DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v103

Jenny Slate Welcome

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (368)

Collapse
 
hlriffel profile image
Henrique Leonardo Riffel

Hi, guys,

I'm Henrique, a 23 years old Backend Engineer from Blumenau, Brazil who has been developing software for 5 years.

I'm an architecture and backend enthusiast, mostly familiar with Java.

I look forward to keep on learning and keeping up with the changes in the tech world with you guys!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Heyyy 👋 , glad to have you aboard!

Collapse
 
georgeseletski profile image
George Seletski

Hey!👋

Collapse
 
wakedeer profile image
Aleksei Mironov

hey!

Collapse
 
rex_10 profile image
crit3cal

yo

Collapse
 
mareboinaravi profile image
Mareboina Ravi

hai sir

Collapse
 
x_nisou profile image
🪐 𝒏.ℬ

Hey!

Collapse
 
barklegne profile image
Barklegne

Hello Henrique, I just joined the dev.to community! And came here to say Hi and hope we're gonna learn from each other.

Collapse
 
spsnamta profile image
SPS Namta

great...

Collapse
 
souibguimohamed profile image
Mohamed Souibgui

Hi :D 👋

Collapse
 
akissylmez profile image
akisSylmez

hi

Thread Thread
 
zaacwilliam1 profile image
Ogunsipe Oluwaseun Isaac (zaacwilliam)

Hey

Collapse
 
gransalamandra profile image
Juan Primo

bem vindo ao grupo meu amigo.

É tudo meu portugues 😄

Collapse
 
rayhanadev profile image
Ray Arayilakath • Edited
let me = “RayhanADev”;

async function query(website) {
  let info = await fetch(website, {
    method: “POST”,
    headers: { “Content-Type”: “Hai!”},
    body: JSON.stringify(“Gimme Data”)
  }.then(res => res.json())

  return info;
}

function introduce(username) {
  console.log(“Hi, there”);
  console.log(`Name’s ${username}`);
  let data = await query(“https://totallyrealwebsite.lol”);
  console.log(`I’m ${data.age} years old, and live in ${data.country} specifically ${data.city}, ${data.state}.`)
  console.log(‘Also, I know LOLCODE!’)
}

introduce(me);
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Okay in all seriousness, hiya! Name’s Ray I live around Dallas, Texas and am a freshman attending high school! I have an interest in coding, and especially love Frontend but am also experimenting with Backend! Until the next time, peace!

PS: I love Furrets!

Collapse
 
ktenbrook1 profile image
Katelynn M Tenbrook

The places I could've been if I started coding in high school... Keep it up!

Collapse
 
itsnoa04 profile image
Noa

there's not much. no one takes you seriously when your in highschool and loves coding. it's very hard to get anything done with school and coding.

Thread Thread
 
ktenbrook1 profile image
Katelynn M Tenbrook

You just don't see it yet. When you get older and you tell people that you loved coding as a kid they will be impressed. Not to mention the kind of experience you have just from teaching yourself from such a young age.

Thread Thread
 
whippingdot profile image
Sanjaay R.

But I feel like everyone does coding now days(including kids). I used to be happy thinking I was rare but look at repl.it. Most all of us are under 18(other than mods). I do think it is very good learning coding from a young age though(cause I absolutely love it).

Collapse
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx • Edited
import devto
import brain

for i in devto.feed():
  if(i.author.name == "RayhanADev"):
    user = brain.search("RayhanADev")
    i.reply(f"""Hello {user.name}, 
I remember you from {user.platform.mutual()[0]}.
Have Fun with {user.projects[-1]}""")
    i.like()
    i.author.follow()
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Woah, hello RayhanADev... I think I know you from somewhere.... oh yes repl.it.

Can't wait to see what you make on dev.to (I just joined today myself)

Have fun with your repl api package! :D

Collapse
 
chillbits profile image
Chill Bits

LMAO I'm dead when seeing import brain

Collapse
 
kmistele profile image
Kyle Mistele

Hey, a fellow Dallas dev - welcome!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Super creative - ❤️ it!

Collapse
 
ballpointcarrot profile image
Christopher Kruse

Sort of sad that totallyrealwebsite.lol doesn't exist yet...

Welcome! 😁

Collapse
 
whippingdot profile image
Sanjaay R. • Edited

Hoi Rayhan. Long time no talk. Join the org on GitHub. Go here. It seems like the whole repl community is here. I just joined myself.

Collapse
 
whippingdot profile image
Sanjaay R.

Wait a sec this looks wrong, i created the org 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️

Collapse
 
elipie profile image
Eli

Ray! I didn't know you were on dev.to!! Nice to see you here

Collapse
 
whippingdot profile image
Sanjaay R.

Hi, I joined today cause of Coder100's post. The whole repl community seems to be here.

Collapse
 
laurenwallerdesigns profile image
Lauren Waller

Hello!
I am a mom of three little ones. I have been learning Frontend since right after my first child was born. In my spare time, I learn and practice web development as much as I can. I can't wait to get my first real job in Frontend development.

Collapse
 
rahedmir profile image
Mir Rahed Uddin

Welcome, Lauren to the Dev Community. Being a mother is a really tough job. Thumbs up for your courage to learn new things. Hope you and the kids are doing well. Love from India

Collapse
 
babinvas profile image
babinvas

Hello!
That's great that you have so many kids!
I have three kids, too. I have three sons.
I love Java.

Collapse
 
bjrahman profile image
Sulaiman Rahman

Hello, I'm new here. I'm 24, from Nigeria. I just started out learning web development and I'm currently on the front end working with html, Css and javascript. My goal is to become a full-stack developer

Collapse
 
samuelcasey profile image
samuel-casey

Welcome Sulaiman 👋

Collapse
 
wakedeer profile image
Aleksei Mironov

hey!

Collapse
 
husniadil profile image
Husni Adil Makmur

How can you delete all series that you previously created but you don't need them anymore?
My OCD keeps screaming on that badge.

badge

Collapse
 
alexalvess profile image
Alex Alves

Hello guys!
My name is Alex, I'm from Campinas-SP-Brazil. I'm acting with IT for more than 5 years. I hope to learn a lot here and to contribute too. I'm like to write articles about technologies, architecture and C# development specifically. And in out of time, I'm like to see soccer and play it too.

Collapse
 
josealz profile image
JoseAlz

Hola comunidad, entrando al desarrollo web, primeros pasos, html,css, python, js entre otros lenguajes. saludos cordiales! desde Buenos Aires Argentina.
Hello community, entering web development, first steps, html, css, python, js among other languages. best regards! from Buenos Aires Argentina.

Collapse
 
hmboyles profile image
holly boyles

Hi! I am Holly. I have been here for a few days so I guess I should introduce myself. I am currently learning C#. Once my spring semester starts I will be adding Java to the mix. I am a career changer in progress after spending a lot of years in the dental field.

Collapse
 
ktenbrook1 profile image
Katelynn M Tenbrook

Hi guys and gals,
My name is Katelynn Tenbrook and I have a passion for technology and what can be improved with it. I have been developing my coding skills for 2 years now. I'm proud to say that I know ASP. Net, C#, SQL, JavaScript and much more. I am currently developing my skills in the MERN stack and I'm super excited to start writing some articles centered around technology. I hope you drop me a follow :). Fun fact about me, my favorite food is tacos.

Collapse
 
nehamaity profile image
Neha

Hey!

Collapse
 
kmistele profile image
Kyle Mistele

Hi everyone!

I'm Kyle - hacker, software engineer, and most recently, co-founder of a SaaS startup that sends real-time application error notifications to code owners (shameless plug: codelighthouse.io).

I'm a big fan of Python, Node.js, and Golang, but have experience in frontend dev too. I love building with Linux and cloud technologies, especially serverless.

I'm looking forward to learning with y'all and contributing to tech discussions!

Collapse
 
rickonga profile image
Riccardo Ongaro

Hi everyone,

I am Riccardo 30yo from Munich, Germany. I have been professionally working on the business side in few tech startup, this year I have joined Le Wagon bootcamp and I have learned how to code.

In the past months, I have launched my startup project which is targeting the digital talents - people that spend many hours in front of the computer. For this reason I am about to launch a new eyewear brand called ÒCIO eyewear - @ocio.eyewear on Instagram. These glasses are all that you need: (a) high quality eco friendly materials, (b) blue light blocking glasses and (c) have a magnetic sunglass clip-on :)

Looking forward to learn and contribute on interesting tech discussions.

Cheers,
Riccardo

Collapse
 
arviinm profile image
Arvin Medina

Hello guys!

I'm Arvin, a 19 years old student, studying BS in Information Technology at Philippines.

I love learning and mostly passionate when I am highly motivated and productive.
I'm interested in Full-Stack Development, AI, Machine Learning and more. I may not know how, but I am interested learning about it.

With all that said, I am new to this community, I don't know much about it, but I am looking forward to know a lot of people and learn from them too. 😄

Collapse
 
avinesh49 profile image
Avinesh • Edited

Hi all,

I'm Avinesh from India. I have 1 year of experience in IT. Recently I was introduced to someone on LinkedIn and this guy has started a web development course on Youtube. I started following it and I was encouraged to be a part of a community which helps you learn and grow. So here I am. I would be writing a couple of blogs on my understanding of a JavaScript book.

Looking forward to join you all in this journey.

Collapse
 
redbeardjunior profile image
RedbeardJunior

Hi there, I'm Nick - aka RedbeardJunior

I'm a Father and a Developer, I love to learn new thing's im from the Netherlands and 27 years old i'm making software far over 5 years now still learning day by day.

Be save and I wish you all a good health and a happy 2021 !

Collapse
 
shaijut profile image
Shaiju T

Hi Nick, Welcome to Dev Community. Hope this community will help you to learn more day by day 😄.

Have a great day.

Collapse
 
vindiv profile image
Vincenzo Di Vico

hi to all! i'm Vincenzo, i'm 38 and i'm a developer from italy. i work withi php and javascript. i was using Kohana framework becouse my agency asket it to me, now i'm switching in laravel. i read dev articles from month, i love them, so i decide to sign in

Collapse
 
blender profile image
Saloni Goyal

Hi Vincenzo 😃 Welcome to DEV.

Collapse
 
vindiv profile image
Vincenzo Di Vico

thanks :)

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.