DEV Community

shrey vijayvargiya
shrey vijayvargiya

Posted on

DEVIN: the only developer we all are afraid of 😀

Hello friends,

Well, summer is on the way now and we are halfway to the end of March, 24 it's already a high temperature in my hometown during the evenings.

DEVIN: the first AI software developer

If you haven't heard about DEVIN, then let me tell you the cognition labs named company in San Fransisco, Bay area have developed the first AI software developer.

Twitter went crazy, YouTube was bombarded with AI news and jargon, and LinkedIn to live TV news all went crazy for this new AI software developer.

read the tweet by the company that made DEVIN

27 million views in 3 days shown in the tweet screenshot by the company that made DEVIN

27 million views in 3 days shown in the tweet screenshot by the company that made DEVIN
Should we WORRY?
Most of us have already heard this news and it's been 2 days so I think this is a good time to put some thoughts on it.

Should we need to worry about DEVIN?

I don't think so, I mean look at the past, when chatGPT launched it crashed the market, went viral and blew everyone in the world.

People were scared that GPT might and would take away our jobs but one year down the line nothing significant happened.

Sam Altman has said about these new AI-related trends, that everyone gets scared initially when hype goes on and eventually it all boils down and the debate, trends and news all get settled.

Watch the YouTube video by my favourite Indian YouTuber explaining the trends and pros/cons of DEVIN.

This video will calm you down if you feel too stressed about developers' future.

This AI and all is too much hyped and let me tell you from my 4 years of experience that AI is been there in the development for the past 10+ years so it took more than decades for developers around the globe to develop something like DEVIN and GPT.

Nevermind, moving ahead

300+ software development blogs

Some of you might have even used my Frontend Roadmap Template and most of you must have heard about it.

Today, I did something useful for a lot of us reading this email and working as a developer. The story begins 3 years ago when I started writing online.

In 3 years, I've written 400+ blogs on medium, with 6K followers on dev.to, a contributor on app.daily.dev, draft.dev, and sharing my writing on Twitter and Linkedin.

It's quite a journey and last week, I downloaded all my medium blogs, filtered them, sorted them(all these using javascript) and added them to the Frontend Roadmap template.

Watch the video to understand what I am saying

300+ javascript, frontend, backend and mobile app dev blogs, learn on the go

So from the video one can easily guess that it's an extensive collection of 300 blogs written on Frontend, Backend, and Mobile app development, most or all of them are in Javascript.

So Javascript lovers learners or developers, this is the right time to access the library and adding it to the frontend roadmap template makes a lot of sense.

Frontend Roadmap

check the template

Do check my website iHateReading for similar interesting stories
or you can subscribe to my weekly newsletter

iHateReading Newsletter

see you in the next one
Shrey

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
latobibor profile image
András Tóth

If it all falls down I have a couple of guesses what will happen:

  • the bosses who were frustrated that their devs were not doing what was asked will realize that even AI cannot produce anything useful from contradictory requirements
  • if managers can automate software engineering, software engineers can also automate managers; if there will be an actual force multiplier out there, there will be crazy amount of competition as you will now have much lower financial barrier to enter the market with a good idea
  • I also have a feeling that there will be companies that will go all-in with these tech only to realize that the code have weird bugs and they have nobody to debug, refactor and rationalize the codebase

Just like images generated, there will be weird glitches, topics that the AI will have problems with and so on.

Collapse
 
getsetgopi profile image
GP

The major difference between AI and Human is that AI don't have emotions and sentiments. They can only give basic structure or a template, for the rest of it, human touch is required. We need to learn to adopt them in best possible way than just ignoring it. For example we at our organization use GitHub copilot chat to generate unit test case for react components and update the generated code to our requirement. This saves us lot of time in writing everything from scratch.

Collapse
 
shricodev profile image
Shrijal Acharya

@latobibor Totally agree, especially with the third point. I would never believe AI-written code to be production-ready any day soon!

Collapse
 
latobibor profile image
András Tóth

Especially how often I run into fake functions that AI just cooked up as existing in a library, or how I get the same bad results from stackoverflow about some Date edge-cases.

I don't need help with the code I can write, but the one I can't the tools so far all also failed with it as well.

Thread Thread
 
shricodev profile image
Shrijal Acharya

I don't need help with the code I can write, but the one I can't the tools so far all also failed with it as well.

For now, it is only 13% as efficient as most developers. There's still much room for improvement. We cannot expect much. Currently, I would say it's just another AI startup that has a lot to achieve in a shorter time, or else it's going to vanish.

Collapse
 
shreyvijayvargiya profile image
shrey vijayvargiya

I agree but another school of though to be add here is that currently it can resolve 13% as claimed and in future it might do more than 50% of the work

Collapse
 
sectasy0 profile image
sectasy

I don't believe DEVIN is something to fear. Take a glance at their page. They're simply another startup aiming to carve out a portion of the AI market and attract investors for financial gain.

Collapse
 
shreyvijayvargiya profile image
shrey vijayvargiya

Yeah, I think the same!!

Collapse
 
mrlinxed profile image
Mr. Linxed

I feel like Evan You (Creator of Vue) summed it up pretty well.

Collapse
 
shreyvijayvargiya profile image
shrey vijayvargiya

My doubt is that it is 13% at the current time, what will be this percentage in 5 years down the line?

Collapse
 
best_codes profile image
Best Codes

Not much higher. Until we make an AGI, AI can only be so smart. It relies on humans for training and input or it doesn't learn.

Collapse
 
redbeardjunior profile image
RedbeardJunior

I'm not afraid like I tell people many times, that in the next 20–40 years it will not make any secure code.

A human with the help of AI and a brain full of knowledge is much more valuable than Devin.

If you're afraid and stop coding, you are shortening yourself; it will not replace a coder who is going to code a new code language with a better future. An AI that is a prompt of combination ?

I think I'm the few that see that AI is not there yet and will take 30–40 more to get it there, given the effort and the money that will put in there.

Don't only rely on a prompt of spitting out unsecure code, think and involve yourself in becoming a better coder and human.

Collapse
 
thedachaleun2125 profile image
ThedaChaleun2125

this is scary

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.