DEV Community

Pavel Polívka
Pavel Polívka

Posted on

What are you listening to while coding?

I discovered tons of good music during our work watercooler discussions. Lets try this here? What are you listetning in general? Concrete bands? Song? Playlists?

I am usually listening to Spotify Discover Weekly and or some author's radio.

I have a special programming music playlist I fire up everytime I need to concentrate hard or reset the mood.


If you want to talk about msuic or whatever else, you can reach me on my twitter.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
ronald_arias profile image
Ron

I'm with @kasun, it depends. If I'm working on standard semi-deep tasks I usually listen to different piano playlists, if I need real deep focus and to block everything else, I go for upbeat techno. Any other time it varies from acoustic covers to mainstream pop or rock songs.
I never listen to music with lyrics if I need to focus!

Collapse
 
johnkazer profile image
John Kazer

Brain.fm I can't cope with anything with vocals when working

Collapse
 
samselfridge profile image
samselfridge • Edited

For when I need to concentrate, 'relaxing video game music' is perfect
youtube.com/watch?v=2EY-PlaJnbM

When I'm doing the usual stuff that doesn't require lots of brain power, these "Vocal Deep House Music Mix" are nice. NSFW warning, the videos are 1/2 rich kid drone travel videos but the other half are models in bikini's in slow motion. Nothing XXX but you probably don't want your manager watching it over your shoulder, even when there not girls on screen your 'next suggestions' are enough to raise an eyebrow (see below)

dev-to-uploads.s3.amazonaws.com/i/...

Collapse
 
dmiracle profile image
Dylan Miracle

Chilled Cow beats to study and relax to open.spotify.com/playlist/0vvXsWCC...

Collapse
 
samselfridge profile image
samselfridge

I was really hoping these were going to be actual cow noises put together in a relaxing way...

Collapse
 
jazznerd206 profile image
Andrew Miller

Get work done: Deep Modern Electronic, no vocals
Inspirational/Creative: Modern Pop, any singer, specifically soprano vocal range (idk why, I would change it if I could, but it's the way its always been)
Relax: Anything with some bodacious horns

Collapse
 
nbilyk profile image
Nicholas Bilyk

Today, Art Blakey!

Collapse
 
kasunkoswattha profile image
Kasun

It depends on my mood and the nature of the work that I'm working on. It can go from Instrumental calming music to death metal :)

Collapse
 
primaryw profile image
Jay H. • Edited

I have been listening to LoFi HipHop radio on YouTube. Sparse lyrics but great chill beats.
youtu.be/5qap5aO4i9A

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.