DEV Community

Niko Heikkilä
Niko Heikkilä

Posted on

Do You Even Toot? – Mastodon for Developers

It's been almost two years since I started this thread.

Since then, I've found quite a lot of interesting topics and developers to follow. Despite the comment section Mastodon is still thriving and attracting users who wish not to be poisoned by a toxic cloud.

Toxic Cloud meme from Fallout series

The user experience and federated community spirit of the Mastodon also drove me to quit Twitter. I still do cross-post there using a 3rd party integration bridge but I haven't otherwise felt the need to look back.

Round 2

How is the general Mastodon appeal after a couple of years? Obviously, it won't kill Twitter, but not every social network need to be a killer of something.

Have you jumped the ship? Are you posting to a well-known instance or running your own?

I am nikoheikkila@mastodon.technology which you can also find in my profile. If you need invitations or any help in getting started with Mastodon, let me know!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I haven't "jumped ship", but I do use Mastodon more than I use Twitter. I see Twitter pretty much as another instance, just one that doesn't federate properly :)

Twitter is useful for existing friends or keeping up with a few spots of news I don't get anywhere else. Mastodon is for meeting new people and being... social, I guess.

Collapse
 
kurzgedanke profile image
KurzGedanke

Yeah a post about mastodon!

I'm on mastodon since 2016 and I really like it their. I can found at chaos.social/@KurzGedanke. But beware, I am posting a lot in German.^^

If you like to join you can look here: joinmastodon.org/#getting-started to get an right instance for you and an overall understanding how mastodon works.

App wise I can recomend:

There are a lot more out there but this one I know and trust.

Hope to see you all out there on different instances. Happy tooting!