DEV Community

Sally
Sally

Posted on • Updated on

Hacktoberfest: A Beginner-Friendly Project

I remember my first Hacktoberfest; it was 2017 and, though I was still too new - and nervous! - to contribute by coding features or fixing bugs, I helped add translations to projects' user interfaces. It reminded me that every skill helps. I added data objects to location maps and strings to various arrays. More importantly, I learned a lot about Git flow, forking, branching and merging.

For newcomers, learning the Git process is a valuable part of the event, but I know the feeling of wanting to submit a quality PR - a design fix, a function, a component that could be re-used - and how it can also seem a little daunting finding a place for a larger, more impactful PR when you're still picking up the basics.

So, for fun, I created a mini React app which has some needs and some missing features, and I invite anyone of any level to contribute. Add a new journey to populate the grid. If you want to contribute some styling, please do. If you're keen to try a simple function, why not sort the cards or arrange them by name? Additional categories could be added, along with filters. When there are too many, pagination might be a welcome feature. It needs, as any real app would, unit tests. Accessibility concerns may need to be addressed. There may be display issues in certain browsers or on mobile.

Fork the repo, git clone it down, npm start and take a look. There will almost certainly be something you can contribute.

I will create some issues to get people started, but really, anything goes - make your mark on it. I will try to play the role of Project Manager, and over the course of the month, add new requirements and feature requests based on what our entirely fictional customers want.

Enjoy!

Build Travel Cards

ps: A simple idea and clean layout, but also a little homage to an app that's gone too soon 😢

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck!