DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v17

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

An animated penguin shyly waves hello

Leave a comment below to introduce yourself to the community!✌️

Welcome!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

  3. Or answer this question: what office snacks would you recommend?

Top comments (453)

Collapse
 
oaleeapp profile image
Victor Lee

Hello everyone,

I'm Victor, an iOS developer from Taiwan, currently working in HK, just want to know more developers all over the world and seems here is the right place to come.

hmmm, just want to say~

hello world!

Cheers,
Victor, Lee Chung Yun

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

The hello world never gets old! haha, welcome to dev.to mate

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Great to see you here Victor 👋

May I ask how you found out about dev.to?

Collapse
 
oaleeapp profile image
Victor Lee

I just searched dev note taking, and the second result is here, ha

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Thanks mate 🕺

Collapse
 
wlaboy profile image
Wilson Laboy

Nice hello world!

Collapse
 
constantince profile image
constantince

Nice to meet you. I love Taiwan very much and hope to have a trip there. By the way, May I know your which city is your hometown?

Collapse
 
oaleeapp profile image
Victor Lee

I’m from Taipei, but currently working in HK though, but welcome to ping me if you want to ask something about Taiwan or Taipei 😀

Thread Thread
 
constantince profile image
constantince

Sure I will and I should say that Taipei is a modern city and I like your Mayor. ;).

Collapse
 
shinyuy profile image
Shinyuy Marcel

hello world guys!

Collapse
 
realky711 profile image
realky711

Hey

Collapse
 
mrufflesmcghie profile image
m-rufflesmcghie

Hey,
I'm Matt a Microsoft Server Engineer (mainly network admin) came here as just starting to learn development.
Not sure where to start have a few projects of my own I want to complete hoping people may be able to help offer advice.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Welcome to dev.to Matt.

Mind if I ask what make you interest in development?
(_ e.g.)I've seen some who used PowerShell moving to C#_)

Collapse
 
timea profile image
Timea Kiss

Hello everyone!

This is Timi, 30 years old full stack dev girl, working remotely, travelling, living in Spain for a year and a half, but in NYC for 2 months right now. I love building, creating solutions, making life easier with good products.

A lovely article brought me here from my dailynow.co/ chrome extension, which hit a chord with me as I feel I am at a similar stage. dev.to/msarit/web-dev-tutorials-ta...

Besides development, I have a huge interest in architecture (in the brick and mortar way), sustainable development and smart cities. I want to create some mini projects in these fields to create a portfolio and get some insight in these fields.

I am interested to see what can come out of meeting all of you!

Yours truly,
Timi

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Welcome Timi! I'm honored that my article was your doorway into Dev.to 🤗🤗

Which stacks/tech do you work with professionally?

Collapse
 
timea profile image
Timea Kiss

Heey :)

I am glad too! :)

I work with react, react native, mobile and frontend stuff, and starting out with php more recently.

I can see you are doing rails. What is your purpose with being a developer?

Thread Thread
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

Hi Timi,

I've freelanced in Wordpress for a few years. I decided to learn to code back in February. As a freelancer, my passion is providing efficiency and workflow solutions to small biz and nonprofits, so I'd like to continue in that vein as a developer 😁

Thread Thread
 
timea profile image
Timea Kiss

Sounds great, best of luck with it! ;)

Collapse
 
webdev0611 profile image
MingLee

Hi Everyone!

I am a Web developer who loves coding.
I am the newbie here and hope to learn and share new things in programming.

Please feel free to message me. I'd love to hear from you. :)

Cheers,
Ming Lee

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Hi Ming,

I'm new here, good to see I'm in good company. What sort of coding are you into? How are you learning these days?

Best,

John

Collapse
 
webdev0611 profile image
MingLee

Hi John,

I am sorry to very late response. I was busy so never checked this community. So I missed your message.

I am a full stack Javascript developer, and I joined this community to learn new things. :)

ReactJS and NodeJS are my main stack to build web application out.

Feel free to message me if any question.

Thanks,
Ming

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Hi everyone!

My name is John, I first became interested in software development in school. I was lucky enough to have a great teacher shout out Professor Phillips (Modesto Junior College).

That was a few years ago, I started working in IT, and was able to do some cool development projects and learn on the job. Mostly doing SQL reporting, and some email automation, with some Front End thrown in the mix. After a few years, someone suggested I learn Web Dev and I loved it. So I started learning on my own through MOOCs and tutorials, and I have been steadily working on improving my skills.

Over the last two years I have taken a few freelance clients and now work on the website and blog site at an IT firm.

I have been mostly working on my own and looking to work with a team on a product in the near future, I like JavaScript, React, Node, and Express, but I also like learning other languages and frameworks.

Visit my portfolio jbull.co
Twitter me @jbull328
And link me into linkedin.com/in/jbull328

I'm looking forward to chatting with you all!

John

Collapse
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Welcome to dev.to, John 👋

Great to see you around.
Let's learn from each other.

I can't seem to connect to jbull.co btw 🤔...

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Hello,

Great to meet you!

Should be jbull.co maybe jbull.co if that doesn't work.

Thread Thread
 
dance2die profile image
Sung M. Kim

Thanks John for the links.

I was able to
jbull.co/: works on Chrome
jbull.co/: doesn't load on FF & Chrome...

Might be due to a VPN I am using.

Thread Thread
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Yeah, it definitely could be some VPN issues or errors with the way I have my Cloudflare SSL and DNS setup, that is all a little new to me. Glad the first works though.

Collapse
 
t0nyandre profile image
Tony André Haugen

Hi there everyone! :) I'm Tony; a developer from Norway that are just getting into blogging about coding, development and what I am doing as a full stack developer at Sorentio. What I want to do in the future is to get a remote job and keep on evolving as a developer while still having time for my family and crossfit which the flexibility of a remote job will provide me.

I love working in the back-end with databases, apis and the logic that the user don't see while interacting with a piece of software or a website. Clean and testable code is also important to me. Why do it halfway when you can do it proper the first time around? :)

And by no means am I an expert in the field but I'm a firm believer that teaching others will excel my own learning and that's why I am diving slowly into writing articles and blogging about my work/progress :)

Thanks guys :D

Collapse
 
oletreichel profile image
Ole Treichel

Hi everyone,

Frontend noob from Hamburg, Germany here. Learning React now after ~ 2 years of jQuery. I was amazed by the number of articles here, even for a relatively specific topic like next.js. Came here from hackernews.

Looking forward to not only learn but contribute here with some posts. Almost everything I learned in frontend development came from blogs and posts like here.

Thank you,
Ole.

Collapse
 
daslaf profile image
Osman Cea

Hey cytel, I'm new here as well. Hope we a have a pleasant time here in dev.to

Collapse
 
dianasperanda profile image
Diana Speranda

Greetings!

My name is Diana, a senior student at the University of Zagreb studying Computer Science. I follow dev.to community for over a year already. It has been a really great source for me to expand my knowledge.
I look forward to meeting people from all over the world and maybe I get a chance for a student internship in some cool company. Also, I would like to write a few posts.

Collapse
 
harleybl profile image
harleybl

Hello All,

I'm Harley and have been developing software professionally for about 20 years in Media, Internet, Video Game, and Financial companies. I've been following the Practical Dev and Dev.to on twitter but hadn't visited the site before. I was listening to the Software Engineering daily podcast today and was interested by Ben's description of the site and community, so I decided to check it out. I am always looking for ways to increase my personal and my team's productivity and am looking forward to using this as a resource and can hopefully contribute as well.

Collapse
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Hi Harleybl,

Greetings from one SWE Daily listener to another. With your many years of experience, how have things changed over the years? I probably have seen some and first started learning when Jquery was just starting to fall out of favor. But you have probably seen a lot. Any tips for keeping current?

Cheer!
John

Collapse
 
harleybl profile image
harleybl

John,

How have things changed... Lots and at the same time not so much. That isn't really a helpful answer. When I started was basically right after the PC revolution and just before the internet 1.0 really took off. Development had shifted from large mainframe development to taking advantage of PC's power, so there was a big emphasis on 2 tier type solutions. With the internet bubble things shifted from 2 tier and fat clients to 3 tier and web clients/thin clients. Following that was an emphasis on doing Service Oriented Architectures which are kind of the pre-cursor to today's cloud computing distributed/micro-service architectures. Its kind of funny because it feels like the pendulum is swinging back towards fat clients first with the rise of Javascript frameworks, mobile applications, and extrapolating that to things like web assembly and edge computing. Well maybe not fat clients in the traditional sense but moving computation closer to the user or device and away from the services.

As far as keeping current I think you are probably already on the right track by listening to SWE Daily and being a part of communities like this one. Apart from that in my professional life I look for opportunities to incorporate new technology and try new things while still accomplishing the goals of the business. If that doesn't fill your appetite I recommend having a side project to work on that allows for more green-field development and experimentation.

In general you have to figure out what are the things that really interest you and stay current on those at a deep level, while having an idea of what else is going on in the industry at a higher level of abstraction. I feel that will keep you flexible enough to be able to solve a wide variety of problems.

In your specific case of JQuery I wouldn't worry too much as I am sure there is still a lot of JQuery out there to be worked on. Some industries are still running Fortran code written in the 70s and 80s. Do I want to work on those systems... well no. My advice here is simple. Don't get good at the things you don't want to do. It's like every time someone gives me a Perl endorsement on LinkedIn I wish they wouldn't have. (Perl is fine if that is what you want to do, I just don't personally enjoy developing in that environment, but then again I haven't used it since the late 90's).

With so many new frameworks and methods popping up every day the hard part is figuring out which ones are worth learning and which don't have a good life span. So I basically take a wait and see attitude while new technologies gather some critical mass before I jump in.

Hopefully this helps.

-Harley

Thread Thread
 
jbull328 profile image
John Bull

Thanks for all the great details! So many gems of truth here.

Collapse
 
peeyushtm profile image
Peeyush Raj • Edited

Hello [x for x in ['Dev.to', 'World', 'Everyone']]

I am Peeyush, the podcast interview - SE Daily interview with Ben Halpern - brought me here.

I have been a tech-founder for 4 startups since graduation (2009) - 1 failed (no market - flares.in), 2 (acquired - codescape.in, teramatrix.in), 1 (going on - getveris.in).

Office snacks I would recommend - chewy nature valley bars.

Collapse
 
mmonfils profile image
mmonfils

Very cool Peeyush, I also listened to that episode - SE Daily is great!

Collapse
 
dorothydotfiles profile image
Dorothy Dotfiles

Hi I'm Dorothy,

I wouldn't call myself a dev. I'm not looking for work in the tech industry. I'm just a keen hobbyist. Started learning Haskell today and I write a blog entitled "Grandma Runs Arch Linux".

Collapse
 
archeia profile image
Archeia

Hello! I'm Archeia (sorry for pseudonym) and I'm just a beginner to programming.

I have a passion to create a desktop mascot that helps cure loneliness even by just a bit. I like reading articles and I hope to learn a lot of things from you all!

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

It's a nice name, doesn't matter if it's pseudo.

Collapse
 
alwinao profile image
Alwina Oyewoleturner

Hello All, Glad to be here! I'm learning to program with Flatiron School via their online program. I've attended Codeland twice, where I heard Ben Halpern speak. I also attended Write/Speak/Code where I heard Jess Lee speak. So Dev.to has definitely been on my radar for a while. Looking forward to learning and sharing in the community.

Collapse
 
carvaq profile image
Carla Vaquero

Hey guys!

I'm an android developer from Switzerland!
I've fallen slowly but surely in love with Kotlin, although I still heavily use Java.
As a kinda zobby I collect good developer jokes. So if you have any to spare please send them my way.
One of my favourites is: Yo mamma is so big she has multidex enabled.

Collapse
 
coderlog profile image
Xavier • Edited

Hello everyone!

I'm Xavier, currently trying to change my professional life learning to code.
I hope to stay here for a while, learning from all and sharing my journey.

I have tried some popular learning platforms: codecademy, treehouse, freecodecamp, udemy…

Text editor based learning sites give me the feeling of making progress, with quick wins challenges, but after a couple of weeks, I feel like I can`t remember almost anyhthing…

Video based learning is too boring for me, too slow.

Time goes on and on, and I haven't build almost anything on my own (except a dozen of WordPress sites).

But...I am confident I will get it at some point.

This time my approach will be different. Just building things, learning 'just in time' and joining some community like Dev.to.

By the way I hope to be hired remotely and/or find a cofounder for a side project.

Sorry for lenght, that is almost a post!

Xavier

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.