DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v20

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

Scooby Doo cuts through a layer of fog with a knife, and smiles satisfingly.

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment and say hello or ask them a question. 👋

  3. Or answer this question: What's your favorite tool to use and why?

Top comments (97)

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

Hi y'all - I'm a lurker who decided to de-lurk this week and post some stuff I've written. I've been self-learning completely in isolation and felt it was time to start interacting more with people who know more than I do. First step Dev.to, next step meetups!

I'm learning to code via Rust and TypeScript, and my absolute favorite tool I've found lately is yarn-upgrade-all - to think I was doing that by hand! Tsk tsk.

Collapse
 
bhaibel profile image
Betsy Haibel

Rust is a pretty hardcore first language! I've been learning it on and off for a year and it's only now that I'm starting to feel like I'm getting the hang of it. Then again, I think that learning it as an experienced dev might be harder in some ways -- I kept on wanting field ownership to work like attribute ownership in Ruby, and oh boy does it not.

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy • Edited

I think you hit the nail on the head - it's a function of what you're familiar with. I disagree with the notion that Rust is inherently more difficult to learn than anything else - it just pushes the complexity up front instead of just letting you write something broken anyway and having to deal with it yourself. You need to learn to do it "right" before you can do it at all, but get over the hump once and you're good to go. I think it's easier to use because you have this fantastic compiler showing you what you're doing wrong. There's much less trepidation around trying something outside your comfort zone because you know rustc has your back. I'm now surprised when other languages let me do things I know rustc would have a problem with and it's a pretty good indicator I might (but not necessarily) need to rethink my implementation.

Collapse
 
kvie profile image
Karyme Virginia

Welcome, Ben! It's great to have you in the community. :) I can understand how lonely self-learning can be. I'm part of a bootcamp — Flatiron School — and I've at times been very conflicted. I'd say one of the top reasons I'm a part of it is simply the community I get to interact with.

I've heard so many cool things about Rust! Is that the first language you've been learning?

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

Thanks Karyme! I've thought about bootcamps many times before - what holds me back is the time commitment. I hold a non-tech 9-5 job and can't quite swing several months of no income. Lunch breaks and evenings for now will have to do. I take if you've found it worthwhile?

It's not the first language I tried (that was actually Ruby, in high school), but it's the first one I've built anything significant with so I'm considering it my "first" language. It rekindled my enthusiasm for the craft after years of waffling - I can't recommend it enough! The only issue is that now it's difficult to tear myself away - it's appropriate in a wide range of domains and it's hard to shake off the "well, I COULD be doing this in Rust!" feeling.

Collapse
 
lotusgirl69 profile image
Candice

Hi Karyme,
You should check out WomenWhoCodeDC. We’re group of women who get together to code and network. There are even free classes and we’re on Slack. We even have a Python Beginners course on Wednesday.

Candice

Collapse
 
lotusgirl69 profile image
Candice

Hi, how do you like Typescript? I was thinking of learning it. I want to be a frontend developer.

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

Hi Candice! I love it - static, strongly-typed languages are my comfort zone, and TypeScript lets me feel more confident about writing correct JavaScript. If you're new to types, though, the general consensus is to learn JavaScript first and add types later.

I asked this question here last week, there was a good discussion:

dev.to/deciduously/typescript-befo...

Collapse
 
bhaibel profile image
Betsy Haibel

Hey folks! Long time lurker who just joined. I'm a full-stack web developer who's been developing professionally for about a decade, and who made anime and fan fiction sites for funsies for about [a faintly embarrassing] number of years before that.

Nowadays I work mostly in Rails, Node, Vue, and React. My favorite kind of front-end, though, is still an old-school server-rendered one. You can do so much with just CSS and PJAX! And new awesome things are being added to CSS every day! (I learned about w3.org/TR/css-multicol-1/ last night and I'm still starry-eyed.)

Right now I'm also learning Rust for funsies. It's really different working in a compiled language but I'm having a lot of fun with it.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
wangonya profile image
Kelvin Wangonya

Welcome to the community Melvin :) Happy to see someone else from home here ;)

Collapse
 
melvin1atieno profile image
Melvin1Atieno

Hi Kinyanjui!! Thank you :). Same here

Collapse
 
emdohh profile image
Meag Doherty

Hi everyone, my name is Meag Doherty and I'm a user experience designer working with the U.S. federal government. This place looks interesting and more welcoming than other dev boards. Currently, thinking about diversity and inclusion, promoting safe spaces in tech, improving the designer <> dev handoff, and graph databases for user research.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome, really exciting topics. Can’t wait to hear what you have to say.

Collapse
 
cfecherolle profile image
Cécile Fécherolle • Edited

Hi guys! Cécile here, French web developer, usually working somewhere between the front-end (JavaScript) and back-end (Java 8) of a stack, it really depends.
I'm looking forward to joining this awesome community. I was more of a lurker when it comes to dev.to (following on Twitter, reading and so on) but today I decided to actually sign up and be there!

In the future, I would love to write a short article about a tool or some experience I want to share. It could help me get started because I feel like I'm being a little bit too silent and might have things to share here, even though I am no expert. Let's find out. :)

I was driven here by the global mood which seems very benevolent, and that can be quite rare in our work field. I hope I won't be disappointed!

Collapse
 
w01fs profile image
Siddharth

I stumbled upon here today and was hooked with the quality and quantity of dev content. I have been part of many other dev communities and hence feel right at home here too.

I am a CS undergrad right now working my way through the principles and methods of Machine Learning and AI in general. Since I have been very interested in Games as a child, working with computers and other technologies makes me relive my childhood dream.

Hoping to meet other people interested in similar works and fields.

Happy to meet and help everyone.

Cheers,
Siddharth

Collapse
 
dariyalopukhina profile image
Dariya Lopukhina

Hi All, my name is Dariya, I'm from Ukraine and I work for software company Anadea. This place looks like a cool and friendly dev community where I can share my thoughts and learn from others. I'm excited to become a part of it!

Wishing everyone a great week ahead!

Collapse
 
anarafaelaferro profile image
Rafaela Ferro

Hello, everyone! My name is Rafaela Ferro, I'm a designer and frontend developer at Deemaze Software (a company in Portugal). I'm currently trying to shift from design+dev to fulltime dev.
And one of my coworkers showed me dev.to because I usually search for content on Medium, but this seems way more focused! :D I'm really excited to start exploring the platform.

Collapse
 
adipginting profile image
Adi Primanda Ginting

Hi, I am Adi from Indonesia. I am new :). I like everything about programming but sometimes trapped in the euphoria of learning. I like programming languages that are c-like.

Looking forward to learn about cool things here :)

Collapse
 
thomaswdmelville profile image
Thomas Melville

Hi all,

The name's Thomas Melville hailing from Ireland and working for the big corporate Ericsson.

I'm also a lurker who finally posted this week. Dev.to is a great community and resource, I plan on posting more stuff as I learn more. You know what they say, "everyday is a school day!" (That's also one of my teams values)

As well as the technical side of our job I'm interested in the human side and enjoy reading psychology books. One of my favourites is "Mistakes were made, but not by me"

Collapse
 
remjx profile image
Mark Jackson

Hi Dev --

This site/community looks awesome. I just graduated a coding boot camp and am trying to transition my career to a software development one. I'm currently playing with the Twitter API & learning to create twitter bots. I have so many ideas and SO much to learn, a long way to go, and look forward to the journey with all of you to make the world a better place through useful & awesome applications :)

Collapse
 
kudapara profile image
Kudakwashe Paradzayi

Hi everyone 👋🏽.

My name is Kuda and I am typing this all the way from Africa, Zimbabwe to be precise. I love designing and coding beautiful and functional systems. My love for learning has led me to this platform, I hope to have fun with ya'll.

Psst, I also tweet stuff about code 👉🏽 @kudapara

Collapse
 
passar profile image
Andreas Sandskär

I'm stuck in coding again and I try to make the best of it. I'm learning angularjs and allot more. There is no end to the learning.
My favorite tool right now is spacemacs and i run it in emacsmode most of the time, I think evilmode seems like a good idea eventually. I found the daily coding challenge here and got stuck.

Collapse
 
stormblade97 profile image
Thanh Nguyen

Hi everyone! I'm Thanh from the distant northern land of Finland. I'm new to Dev.to but I think the content and the interaction and the community here is very nice, so why not try. Like other members below, I've also been learning in isolation and I'd like to shake things up and be part of a bigger game, part of a bigger community.

Most of what I do in the day-to-day work is implementing front ends with React and take part in fierce business debates against other 'official designers'. I'm fairly okay with CSS and I really like creative coding to see what new layouts, interactions, and animation can be brought to the web and shake things up.

I'm learning more about new CSS features and tricks every day. Also, I'm learning to solve challenging algorithmic problems using Ruby while also navigating the confusing back-end (and cloud scaling) technologies: AWS lambdas, containers & kubernetes, etc.

Collapse
 
pjrynewicz profile image
PrescottJRynewicz • Edited

Hello!

My name is Prescott! From Los Angeles, CA. I am a java developer for Skunk Works, creating analysis tools for Fighter Jets, and a web developer/musician in my free time.

Came across this site while reading some dev articles, and appreciated the work the development team put into this site, so I thought I'd join.

I also strongly appreciate the mark down capability

So much better for getPoint().submitToCommunity()

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.