DEV Community

Peter Kim Frank
Peter Kim Frank

Posted on

What have you been meaning to do but haven't gotten around to?

Things come up, projects and ideas and improvements get kicked down the road.

What have you been planning on doing for a while, but just haven't found the time or motivation to tackle quite yet? I'm sure we could all use some commiseration and encouragement.

Top comments (26)

Collapse
 
val_baca profile image
Valentin Baca

These are things I want to go "wide and shallow", as in get a basic, working knowledge. For some, it's just that I haven't touched them yet or recently:

  • Databases, SQL & NoSQL
  • JavaScript, Node.js, Angular
  • AWS, Google Cloud, Azure
  • PHP (to be 100% honest, this is to game the resume grep machine)

I want to "go deep" into full-stack app development, but I don't have many app ideas.

I've got one idea that would need image recognition and augmented reality...I just need to do it!

Collapse
 
marshallformula profile image
Nate Gibbons

I bought a raspberry pi almost a year ago - and I have no idea what to do with it. I thought I was going to write some code to have it do some neat smart-home-automation-thingy... but it just sits on the shelf mocking me.

Collapse
 
riverslucas profile image
Lulinsky

I bought a rapsberry pi for fun and to integrate it with a guitar pedal board. I guess I should start with simple applications instead of a complex one.

Collapse
 
hawarioware profile image
Wajdi Al-Hawari

If you start this....I would love to check it out.

Collapse
 
ajstharsanradus28 profile image
Radus28 Software Solutions

I m too interested. Please update when you will achieve it :)

Collapse
 
thewebengineer profile image
Matt Silverman

I have been wanting to build a website for me and my friends to showcase our work on a domain I bought, laserbeam.io. Dang... I haven't even gotten around to replacing the splash screen from NameCheap. I will do something by the end of the summer though.

Collapse
 
jeangruneberg profile image
Jean Gruneberg

Like the 'wide and shallow' on AWS and Azure
Full infra automation - parts done, just not all hanging together.
Get 'good' with PowerShell - have shallow knowledge that gets done what i need - but need to get better.

Collapse
 
cadellsinghh_25 profile image
Cadell

Unit tests for the side project I'm working on. Every week I tell myself "this is the week I'm gonna start writing some tests" but it just never happens. :(

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

lol been there

Collapse
 
hawarioware profile image
Wajdi Al-Hawari

Very simple, yet haven't just buckled down to do it.....Write my skeleton web-app that has all the necessary components I want to throw at my projects when starting off. This includes having all my travis, docker, go-to software pattern structure and basic test framework structure set up. Maybe me putting it up publicly will be enough of the shame to actually get it done....

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

I keep saying I'm going to research PWAs, but I keep NOT researching PWAs...

Any good resources would be highly appreciated. 🙏

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee
Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Thanks, got my weekend project!

Collapse
 
claritydev profile image
Andrew Starodubtev

I have a point in todo-list to share my Impostor Syndrome story with dev.to/kathryngrayson/share-your-e.... Still not done.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I have been meaning to write more personal scripts, but never take the time to do it. I have virtually no command-line customization and it's all a matter of not bothering to get to it. It's, like, years of putting this off.

Collapse
 
kaydacode profile image
Kim Arnett 

Diving more into robots!
I've gotten burnt out this summer and am taking time to get myself back into the right frame of mind. Hopefully this fall/winter it'll be a good project!

Collapse
 
bhagatparwinder profile image
Parwinder 👨🏻‍💻

Move to using Observables. For the love of god, if someone can give me a concrete reason to use them over Promises, I'll buy them a beer!

Collapse
 
rysilva profile image
Ryan Silva

I've owned trailatlas.com since around 2005. I've been wanting to build a hiking trail web site since then, but's never bubbled to the top of my priority list!

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

12 years in the making!! This will be a fun one to do "research" on; you can formulate your strategy out on the trails. I always get great thinking done on long hikes.

Collapse
 
engineercoding profile image
Wesley Ameling

Start learning docker and using it. It really gets recommended to me all the time, though I never seem to remember when I have free time on my hands.

Collapse
 
hrishio profile image
Hrishi Mittal

Going to the gym.