DEV Community

Cover image for What is the first programming language that you learned?
Suraj Vishwakarma
Suraj Vishwakarma

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at surajondev.com

What is the first programming language that you learned?

Introduction

Let's discuss the first language we learned that pay a way to reach the place where we are today. The curiosity that we have regarding the developer community when we first time code.

My Experience

Batch Scripting Language

Batch Scripting Language is the first programming language that I learned but I will not recommend anybody to learn today. I self-learned that programming language. I learned batch because it was used in the command line and I was not knowing anything about other programming languages at that time.

Discuss

  • What is the first programming language that you learned?
  • What was your experience regarding it?

Top comments (24)

Collapse
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T

C , then C ++ because it was basic for Computer Science students in Indian school. Then C # and Java in college , Now in work its C#. And C# is easy , readable and maintainable compared to others. 😄

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

Yesss, same her for me in my college started with c then c++. Now I am learning python.

Collapse
 
khangnd profile image
Khang

Pascal was my first back in Highschool.

I still remember the time back then when I struggled with it, the time when I used those classes to play Counter-Strike with my fellows, and now, here I am, working and stuffing my brain with more languages... what fate 😂

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣You were at better side we used to surf internet or play some arcade game or draw in MS paint.

Collapse
 
khangnd profile image
Khang

Actually, there was no internet on every computer, so we brought the game and installed it by ourselves, and played via LAN. 😋

Thread Thread
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

That's awesome 🔥🔥🔥

Collapse
 
sfiquet profile image
Sylvie Fiquet

My dad introduced me to Basic as a teenager. It was awful. You had to type a number at the start of each line, not even 1, 2, 3.., it went 100, 200, 300..., which made no sense to me. And then there were all the GOTOs. I decided then that programming was incredibly tedious.

A few years later, as I was looking for a new direction, my husband pushed me to give programming another go with Pascal. I taught myself from a book and it wasn't long before I was hooked. No typing line numbers, no stupid gotos. Instead you had lovely functions, and powerful things like structures, arrays and pointers... It made total sense and it was actually fun!

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

Today, programming language are becoming easy to understand and implement without having a lot of trouble in writing useless code. With powerful extension that we have coding has become easy as we compared to past years. As you said today it make sense and it has fun also.⭐

Collapse
 
kallmanation profile image
Nathan Kallman

Some flavor of BASIC for a 2 week intro to programming course; then TI-BASIC 83 on my calculator in the back of class; then C(++) followed by Java in college; but I feel like I really started programming in PHP...

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

That's good 😊

Collapse
 
jennrmillerdev profile image
Jen Miller • Edited

Java in high school, Java in university, Java in my first job :)

I'm happy I learned a object oriented langue early on. Obviously no language is perfect. I would consider myself a fullstack developer now. I'm equally good at both Java and Javascript. I enjoy those stacks and have no problems getting opportunities with those skill sets.

I fooled around with Python here and there. I also got on the Ruby on Rails hype train back in the day...but since got off :)

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

That's a nice set of skills

Collapse
 
itsaditya profile image
Aditya Chaudhary👨‍💻 • Edited

I had started with Java (It is being taught in high-school)

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

That's a great language to start coding.

Collapse
 
itsaditya profile image
Aditya Chaudhary👨‍💻

yeah, but later I shifted to python and C# since I was mostly interested in game development and AI/ML

Thread Thread
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

Yeah, python has big scope in AI/ML.

Collapse
 
akhterali profile image
Mo Ali

Easily python. Being mostly in the English language really did help me get into programming.

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

Easy and most demanding 🔥🔥🔥

Collapse
 
honey104 profile image
Honey

Started with C++ in school. C++ in itself is an amazing language first of all. I found it a little difficult using it with certain things but it no more troubles me now. The Heaven part is DSA:)

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

It can be difficult for beginners to deal with those classes and all. It's great that you are now comfortable with the language.

Collapse
 
tharindu profile image
Tharindu Sathischandra

Visual Basic nearly in 2009

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

Nice 🔥🔥🔥

Collapse
 
aghost7 profile image
Jonathan Boudreau

First language was NwScript, and game scripting language for Neverwinter Nights. It was pretty basic (no arrays, structs can't be nested, etc), but it did help me get into programming.

Collapse
 
surajondev profile image
Suraj Vishwakarma

That's the good start to rock in the field.