I will be looking more into some Headless CMS things.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice