DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey Into Tech.
Kwaku Duah
Kwaku Duah

Posted on

My Journey Into Tech.

Learning to code can be a tedious task when you do not know where to start from. There are several programming languages available for use to acccomplish various tasks.
Low-level programming languages have two categories: assembly language and machine code have steep learning curves.Hoewever, high-level programming languages like Python,C++,C# are easier to start with a bit of grit and determination.

This is a quick privy into my tech journey. I started with the idea of using another operating system besides Windows OS(Operating System).A thorough research gave me a foray into all the possibilities of using Linux OS. I quickly settled with Linux Mint between Ubuntu and Linux Mint. It was evident from all the blogs I read from that Linux Mint was a bit faster than Ubuntu on devices with the similar specifications.

I watched several videos to acquaint myself with knowledge of dual booting Windows OS alongside Linux Mint OS. The use of linux mint opened up a world of possibilities and I settled with choosing to code. The big question of where to begin and what language to begin with arose. I started first of all by taking courses on familiarizing myself with the linux Command Line Interface(CLI). The creating of files, folders, deleting of files, copying of files and moving of files with commands felt like magic to me at first. I was honestly enthralled with this new possibility and decided to dig deeper.

A picture of a terminal

Bootcamps offer ways to learn to code. There are other platforms like freecodecamp that are donor-supported and they have self-paced courses in:

  • Front-end development

  • Back-end development

  • Database

  • Datascience

  • Machine Learning

I started with the first course and took introductory courses in HTML, CSS and Javascript.
I gave up along the way to focus on my final year project which was to be done using Machine Learning(ML).
That is a topic for another day,sigh.

Twitter remains one of the best things to have ever happened to me. I found a link blacks in tech foundation where donors have either paid in full or partial for courses on Coursera, Udemy and other platforms to be accessed freely by all most especially by underprivileged black communities. I took on a software developer course from Meta through Coursera in both front-end development and back-end development.I took courses in the following stacks:

  • HTML

  • CSS

  • Programming in Javascript

  • React

  • Advanced React

  • Principles of UI/UX

  • Git

...and back-end development stacks in:

  • Programming in Python

  • Django Web Framework

  • APIs

  • MySQL Database
    The curriculum took me through an entire stack to become a full stack software developer.
    Project oriented courses and I took about 8 months to complete the entire stack and all projects.
    This is a link to my portfolio website kdwebdeveloper

Snapshot of my portfolio page

My certifications

This is my third year in tech and I am proud to have had the chance, desire and attitude to persevere through it all.Glory to God Almighty.
This is a link to my github.
Follow me on twitter

Top comments (0)