DEV Community

Cover image for Kubernetes is deprecating Docker as a container runtime after v1.20! What does it mean for YOU?
TechWorld with Nana
TechWorld with Nana

Posted on

Kubernetes is deprecating Docker as a container runtime after v1.20! What does it mean for YOU?

Kubernetes is deprecating Docker (or more specifically Dockershim) as a container runtime! If you want to understand the details behind and how it affects you:

  • as a software developer, who is using Docker and Kubernetes or
  • as a DevOps engineer, who is administering Kubernetes using a Managed Kubernetes Service or a self-managed Kubernetes cluster.

I hope with this video I can clarify all your questions you might have πŸ’‘ πŸ‘‡πŸ»

I cover the following questions:

  • Why has Docker been deprecated?
  • Container Runtime alternatives?
  • What does this change mean for YOU as a Kubernetes User?
  • What does this change mean for YOU as a Kubernetes Administrator?
    • when using Managed Kubernetes Service
    • with self-managed Kubernetes cluster
  • When do you need to take action?
  • Impact on using Kubernetes locally with Minikube and Docker Desktop
  • Still learn Docker? CI/CD Pipeline with Docker?

Useful Links πŸ”—:


β–Ί Get 30% off - with this code: UDEMY_NANA_NOV2020: Udemy course here
β–Ί Kubernetes 101: Compact and easy-to-read ebook bundle πŸš€
It's a handy way to quickly look something up or refresh your knowledge at work and use it as your cheatsheet 😎

Like, share and follow me 😍 for more content:

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
airmikec profile image
airmikec • Edited

Kubernetes Router.

Nana. Let me first say your videos are amazing and it's helped me get up and running fairly quickly. Between you and this book that was recommended to me, the both of you has made Kubernetes make sense. I actually tell people you are pretty much the Authority when it comes to Kubernetes.

Now on to the problem at hand. I created a cute little NodeJS app and it's tested with Docker and the image performs the way it's suppose to. The task of the image is it receives an HTTP request, because this is an endpoint, and it then calls for a connection to another server via an HTTP endpoint to get data. Both endpoints (images) work perfectly fine via Docker. Soon as I get Kubernetes involved the initial endpoint refuses to connect to the next endpoint to get the data. My Services are setup as NodePort therefore I am making connections based on the host (server) IP and the open port I put into service.yaml file.

Also the final endpoint where it's receiving data from a mysql database works fine in Kubernetes. I have tested it from the calling server using a browser and it returns data fine. So I am assuming the problem is at the initial endpoint and that it's not finding the path to call the final endpoint (data server). However, from my understanding is when making an IP call it return to Kubernetes DNS and if it doesn't know how to route it, it will send the request on to the Host DNS, which in theory should forward the request.

Any help you can give would be very appreciative. Thank you for your time and I hope you have a great day.

-Mike