DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v24

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

Pikachu (?) turns around and smiles :)

Leave a comment below to introduce yourself to the community!✌️

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment and say hello or ask them a question. 👋

  3. Or answer this question: what do you enjoy most about programming?

Top comments (274)

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola a todos. Escribo en español con la esperanza de encontrar más desarrolladores hispanos con los que pueda compartir conocimientos por este medio.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hola Daniel. Primer cosa, español no es mi primer idioma... lo siento si digo algo mal. Pero, quiero aprender a hablar (y escribir) mejor porque acabo de regresar de Costa Rica y quiero moverme alli. De todos modos, nada más que decir, bienvenido a DEV. :-)

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola Michael.
Descuida. Se entiende perfecto y claro.
Costa Rica es un hermoso país. Yo estoy cerca (Panamá). Gracias por la bienvenida.
La verdad se está será una comunidad hispana muy acogedora.
Saludos 👋🏻

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Gracias, Daniel!

Y, estoy de acuerdo en que Costa Rica es muy hermosa. Debo admitir que tuve que usar la ayuda de Google para la última oración. :-)

Estoy pensando en mudarme a Puerto Viejo con mi esposa... muy cerca Panamá. Entonces, tal vez seamos vecinos. :-P

Saludos!

Thread Thread
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Excelente
En todo caso Bienvenido a Centroamérica:)

Collapse
 
gabypentin profile image
Gabriela Amundarain

Hey, con respecto a lo de traducir artículos, está muy buena la herramienta de DeepL, realmente es muy precisa (muchísimo más que GTranslate) y su uso no comercial es gratuito :)

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola Gabriela.
No la conocía. La acabo de probar y de verdad que tiene mejores resultados que Google Translate. Gracias👍🏻

Collapse
 
lechediaz profile image
lechediaz

Yo pensaba que la página era de puros gringos jajajaja. Que bueno saber que si hay una buena cantidad de hispanohablantes.

Saludos desde Colombia.

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Saludos lechediaz!

Collapse
 
cristalt profile image
Marcelo Forclaz

Hola Daniel, soy de Argentina. Un gusto conocerte.

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola Marcelo! El gusto es mío.

Collapse
 
sergiodxa profile image
Sergio Daniel Xalambrí

Hola 👋

Argentino 🇦🇷 viviendo en Perú 🇵🇪 por acá.

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Saludos Sergio.
Ecuatoriano 🇪🇨 viviendo en Panamá 🇵🇦
Parece que si hay quorum de hispanos :)

Thread Thread
 
sergiodxa profile image
Sergio Daniel Xalambrí

Somos muchos, en todas partes, pero se habla principalmente inglés acá, aunque hay varios artículos en español, no estoy seguro cual es la postura de DEV sobre el contenido en otros idiomas.

Thread Thread
 
sergiodxa profile image
Sergio Daniel Xalambrí • Edited

It could be interesting to know actually, @ben is there any problem to write content in another language aside of English? eg. Spanish. I saw a few in the past but I'm not sure what's the official position from the admins, I have a lot of tutorials in Spanish I would like to cross-post here :)

Thread Thread
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Pues sería muy beneficioso para aquellos que no dominan el idioma. Una buena forma de democratizar la información.

Collapse
 
jafetbntz profile image
Jafet Benítez

¡Hola a todos! Saludos desde República Dominicana.

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola Jafet. Bienvenido!

Collapse
 
nirmala12345 profile image
nirmala12345

hello

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Saludos!

Collapse
 
edsphinx profile image
edsphinx

Hola soy de Honduras, y acabo de unirme, soy desarrollador Android y actualmente involucrando en el desarrollo en Ethereum.

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola.
Bienvenido a la comunidad. 👋🏻

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Yo también soy desarrollador hispano aunque ando encubierto en este sitio e_e ;)

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Excelente camarada.
Quizás la iniciativa y el contenido que podamos aportar sea el catalizador del surgimiento de una comunidad nueva en este sitio 🙌🏻

Thread Thread
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

De hecho había estado compartiendo lo que aprendo por acá con unos compañeros pero me parece interesante la idea de motivar la creación de una sub comunidad para otros colegas latinos.

Thread Thread
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Claro que sí.
Creo que sería un buen aporte. Sobre todo para aquellas personas hispanas que no dominan o dominan parcialmente el inglés.
Inclusive aparte de los aportes personales creo que sería interesante traducir post de interes al español.

Thread Thread
 
luisf11 profile image
Luis F. Peña

Hola estoy totalmente de acuerdo seria interesante asi muchos que no dominan el ingles se motivarian a unirse.

Thread Thread
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Claro que si. Empezaré posteando algunos temas esperando sean de su interés. 👍🏻

¿Qué temáticas sugieren?

Thread Thread
 
luisf11 profile image
Luis F. Peña

particularmente temas de herramientas o tecnologias por que asi se puede ser un poco mas agnostico y no enfocarse en un lenguaje. Si necesitas ayuda con algun tema estoy disponible.

Collapse
 
danielrvt profile image
Daniel Rodriguez del Villar Trimarchi

Hola Daniel! Cómo estás? Otro hispano por acá! Cuando quieras conversar sobre JS o React, solo avísame ;)

Gusto en conocerte

Collapse
 
danielveraec profile image
Daniel Vera

Hola tocayo. Claro que si.
Será muy interesante compartir conocimientos.
Saludos

Collapse
 
eungam profile image
eungam

Hi everyone! I'm Eline, 24 from Paris, France! I want to make a change in my life/career and learn web development. I'm following CS50 on edx and freecodecamp for now :) Excited to meet you all, and if you're a beginner come talk to me! :D

Collapse
 
frankli80402539 profile image
Frankline

Hi Eline,am a beginner interested in Web development.Currently am into JavaScript ,HTML CSS .I'll be glad to hear from you

Collapse
 
anitabenites201 profile image
Ana Maria Benites Ro

hi there!! so cool you are doing freecodecamp and CS50, I have done both and enjoyed it :)

Collapse
 
ciri3dg profile image
Da2@ciri3dg

Use it or lose it. I'm an aged analyst involved in system Integration. I just would like to throw in my 'two cents worth' of insights.

For example, most beginners are 'gungho' to get started without knowing the 'terrain' they're in. There's FRONT-END, BACK-END and FULL-STACK DEVELOPMENT. Do they even know and understand those terms?

The popular issue is what language to get into without knowing the necessary skill sets to thrive... CONTROL STRUCTURES - CONSTRUCTS and DATA STRUCTURES - DATASTRUCTS are fundamental concepts...

Good luck 😨

Collapse
 
keyr00t profile image
Paul J. Haddick • Edited

This resonated for me. In all things a fundamental approach will always be the most sound. I'm well more an 'imposter' than Ms. Ashley Petitpas, but also I'm an engineering graduate M.S. Industrial Engr, with limited experiences in software development. Always have considered doing some deep dives as certain problems I'm interested in can likely be solved via politically astute application to software development, especially in machine learning and especially of the reinforcement type. But I well realize that a fundamental understanding of certain computer science topics is essential as is having a structured, rational approach to apply for every development project.

Can you suggest any thing else I should incorporate in my approach Da2@ciri3dg ?

My next trick is to perhaps take a SAS cert course for various reasons. BTW. Also thinking the MSFT Jr. Dev cert course will be helpful given the approach I've seen in the TOC.

Collapse
 
keyr00t profile image
Paul J. Haddick

This is my first "hello" post to the community since just setting up here minutes ago.

Thank you.

Collapse
 
frankli80402539 profile image
Frankline

Am interested in web and ain't sure whether am into frontend,vbackend or full stack,kindly advice please

Collapse
 
ciri3dg profile image
Da2@ciri3dg

Front-end would be a an easier way to start.

Thread Thread
 
frankli80402539 profile image
Frankline

Thanks,and how will I go about it?

Thread Thread
 
ciri3dg profile image
Da2@ciri3dg

If you still don't know html & css, start with these MARKUP languages. Then pick a language php or python.

You also need to read on control & data structures (constructs & datastructs) to be able to program.

Hasta Mañana

Collapse
 
thedevbc profile image
Ben Mulford

Hi! I’m fairly new to programming. It was a hobby for a long time, and in 2018 i decided to make it my career. I love problem solving and finding ways to automate repetitive and/or tedious tasks. It’s also neat to build something useful and see people enjoy using something I helped create. Happy to be a part of this community and hope to contribute.

Collapse
 
dirkstrauss profile image
Dirk Strauss

Hey Ben! This is excellent. I am also a big fan of automating stuff. Microsoft Flow is my current go to automation tool :-)

Collapse
 
thedevbc profile image
Ben Mulford

I’ll have to check out flow! Thanks!

Collapse
 
lautarocastillo profile image
Lautaro C

Hi guys! I’m Lautaro, Argentine currently living in São Paulo, Brazil.
I came here because of the 2018 rails conf. I got super curious about the site, and it’s true... it’s FAST.
I’m a Ruby in Rails developer working on a super ambitious project and I’m mainly here because I would like to learn more about “scaling” and “performance” (the dark side of rails).
Cheers!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Hey hey :) Welcome to dev.to! I really enjoy being able to solve problems with pretty much unlimited attempts. There's a lot of fun in being able to sandbox and experiment all different ways of figuring out a solution.

Collapse
 
speedoholic profile image
Kushal Ashok

Hey Everyone,

I am an iOS Developer from India, currently working in China. I have a keen interest in Swift and have recently started exploring React-Native. I enjoy solving problems and programming gives me various opportunities to solve technical problems. I am looking forward to learn from and share with this community.

Regards
Kushal Ashok

Collapse
 
bwaffles1 profile image
Thana Annis

Hey, my name's Thana and I've been programming for 5 years now. I'm employed working on a Web Forms application and I'm a full stack developer. It's an old technology and wasn't written in a very maintainable way so I love getting to introduce new design patterns and concepts to the team, as well as refactor old sections of the code. In my spare time I try to work with MVC and WPF to get my feet wet in other frameworks.

Most days I absolutely love programming. There's nothing better than the rush you feel when you track down the exact line causing a bug, or when your code runs on the first try. It's never ever the same and you're free to be creative and try new things. It's an always evolving field where you write something you feel is "perfect", then look back on it a year from now with more experienced eyes and can find a way to improve it.

I kept getting suggestions to come read posts from this site and after reading enough that I enjoyed I figured it was time to join up.

Collapse
 
chuksjoe profile image
Chukwunonso Orjiakor

Hey fellas, am Chukwunonso, Chuks for short. Am a computer science graduate based in Lagos, Nigeria. I'm an upcoming Full Stack web developer, but focusing on the front-end for now. I am strengthening my knowledge on JavaScript and hoping to get into React.js and some other framework soon.

I believe this platform is a good source of resources for progress in my career path, and I wish to utilize it to the fullest.

Collapse
 
coolpydev profile image
vinayak iyer

Hi everyone,

I'm Vinayak a freelancing student current overwhelmed by lot of new technologies and of course ever rising price of college books😑😑😂😂. I'm looking for someone to guide to the world of contribution's to Open Source. P.S DM me if you are interested.
Happy coding

Collapse
 
sharonrieger profile image
Sharon Rieger

Hello to everyone here at DEV. I love programming because I like problem solving and being creative. It can be frustrating at times but I do believe it is teaching me confidence and patience. I can apply these lessons to life too!

Collapse
 
meenakshi052003 profile image
Meenakshi Agarwal

Hello to everyone in the community!!
I'm Meenakshi Agarwal, have extensive experience in Software Programming and Testing. I create applications, write blogs on Python, Java, Selenium, C, C++, CSharp, Angular, PHP, JavaScript, Agile, Manual and Automation Testing concepts.
I wish you all make a spectacular and thriving career in the upcoming New year 2019!!!

Collapse
 
konstantiuae profile image
konstantiuae

Hello,
Konstant Infosolutions is a web and mobile app development firm that carries over a decade of experience with UAE as one of its core service regions. With mobile solutions as its competency, the firm also deals in cloud solutions, IoT development, and offshore staffing.

Collapse
 
franjorub profile image
Francisco Rubial • Edited

Hi all. I am currently a student in computer engineering, likewise I am learning to specialize in javascript technologies, being even more specific, in react and node. I hope to learn a lot in the community, and if possible, meet people who are starting a path similar to mine, it does not matter if it is in other areas, or also meet people with experience from which to learn to learn a lot.

a greeting from Venezuela!

Collapse
 
fluffy profile image
fluffy

Howdy! I learned about this place from a Slack I hang out on, and it seems like a pretty good place to talk about programming and design and mutual education.

I think my favorite thing about programming is solving problems that get in the way of access to information or the like.

My largest project from the last year is Publ, a web publishing system that's intended to make it easier for people to manage their content and whatnot in a flexible way. I use it to run my own website at beesbuzz.biz/ which is the main thing I wrote it for (hopefully other people want to use it too, someday!). I'm also hugely into IndieWeb principles and want to see the Internet return to a self-published own-your-own-presence world like it was before the various social networks took over (while still retaining the advantages of social networking such as making it easier to follow and discover others).

Collapse
 
wawiboi profile image
Wawiboi

Sounds awesome, welcome!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.