DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v106

Hi Hand

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (231)

Collapse
 
kleksowa profile image
kleksowa

Hello :) I have a degree in philosophy and always considered myself rather right-brained, but a few months ago I lost my job (thank you, corona v.)... Making (not so) long story short, for now, I'm totally into web development and UI. I love to learn new things and to make my code work as intended. Life can be very surprising :)
So here I am - a bookworm who loves to draw animals - digging deeper into front-end world, hoping to find a job in IT and meet some nice people.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I'm kind of a bookworm myself also so welcome to the dev club!

Collapse
 
revolversnake412 profile image
RevolverSnake412

Hello

Collapse
 
betosten profile image
betosten

Hi!

Collapse
 
opthyago profile image
OPthyago

Hi!

Collapse
 
oluwabamise1706 profile image
Faith

Hello

Collapse
 
powerplatformp1 profile image
danijel

interesting background story, I am also new myself but so far this place seems awesome. Welcome! :)

Collapse
 
acethedev profile image
charles king

Good luck

Collapse
 
javaddd profile image
Javad

Welcome on board!

Collapse
 
grueny85_ profile image
Torsten Lenk

Hallo

Collapse
 
nbldreams profile image
NBL

πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
dna profile image
Nadhir Dhanu Dwinanda

Hello there! Welcome to dev.to

Collapse
 
rahxuls profile image
Rahul

Yayay. Welcome to #DEVCommunity.

Collapse
 
elya29 profile image
Elya

Welcome ! Team bookworms too :D

Collapse
 
eliasgroll profile image
Elias Groll

Hi I am Elias :) I am on dev.to since some days.
I am a former Google Engineer and want to improve my technical writing as well as keep up to date with new tech.

I write about how I got into Google, what Codesphere (why I left Google) does, tech (highly opinonated lol) and whatever stupid idea comes to my mind :)

Looking forward to get to know you all :)

Collapse
 
tylerben profile image
Ben Tyler

Likewise am hoping to improve my technical writing. Excited to take a look at your writing!

Collapse
 
oluwabamise1706 profile image
Faith

Hello

Collapse
 
itzsrikanth profile image
itzsrikanth

Hello Elias. You have an exciting profile. Will read your posts and come back ;-)

Collapse
 
eliasgroll profile image
Elias Groll

Awesome :) What is div ops?

Thread Thread
 
itzsrikanth profile image
itzsrikanth

I recently came across this term on Twitter, a frontend who manages dev-ops as well :-P

Thread Thread
 
eliasgroll profile image
Elias Groll

Only for frontend like with Netlify/Vercel? Or all dev ops?

Thread Thread
 
itzsrikanth profile image
itzsrikanth

Yeah, mainly for frontend and other overlapping components like MySQL for Wordpress etc.

Thread Thread
 
eliasgroll profile image
Elias Groll

awesome :)

Collapse
 
np558565 profile image
NP558565

Hello I'm Nanji, completely new in Web Development With no background in Web Dev. I am changing from IT support to Front/Backend + UX design field, currently learning HTML, CSS, JavaScript, I have joined to learn from and meet the DEV's to connect with.

Collapse
 
arvindsridharan profile image
arvindsridharan

We both can learn Web development together. I am currently learning HTML , CSS and Php. Let me know which task you will be working on so that I can also try.

Collapse
 
np558565 profile image
NP558565

Hello,
Nice to hear from you, just over a week ago-I have just started an online Web Development boot camp course, am on the HTML+CSS path currently, and enjoying the course. Agree that we should learn together.
Where are you located?
Are you self-Learning Web Dev?

Thread Thread
 
arvindsridharan profile image
arvindsridharan

Yes, I am self learning. Would be great if you can share some notes and exercises you are working on.

Collapse
 
marymeneses profile image
Mary

Hi Nanji, I'm in the same boat as you! I have an IT degree and have worked in IT Support for 2 years but I'm switching to Frontend development! I'm currently making my portfolio website using HTML, CSS, and JavaScript.

Collapse
 
np558565 profile image
NP558565

Hello, Nice to hear from you, I worked in IT support for almost 5 years, last year was made redundant, and decided to switch to Web Dev am currently learning HTML and CSS, do you have a learning / study plan?, also please share as also would like to make my Portfolio website, I googled to search for mentorship and Web Dev boot camp course/s - but to costly, hence I Joined DEV.IO hoping to learn as much as possible.

Thread Thread
 
marymeneses profile image
Mary

I recommend MDN Web Docs for a structured learning plan on Web development. It's sooo useful and it's free! It gives you a basic fundamental understanding of the web and it goes into detail so you can understand everything.
For my portfolio I decided to make it from scratch (without using WordPress, Wix..etc) found these articles helpful:

Tools I used:

  • Adobe XD (for Web design)
  • VS Code (text editor)
  • Git (used Github Pages to host my website)

I believe that you don't need to pay for bootcamps to learn Web Development. All if not most resources are already free available online.
I hope that helps and feel free to ask more questions and i'll try my best to answer.

Thread Thread
 
np558565 profile image
NP558565

Perfect - Many thanks

Collapse
 
sarocoder profile image
bleen

Hey Nanji, I'm also kind of where you are. I'm trying to focus on making some projects that are html, css+ js based.

Collapse
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

Hi I'm codemonkey51, I've been on dev.to for a few weeks. And have made a few posts.

I plan to post more and more often.

I use python a lot, and am trying to improve my web dev.

Collapse
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Hi, welcome to Dev.to πŸ‘

If you plan to improve you're in the right place. Be inspired by the articles you'll browse and read to your endless delight.

Collapse
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx

I'm also planing to try to learn some new concepts I haven't heard about before. Also I have a long reading list :)

Thread Thread
 
bernardbaker profile image
Bernard Baker

Don't rack up too many open tabs.lol

Thread Thread
 
potentialstyx profile image
PotentialStyx • Edited

Ehhh, I can just read one at a time. Not spam tabs lmao

Collapse
 
omarabdelshaheed profile image
OmarAbdElShaheed

HelloπŸ‘‹, My name is omar, I am 12 years, I like programming even though I am just a kid, but I am different, I am way smarter than people in my age, I hope I can work in google one day, my greatest interest is javascript

Collapse
 
kenokayknow profile image
Odioko keno

You gonna make it kid . I am proud of you and welcome on board.

Collapse
 
amous4822 profile image
Albin Joseph

Hi, omar ! Welcome.

Collapse
 
kenokayknow profile image
Odioko keno

Hi everyone,

My story ain’t new. Lost my job during Covid-19. Felt depressed and all. Then I decided to try out something new. Started learning coding first via YouTube, then later I got a tutor. I’m still learning Front-end. I hope to utilize this skill and become a great web developer and tech giant someday.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Welcome! This community is here to help!

Collapse
 
sarocoder profile image
bleen

Oh man, I know how you feel. I'm trying to learn front-end skills too to also get a valueable job soon enough :(

Collapse
 
kenokayknow profile image
Odioko keno

We all gonna make it dear

Collapse
 
fridaycandours profile image
Friday candour

Hello, am Friday Candour, am currently learning javascript, but I also would learn c++ in the future, am trying to dig into advanced ai technology and creativity.

I joined this exceptionally great community to find help and also do contribute,

Am a dedicated person and I love brain storm useful ideas.

It's will be fun and useful being here in the dev world 🌍.

Collapse
 
enigma13 profile image
Enigma

Hello bro same as me
We can be friends

Collapse
 
fridaycandours profile image
Friday candour

Alright

Collapse
 
geronimoolanda profile image
Geronimo Olanda

console.log("Hello Wonderful World");

Collapse
 
dogushankaya profile image
Dogushan Kaya

hello

Collapse
 
rickmancruz9 profile image
Ricardo Cruz

genial!!!

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Super genial.

Collapse
 
iamshruti profile image
Shruti Goyal

Hi!πŸ‘‹
I am Shruti, a newbie, Joined dev community a day ago. I am in 12th standard. I am learning back-end web development(python, ML). I can also do the designing work with HTML, CSS as well as MYSQL database too.

Collapse
 
nbldreams profile image
NBL

Welcome πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
giannellitech profile image
Amanda Giannelli

Hello! I've been a back-end, .NET dev for about 10 years. I'm very interested in learning FE tech to be more full-stack. I'm even considering switching career paths to have a more FE focus. I'm interesting in learning and would like to collaborate with others and get involved with open source projects.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Hi Amanda! Welcome :)

Collapse
 
giannellitech profile image
Amanda Giannelli

Hi Gracie! Thank you :)

Collapse
 
pablotz profile image
Pablo HernΓ‘ndez Castillo

Hi everyone! I recently discover this site and I love the community and the different post. But in was thinking about what I can post or about the topics that I can post. I hope find anything to share with you. 😁

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

What about sharing your personal journey to programming?

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

There's a whole host of topics you can write about. Even if you think you're not "experienced" enough, I'm sure others will find your input on a topic interesting.

Collapse
 
fischermaen profile image
Andy Fischer

Hi, my name is fischermaen and I came here by accident, but I'm thrilled having found a social media just for devs. ;-)

I'm a dev for more than 32 years now and always interested to learn something new to improve myself. So I'm looking forward what I can read, learn and share on this platform.

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Welcome fischermaen!

Collapse
 
arkalex profile image
Alex

Hi everyone! My name is Alex, and i'm from Spain. I'm a front end developer, working with React, and lately i've been overwhelmed by the amount of posibilities out there.

I don't even know what keep trying, or learning, Vue, Nextjs, Svelte ... what should i do next?

Collapse
 
starlexdiax profile image
StarlexDiax

Hello every one;
My name is Mohamed, I am form Egypt, home of great pyramids.
I want to be a full stack web development, now I am learning front-end (HTML,CSS ..then JavaScript) ,I am still a noob, but I hope to get better and learn from all of you, thank you.

Collapse
 
donnyroufs profile image
donny roufs

Awesome! Always great seeing new people in the development world!

Collapse
 
jakeparker0 profile image
Jake Parker

Hi there, I am a Computer Science/Arts student in Australia with about 2 years left on my degree. I am looking to make connections in the industry before I graduate and find internships and work experience. I am currently doing some of my own python projects to improve my programming and problem-solving. I love Basketball and the statistics that go along with it, as well as video games and other computer nerd thing.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.