DEV Community

Shannon Crabill
Shannon Crabill

Posted on

What color are your office walls?

Currently, they are a sage green from the previous owners.

I don't hate the color, but I am also open to changing it. A light, neutral background is appealing since I can add color via accessories.

What color are the walls in your office? Do you plan to change them?

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

At work, an off-white somewhere between parchment and eggshell, with grey salt-and-pepper patterned cubicle walls.

At home, a pale alabaster (almost exactly the HTML color, just a bit lighter) with a sea foam green stripe around the room at about shoulder height.

In both cases, I don't really have any interest in a change. It's not like I spend my day staring at the walls, and I have some art up too so it's not completely bland.

Collapse
 
philcdavis profile image
Phil Davis

From work desk: burnt orange, white, steely grey, and bluish off-white (no plan to change, no control over it, nice change from previous gov't putty grey walls)
From home desk: minty green obscured by posters/calendars/art/bookshelves (no plan to change, soothing, all the crap on/in front of the walls engages me and reminds me why I'm here)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

We used to have an enormous mural all down one wall but nowadays it's bland and white.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

A mural sounds nice!

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

My work office walls are cubicle grey

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill • Edited

If you could change the color, which would you pick?

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

I'd love to do a pink/purple accent wall

Collapse
 
laurieontech profile image
Laurie

Lime green...I have no idea why.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Brand colors?

Collapse
 
laurieontech profile image
Laurie

Nope. Was in the space already when we rented it. Guess they thought it was fun?

Collapse
 
syntaxseed profile image
SyntaxSeed (Sherri W)

Home office in the basement... cheesy wood panelling from the 70s/80s. LMAO.

Eventually when the kids want their own rooms I'll be kicked out of there & make them renovate it!

Collapse
 
philcdavis profile image
Phil Davis

Flashbacks of cheesy wood panelling, cheesier mirrored wall tiles, and cheesiest dark-cork wall tiles. Child of the 70s I am, yes.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Wood paneling might be back in style, who knows.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

A pretty boring beige... but it's no fuss and blends into the background well. 😀

Collapse
 
mccurcio profile image
Matt Curcio

To me, Beige is the color of resignation. haha

Collapse
 
anwar_nairi profile image
Anwar

Blank white both at work and home. I find it good to beautify ornaments, and it makes the room seems more lightened. I like it actually.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I work from home so I am lucky, white-ish with a navy accent wall and a nice wood desk.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

A navy wall sounds nice. I wanted to do an almost navy, demin color for the basement, but we may opt for something lighter instead.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.