DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v218

the word hello flashing on a blue and green background with a hand drawn heart underneath


  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (189)

Collapse
 
maxdraws profile image
Max Draws

hi im a newbie

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to Dev Max!

Obi wan Hello There

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Hi Max, welcome on DEV ! πŸ˜€πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
berviantoleo profile image
Bervianto Leo Pratama

Hello, welcome!

GIF

Collapse
 
nabilsynfl profile image
Nabilsynfl

hallo

Collapse
 
alexandre_dealmeida profile image
Alexandre Muniz de Almeida

Hello βœ¨πŸ‘‹ Welcome!

Collapse
 
zanemsdev profile image
ZanemsDev | SterNdev

Welcome To Dev Max !

Collapse
 
tararecruiter profile image
Tara Hann

Hey there from South African coast! πŸ‘‹
I'm a Tech Recruiter who has fallen in love with getting involved in tech myself, as a side hustle. Just started redoing my website serenitypersonnel.co.za, so don't be scared if you visit....still a newbie πŸ˜‚
Always on the lookout for some amazing talent in SA πŸ‘€ If you're up to chatting about what's going on in tech recruitment and current trends in the market here in SA, would love to connect linkedin.com/in/tara-hann-recruiter/

Collapse
 
coolgenius123 profile image
Kashif Habib

Hello Mam I am Kashif Currently a Computer Engineering Student Studying Web Development and Data Science.
Can I know what's the current situation of Recession and layoff and is there any chances in Web Development or Machine Learning/ Data Science as a freshers in tech market.

Collapse
 
mnsrff profile image
Mnsrff

Things are bad & getting worse, as you can notice... The economy is a cyclical thing.

Thread Thread
 
iosonoagenda profile image
Ettore Ongaro

I see... well, let's stay positive, we have work to do!

Collapse
 
ntshangase profile image
Mntwana

Hi Its always nice seeing a fellow South African😎

Collapse
 
berviantoleo profile image
Bervianto Leo Pratama

Hello, welcome!

GIF

Collapse
 
hamlet_097 profile image
Hamlet • Edited

Hi. I'm a newbie. New in Tech and I'm currently learning HTML and CSS recently coded my first Hello WorldπŸ€—

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Hi and welcome on DEV ! πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
smeexx profile image
smeexx

Hello

Collapse
 
gowtham_aripirala profile image
Gowtham Aripirala

Hi All, New bee here.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Hello and weelcoome ! βœ¨πŸ‘‹

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

Welcome to Dev Gowtham!

Obi wan Hello There

Collapse
 
gowtham_aripirala profile image
Gowtham Aripirala

Hi Chris, I'm aspiring to become full stack developer. Need your guidance/help....

Collapse
 
xabikip profile image
Xabi

Hello everyone! I'm not new here but I've written my first post ;)

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Nice!

Collapse
 
mon4ssi profile image
Monassi

Congratulations!

Collapse
 
agneskathambi254 profile image
Agneskathambi254

Agnes kathambi
Upcoming developer

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Welcome here! ✨

Collapse
 
c0mmand3rj profile image
James Batista

Hello Dev community,

I've been doing a lot of technical writing over the past few years as a Senior Front End Developer and thought this would be an ideal place to share and be apart of the community.

Collapse
 
merkasin profile image
Bishal

hi i am bishal, i am from india.
i am very passionate about java, i have learned how to use the spring framework.
used its modules like spring data jpa, spring mvc and thymeleaf to make web apps with full crud operations.
currently i am learning about MERN stack.

Collapse
 
reaminated profile image
Reaminated

Hey everyone, new to Dev.To (at least writing wise). Getting back into blogging (about random mini projects like this and general tech) so decided to start with my first post here - a tutorial to reverse engineer bluetooth RGB lights and them match your monitor for an immersive experience when watching films/gaming.

Tutorial and Code here

Feel free to follow me on Twitter (@keyboardP)

Look forward to being part of dev.to!

Collapse
 
nicnomadi profile image
N.T. Cuiper

New kid on the block? no old man in need of some human connection.
Nice to meet You

#include <stdio.h>

int main() {
    char input;

    printf("popup message\n");
    printf("Hi, I'm Nic Cuiper, a Developer.\n");
    printf("Are You a Developer?\n\n");
    printf("Y/N\n");

    scanf(" %c", &input);

    if (input == 'N' || input == 'n') {
        printf("\nHm, ok. You can't help it; you were born this way.\n");
        printf("I do not discriminate against minorities.\n");
    } else if (input == 'Y' || input == 'y') {
        printf("\nHi, nice to meet you! Developers have more flair in life!\n");
    } else {
        printf("\nInvalid input. Please enter Y or N.\n");
    }

    return 0;
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
prashanth_thumma_8e66a52a profile image
Prashanth Thumma

Haha. Don’t be harsh towards non programmers πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
iosonoagenda profile image
Ettore Ongaro

Easy man! Welcome on board!

Collapse
 
wgd3 profile image
Wallace Daniel

Hey everyone! πŸ‘‹

My name is Wallace and I'm a Senior IT Software Engineer who has decided to venture into technical writing as a way to document my own side projects.

I'm currently working on a series called "The Full Stack Development Series" which covers the basics of monorepos with Nx, an Angular frontend, and a NestJS, REST API backend. Accompanying these posts is a Github repository with tags for each chapter in the series:

GitHub logo wgd3 / full-stack-todo

An example repository showing how to create a full-stack to do application

Full Stack To-Do

This repository contains the code base that corresponds to a series of blog posts on full stack development. Check it out here: Full Stack Development Series

MIT License Commitizen friendly Quality Gate Status codecov semantic-release styled with prettier

Features

Backend - server

  • NestJS 9
  • REST API with Swagger documentation
  • JWT authentication support
  • TypeORM for support of various database varieties

Frontend - client

  • Angular 15
  • User registration/login
  • Stateless UI
  • Storybook integration for component development
  • Custom Design Library

Testing

  • Jest for backend unit testing, and supertest for integration testing
  • Jest for Angular unit tests
  • Cypess + Storybook for UI integration Testing
  • > 90% code coverage

Other

  • Kubernetes manifests for cluster deployment
  • Dockerfiles for standalone and docker-compose support
  • GitHub Actions used for all testing, building, and releasing
  • Nx monorepo used for clean directory structure and Nx Cloud for distributed CI tasks

Demo

As part of the Deployment Blog Post I added a small overview on deploying this application stack to Render.io. Both…

I'm always interested constructive criticism and dad jokes, and looking forward to interacting with the community!

thefullstack.engineer

Collapse
 
iosonoagenda profile image
Ettore Ongaro

If you need help, just tell me!

Collapse
 
ch3slin profile image
Cheslin van Wyk

Hello World

My name is Cheslin. I'm a student from South Africa πŸ‡ΏπŸ‡¦. The Dev Community is one I have been wanting to join for a while now. I am more focused in trying to understand the fundamentals of technologies rather than specific tools and languages. I need to state the obvious, I am a noob :)


I have a few goals though

  • Learn a lot
  • Get out of my shell
  • Post something on this platform
  • Hopefully make at least one friend
print("Enjoy the rest of the day, fellow developers")
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
chasi profile image
Wayne "Chasi" Godo

Yoo a South African! Nice to have you here man

Collapse
 
ch3slin profile image
Cheslin van Wyk

Hey Wayne, Thanks man I promise to only be offline when its loadshedding :)

Thread Thread
 
chasi profile image
Wayne "Chasi" Godo

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
danielrendox profile image
Daniel Rendox

Hello, guys! I'm a high school graduate from Ukraine. I started coding 2 years ago and understood that it is my true calling! I'm looking forward to connecting with people and sharing my knowledge.

My journey started from learning Java at a boot camp. Having learned Java and created some decent projects, I decided to switch to Kotlin and create Android apps. So that's what I'm doing now.

I always dreamed of a resource where students could discuss different topics, tell what they know, help each other, and even make friends and work together. So I'm excited to be a part of the community. I hope to get a supportive and enthusiastic audience, help others, and make new friends. I'm going to share my knowledge about different tools, programming languages, and frameworks that I use in my journey.

Collapse
 
coolgenius123 profile image
Kashif Habib

Hello Devs πŸ‘‹ Myself Kashif , I am Computer Engineering Student Currently Studying Data Science and Web Development .
I have found this amazing community, and really excited about this.
If there is any certain opportunity , which you think I will be good for it then Please consider I will gladly take part in it.

Collapse
 
mxnuchim profile image
Manuchim Oliver • Edited

Hey guys πŸ‘‹

My name is Manuchim, and I'm thrilled to join DEV community. I'm full stack developer with a passion for creating high-performance applications across web, mobile, embedded systems and moreπŸ’»,

My toolbox consists of React, React Native, Swift, SwiftUI, Golang and NodejsπŸ˜πŸš€, and I recently got into tech writing seriously😌. I'm always on the lookout for new ways to do old things, or new things to learn, so if you have any tips or advise you'd like to share, I'd love to hear them! πŸ™πŸΎ
You can take a look at my work at:
github.com/mxnuchim

When I'm not hard at work, you can usually find me building side projects just for the fun of itπŸ₯΄ or doing some workouts. I find that these activities help me clear my mind and stay sharp and focused all the time

You can check out my Twitter at twitter.com/manuchim_ix 🌐. I'm always looking to network with other developers, learn new things, and collaborate on projects too🀝

Best regards, πŸ™
Manuchim Oliver