DEV Community

Rizwan Aaqil
Rizwan Aaqil

Posted on

How to grow your web development career?

Hi guys, I have been working as a Web Developer, specially with WordPress, since 2011,for different clients around the globe.

I am neither a complete developer, nor a designer. I just create WordPress websites with the help of themes and plugins, adding/customizing some code with the help of Google.

I tried to learn full stack development with the help of some online courses, but I really don't know which way should I go to.

I am posting here because I need a mentor, who can guide me either I should learn Javascript or PHP or Python etc, and some guidance on how to stick with what you are learning, and stop change of mind.

Thanking you in advance for your time and help.

Top comments (28)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

Being a Full-Stack developer is a good career path however you really need to have a plan before you start anything otherwise you will get lost in tutorial hell. This is the path I would follow.

Front-End

  1. HTML/CSS
  2. JavaScript
  3. React

Back-End

  1. Node.js
  2. NoSQL/SQL

Now you can call yourself a MERN developer.

Collapse
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

What's the best way to learn React?

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

There is no best way because there are many different courses available plus you could read the official documentation on their website. It is easy to get overwhelmed when too many resources are put in front of you. I can show you two courses I used on Udemy. They are both by Stephen Grider so the teaching style is the same in both courses. You will learn React, Redux and React Native. That means you will be able to create web, mobile and desktop apps.

However you need to learn JavaScript properly first. I think this one is the best on Udemy it's by Jonas Schmedtmann.

The Complete JavaScript Course 2021: From Zero to Expert!

Modern React with Redux 2020 Update

The Complete React Native + Hooks Course [2020 Edition]

Collapse
 
hkara107144 profile image
huseyinkara

Is there any resource to leran mern stack you advice ?

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden
Collapse
 
iamironblossom profile image
Ishtiaq Mahmood Amin

What's a MERN developer 🤔??

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden • Edited

It is the acronym for the developer technical stack. Mongo, Express, React, Node (MERN). Those are the technologies associated with it. You also have the MEAN stack where the "A" is Angular.

Collapse
 
hkvongit profile image
hari

We should start with HTML and CSs first , learn the absolute basics, follow good channels like brad traversy on youtube or Colt Steele's Web developer bootcamp on Udemy. You can spend around 2 weeks on HTML, CSS basics and then start with javascript.

Do more practicals and understand the necessary theories and concepts.

Collapse
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

I already have intermediate knowledge of HTML and CSS, and basic knowledge of Javascript and PHP.

Collapse
 
hkvongit profile image
hari

Must learns in JS

  1. Recursion
  2. Closures
  3. Loops
  4. Conditionals
  5. Scope of variables
  6. this keyword
  7. object oriented programming - encapsulation and abstraction
  8. class
  9. imports
  10. exports
  11. arrow functions
  12. var, let, const
  13. destructing
  14. template literals
  15. Spread operator
  16. map , filter, reduce
  17. Understand how .prototype works
  18. type conversion
  19. Naming conventions in JS
  20. Asynchronous programming
  21. Promises
  22. Async and await
  23. error handling in javascript
  24. consoling using different console mehods
Thread Thread
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

Thank you for your help. Is there a way I can practice this stuff too while learning? Because learning without practice seemed to be useless for me in the past.

Thread Thread
 
hkvongit profile image
hari

you can use codesandbox for practicals.

its simple and efficient.

you can start a vanilla javascript project (sandbox)

Collapse
 
hkvongit profile image
hari

I follow the below course for javascript
udemy.com/share/101FDABEcfd15SQng=/

Keep the discussion active. We will help you.

Collapse
 
crimsonmed profile image
Médéric Burlet

Wordpress uses PHP something you could look into are PHP frameworks such as:

  • Yii2
  • Laravel
  • Symphony

We personally use Yii2 in our company and lets us create complex big platforms. This will be a big change from wordpress as you'll have to learn MVC modelling.

Going into a JS stack as some people are suggesting might be a big leap when you have no fullstack experience as it is a very different way or working.

Collapse
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

Thank you. Any recommendation for good resources to learn one of these framework?

Collapse
 
crimsonmed profile image
Médéric Burlet

Yii2 getting started guide and documentation is really easy:
yiiframework.com/doc/guide/2.0/en/...
youtube.com/watch?v=whuIf33v2Ug

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

Based on your responses to others, it sounds like your experiences with React were similar to mine. If you do want to further pursue Frontend w/ your strong HTML/CSS base, you might find Vue a lot easier to work with.

This post was my first step into Vue:

You also mentioned wanting to explore mobile apps in your responses - continuing with Vue, you might like to look at Quasar or Nativescript which allow you to use your HTML basis to create mobile apps!

I would also recommend exploring other languages like Python - even if you end up not liking it, it can still be a fun thing to dip your toes into!

Collapse
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

Thank you Tyler :)

Collapse
 
gjeotech profile image
gjeo@inten

Indeed it is a good thing to be a full stack developer, I have executed various website projects using php, and I found it so passionate in developing website. .. I advice you try and downloads some videos on website development using php, or python it will give u a clear view with real life demo.
Perhaps you are faced with any challenge during your training don't hesitate to message me privately.

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

My preferred stack is Vue, Python and MSSQL.
If you want a corporate job then I would say React as there is more demand
If you want to maintain legacy code then PHP, otherwise Node, java, Python and C# are a push.
Building data heavy sites at scale then MSSQL, otherwise MySQL, postgress or Mongo
PHP cannot be used to create serverless functions on Azure or AWS. C# seems to be leading the way for web assembly for compiled code in the browser. React Native seem to be the most popular web/native app cross platform but Vue is catching up with Quasar and Vue Ionic.

 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

Haha that's true.

I started this course: udemy.com/course/the-complete-web-.... I went through all the modules, but when I started React, I lost my interest after video classes.

After that, I tried doing some other courses to find an easy way to learn React, because I know the market value of React, that's why I want to learn.

Anyways, I will try again with React, or may be with Python.

Thank you :)

Collapse
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

Hey Amelia, thank you for your kind suggestions. Your "what" and "why" are answered in my post's title "career growth" :)

I have been working with HTML, CSS, basic PHP and Javascript, WordPress themes and plugins, Servers, Website security etc. Now I want to dig deep into advanced topics like REST APIs, Web Crawlers, Dynamic Web Apps, or even Mobile Apps.

For that, I have taken few courses of React etc, but I just don't feel much interest in that. So I made this post so just clear my vision.

Thank you for your kind suggestion :)

Collapse
 
sunisstillhigh profile image
Daniel Ivanov

Freecodecamp is a good start point.

Collapse
 
rahoulb profile image
Rahoul Baruah

Do you work for yourself? Or do you work with a company or agency of some kind?

Collapse
 
rizwanrajput profile image
Rizwan Aaqil

I work with an agency. Recently I faced a challenge to connect Office 365 calendar with WordPress, and I couldn't do it. I want to handle such things myself that's why I want to enhance my skills. I hope you get my point.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.