DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v207

Person in dog suit spray painting "sup" and laying beneath it... think they're going for "sup dog"

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. ๐Ÿ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (179)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Hey folks, great to have you! Please make an effort to visit a post or two you find helpful and add a comment thanking the author.

Collapse
 
joepaulvilsan_7 profile image
joepaulvilsan

Thanks ๐Ÿ™

Collapse
 
ankitmaurya profile image
ANKIT MAURYA

hello

Collapse
 
idsundev profile image
Cef Syarif

Welcome Ben

Collapse
 
betamil profile image
Betamil

Thanks

Collapse
 
stephdae profile image
StephD-ae

Sure, thanks !

Collapse
 
evlfahim profile image
Fahim Bin Lokman

Thanks

Collapse
 
nsharmauk profile image
Nayan Sharma

Hey Ben

Thanks for the welcome :)

Collapse
 
adesina_ini profile image
Inioluwa Adesina

Okay. Thanks a lot ๐Ÿ˜Š

Collapse
 
dkoleev profile image
Dmitry Koleev

Of course! Thanks.

Collapse
 
azeezhamzat profile image
Azeezhamzat

Sure. Thanks!

Collapse
 
pushproductions profile image
PushProd

Sounds good Ben. Thanks.

Collapse
 
sidunn profile image
Si Dunn • Edited

Hello, and thanks for the welcome!

Why am I here...at age 78...dragging along an impressive collection of age-related ailments? Well, my brain still works, and I still enjoy life, learning, and the processes of making things.

Back in the software Dark Ages (the early 1980s), I got jobs writing hardware and software manuals in the telecommunications industry because of my previous work as a photojournalist for newspapers and magazines. I had no clue what I was doing, but I learned by asking questions, reading existing materials, and doing what I could to try to make better documentation. I didn't learn much about actually developing software, however, because I was too busy clarifying gobbledygook and preparing and shipping thick manuals in three-ring binders all over the world.

When I retired from the telecom industry in 2009 (after layoffs at several different companies), I resumed doing photojournalism part-time. But I also realized I missed being in the software world, even though I had never done anything more than interview software engineers, badger them for feedback, and tinker a little bit with BASIC, C, and early Erlang.

Since then, I have been playing around with a lot of different software packages as a hobbyist. I don't call myself a "developer," and no one has ever paid me to write software. I do, however, look at a lot of software books and online classes for beginning and intermediate-level developers. And I go through many of the code examples just to see if I can make them work (or blow them up with bad modifications).

I am here now with no expectations of finding work as a entry-level developer. I am nobody's idea of a programmer. But I do have a sincere desire to get better at the things I am currently able to do (not very well) with a wide range of software languages, tools, test procedures, and so forth. Also, I enjoy helping others, when there's something I can actually help with.

I've always been a reader, a lurker, and a lone wolf, so I've never sought out any software mentors or tried to pose a bunch of questions to busy developers. I learn what I can when I can. And I am already picking up some good tips and information from the posts on DEV.to.

As far as what I am interested in, I'm currently tinkering (just above the "Hello, World!" level) with languages, frameworks, and packages such as Java, JavaScript, Rust, Python, C#, .Net Core, Angular, PostgreSQL, Go, Spring Boot, and one or two others I don't remember at the moment.

What do I expect I will do with what I may glean--and retain--from this digital overload? Nothing much except help keep my brain cells alive and alert as I plunge toward old age. Oh, and some of this software stuff actually is fun, especially since none of it is required to keep a roof over my head and pay my bills.

So, that's me. Hello, world!

Collapse
 
toddbradley profile image
Todd Bradley

Greetings! I just joined this site, and expected to be one of the older members. But you've got me beat by over 20 years!

Collapse
 
sidunn profile image
Si Dunn

Hey, Todd! Nice to meet you, kid! (Okay, semi-bad joke :-) ) I'm not very good at any language, but Python and Java are two of my favorites. Right now, I'm banging my head against Angular 15. But I'll probably get back to Java and Spring Boot next week, before...in my senility...I forget how to start them up again!

Collapse
 
georgechapin44 profile image
George Chapin

What Todd said :-)

Collapse
 
learicist profile image
Michael

What a story! Hello!

Collapse
 
sidunn profile image
Si Dunn

Thanks! I appreciate the "Hello!"

Thread Thread
 
sidunn profile image
Si Dunn

And the "What a story!" comment, too!

Collapse
 
azeezhamzat profile image
Azeezhamzat

You are an inspiration, Si Dunn

Collapse
 
sidunn profile image
Si Dunn

Thank you!

Collapse
 
dinerdas profile image
Diner Das

Welcome everyone!

Collapse
 
jmhupfer profile image
JMHupfer

Thank you!

Collapse
 
julyuly profile image
july02

Hi all. I am currently working in telecom industry, but I want to change to front-end developer. I am learning HTML, CSS and Javascript and hoping to make my portfolio by summer 2023. Lovely meeting you all!

Collapse
 
malikhaziq profile image
Malik-Haziq

Welcome man/lady (who you are) ๐Ÿ˜. Hope it wil be great journey.

Collapse
 
milenamonteiro profile image
Milena Monteiro

Welcome! Good luck in your journey :D

Collapse
 
aneeqakhan profile image
Aneeqa Khan

Just wanted to say welcome to everyone new and not-so-new to DEV. ๐Ÿ‘‹

Hope y'all enjoy it here!

If you're wondering how to get started with posting a post, then consider checking out this article here.

If you're wondering anything else, don't hesitate to reach out and ask. ๐Ÿ˜€

Collapse
 
zoefoliage profile image
Zoefoliage

Thank you Aneeqa!

Collapse
 
milenamonteiro profile image
Milena Monteiro

Hello! I've been reading posts here for a while but never been active. Recently I decided to start writing what I learn along the way and made my first post here :) Glad to be part of this community, hope we learn and grow together even more in this new year!

Collapse
 
nishanka profile image
Nishanka

Hello!

I am here with 2+ years career break due to covid-19 pandemic situation, parenting and some other reasons.

Currently I'm upskilling myself to enter the workforce again as a Senior Front End Developer.

Hoping to improve my tech knowledge while contributing to this community as much as I can.

Thanks for amazing people who read this short note about me.

Nice meeting you all!

Collapse
 
ankitmaurya profile image
ANKIT MAURYA

Hi there! My name is Ankit and I am a Student in Mumbai University. I am currently enrolled in a computer science degree program. I stumbled upon this platform while searching for information online. In my free time, I enjoy Walking.

Collapse
 
analudribeiro profile image
Lulu_ana • Edited

Hello word , faรงo analise de sistemas porรฉm ainda nรฃo sei muito de linguagens. Sรฃo tantas opรงรตes que as vezes me perco querendo ver todas. No momento trabalho como suporte mas quero mudar para o desenvolvimento. Sei o bรกsico de C, C++, Java, HTML, estou procurando focar mais em XML e Javascript atualmente pois sรฃo os mais usados aqui.

Collapse
 
malikhaziq profile image
Malik-Haziq

Hey this is Haziq, It's mine pleasure to join this community. I am Here to expand my skillset and help others do the same.

I believe that the key to success is constant learning and sharing that knowledge with others

Collapse
 
asksouley profile image
Souleymane. Tiendrebeogo

Hello everyone
Been here for about 1 years and wish I joined longtime ago . I always wanted to to blog and share what I have learned so far in my career but was reluctant to start. Joining the AWS community Builders gave me the boost I need .

Kudo to @ben and his team for building such an amazing tool . I have a whole list of topic that I plan on writing a blog about this year.

Collapse
 
viveksinra profile image
Vivek Singh

Hi, my name is Vivek Singh and **I am a full-stack developer specializing in the MERN **stack. I have a bachelor's degree in electronics and communication from the Cochin University of Science and Technology and have always been interested in web app development and software development. In addition to my formal education, I have developed a wide range of skills in technologies such as MongoDB, AWS, React, Node.js, HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and have used these skills to create numerous websites and CRMs.

I am passionate about creating high-quality, user-friendly products and am always looking to improve and expand my skills. In my free time, I enjoy staying up to date on the latest developments in the field of web development and love playing chess. I am a dedicated and hard-working individual who is always looking for new opportunities to learn and grow.

Collapse
 
anjanna profile image
Anjanna

Hello everyone! This is my first time visiting this community. Thank you for the welcome. I love learning and always wanted to start writing blogs which is what brought me here. Hoping to find amazing people and learning here!

Collapse
 
joannaneves profile image
Joanna

Hi! My name is Joanna, and my story has always been filled with curiosity and knowledge. Since I was a child I loved learning new things. As technology advanced, I fell more and more in love with everything changing around me, changing with me.
I currently work as a junior back end developer

Collapse
 
kcscript profile image
Ovu Samuel

Hello there! Good to be here. I am currently learning javascript and have issues with logics. I assume that understanding logic is key to attempting most javascript challenges. I came here to see if I can get help or any resources I can study to improve on it. I hope to enjoy the community above all.