DEV Community

Chris C
Chris C

Posted on

Does the DEV community have any house/garden plants they want to show off?

I will admit I'm not a plant expert by any stretch of the imagination but in permanent remote settings, it can get cumbersome at the home office.

Studies indicate that plants (and other living things that are not exotic wild jungle animals) 🐅

https://hside.org/plants-improve-mental-physical-health/

What plants (or pets) are you all taking care of during this time?

Asparagus Fern

My asparagus fern is great in humid places (like the bathroom)!

Edit:: my fern is upside down 🧐 🤷🏻‍♂️

Top comments (14)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I don’t have any pics available right now...

But I happen to know there’s a community currently being developed on our open source software for plant lovers—one of several new communities being developed.

This one's feed will have much more emphasis on pictures. 🌱

I’m a beta user 😄

Collapse
 
skyandsand profile image
Chris C

Hi Ben, cool concept! This is internal on DEV? Look forward to more 🌱

Collapse
 
lynnewritescode profile image
Lynne Finnigan

I love this! How/when can we hear more?

Collapse
 
mattstuddert profile image
Matt Studdert

Yup! Got a number of them throughout the flat. They make a massive difference in my opinion! 🙌

Apartment living room with house plants

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

I inherited this one, when I moved into my new home office.

It even got a new leaf a few days after I watered it.

Collapse
 
helenanders26 profile image
Helen Anderson

YUS! I have several plant friends.

This is Maurice the ZZ plant. His tag says he is 'unkillable'. So far, so good.

This is Bruce 2. Bruce 1 found a home with my sister when I moved overseas for a few years.

Collapse
 
skyandsand profile image
Chris C

Here'ssss Brucey!

Collapse
 
lynnewritescode profile image
Lynne Finnigan • Edited

This is Midge, a prayer plant (maranta leuconeura) and the smaller one is an air plant named Susie 😄 A prayer plant and an air plant sitting on a coffee table

Collapse
 
skyandsand profile image
Chris C • Edited

Midge, will you marry me?? 🥺 she's a beaut!

Collapse
 
pomoich profile image
pomoich

I am very keen on nature, especially plans. Because of that, when my wife and I started building our own house, we decided to do something eco-friendly and have a yard full of plants and flowers. We approached many companies specializing in doing house plans, but none of them could help us. We were very disappointed and almost gave up. But one of my colleagues at work suggested approaching boutiquehomeplans.com/, which we did. They behaved as real professionals and got everything done in a short period, and most importantly, they did everything quality-wise and matched our demands.

Collapse
 
simme profile image
Simme

Does chili plants qualify? If so, I’ll be back tomorrow 😅

Collapse
 
cravacuore profile image
Damián Cravacuore

I have an ombu bonsai living well ;)

bonsai

Collapse
 
skyandsand profile image
Chris C

Bonsai!

Collapse
 
mattstuddert profile image
Matt Studdert

Hahaha, thanks! Yeah, they can be a little annoying. Most of them are cards that are due to come down now anyway 😅