DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v84

goof troop hey

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. ๐Ÿ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (197)

Collapse
 
tytrdev profile image
Ty Tracey • Edited

Hey, folks. I'm Ty. I'm a Software Engineer and Musician interested in building software for the common person and bringing people together. I recently started a podcast about Software Engineering and I am looking for guests that are passionate about any part of the software ecosystem. Let me know if you want to chat!

P.S. You can find a link to my podcast in my Bio.

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V. • Edited

Hello! I'm Sergey, CTO at Smartym Pro IT company. I have over 11 years of experience in Java enterprise and mobile app development. Here I write articles in my blog, covering topics such as tech trends, smart contracts, programming tips, and innovative software solutions for business.

I will be glad if you check it out and you say what topics you enjoy and what topics youโ€™d like to see. Good luck with your career!)

P.S. Like your podcast)

Collapse
 
blakecodez profile image
blakewood84

Hey Ty! I am a Full Stack Student at Bethel School of Technology! If you ever need someone who knows what it's like to come from a Junior Developer's perspective hit me up. I just started writing articles at: medium.com/@blake.wood.bst and my github is github.com/blakewood84 Please let me know if you come across any places where you can find others who are interested in collaborating with students on small to medium sized projects! I'll check out your podcast!

Collapse
 
tytrdev profile image
Ty Tracey

I'll check out your content for sure! Thanks for the welcome.

Thread Thread
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Thank you!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Thank you!)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo! Welcome to DEV. :-)

What type of music do ya play?

Collapse
 
tytrdev profile image
Ty Tracey

Hey! Thanks for the welcome. I'm primarily into jazz, funk, metal, and everything in between. Mostly I just improvise and jam, taking part in what I like to think of as music tribalism. Here's the most recent thing I'm proud of: soundcloud.com/tytr_dev/wholemada

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! I like your tunes a lot.

You a Vulfpeck fan?

Gotta say the end of R&B Synth jam thing scared the crap out of me! ๐Ÿ˜…

Thread Thread
 
tytrdev profile image
Ty Tracey

LOL i forgot about that. Sorry haha. LOVE vulfpeck. Top 5 all time at least right now haha.

Collapse
 
carlosfrodrigues profile image
Carlos Felix

Hi Ty! Always nice to see people engaged in music and software development. Starting listen to your podcast and enjoying it.

Collapse
 
tytrdev profile image
Ty Tracey

Thank you! I should have joined dev.to sooner, haha. Getting my podcast in the hands of Devs has proved challenging through other platforms.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice! Welcome to DEV!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Collapse
 
blorente profile image
Borja Lorente

Hey!

I'm Borja, Software Engineer @ Twitter.
I'm passionate about helping people level up in software engineering, I've started a blog about that.
I'd really like to talk about how to go from beginner tutorials to a more "intermediate" stage in a developer's career. I think there's a lot of good intro tutorials out there, but there are a lot of skills that you can only get at the job or with a good mentor, and I want to change that,

My bio is up to date :)

Collapse
 
diaswagner profile image
Wagner Dias

Hello Ty! I'm also a Software Engineer and musician, what a coincidence... yours was the first post I saw in the app!

Collapse
 
kubes2020 profile image
kubes2020

Hey Ty! What's your instrument of choice? I've been playing drums for most of my life and I just started learning programming. Major career switch! Lol

Collapse
 
tytrdev profile image
Ty Tracey • Edited

I'm a bit of a polyglot these days! The guitar was and always will be my first love. I picked up the bass a few years ago and have gotten really into it. I play synth/keyboard as well, and I just picked up an 8-course lute and a handpan tuned to the A Akebono pentatonic scale. Both are super cool!

Currently, the lute has my full attention.

Congrats on learning programming. It's wonderful and I thoroughly believe anyone can do it and be successful. The first episode of my podcast is me and an old boss of mine talking about the difference between Computer Science and Software Engineering. Treating software engineering as an art rather than a science. It might be at least somewhat insightful if you're interested!

P.S. Drums are wicked hard! If you can deal with setting up a drum kit and actually playing the damn thing, programming should be a piece of cake.

Thread Thread
 
kubes2020 profile image
kubes2020

Tight! I'll check it out.

The lute...that's amazing, I don't think I've ever seen one lol! My drums unfortunately are packed away in my closet for the time being. Drums and neighbors don't mix very well.

Collapse
 
serginator profile image
Sergio Ruiz

Itโ€™s curious but a lot of musicians I know or friends who like metal are also developers, sysops, devops... Haha. Welcome!

Collapse
 
skaps95 profile image
Sahaj Kapoor

Hey! Welcome to Dev. I will surely checkout your podcast.

Collapse
 
jhlyeung profile image
John Yeung

Hello! Love your mission. And your podcast looks cool too. Bookmarked it to check it out

Collapse
 
tomgranot profile image
Tom Granot

Hey Ty - I'm an SRE turned developer advocate and I'd be happy to come on the podcast. Hit me up!

Collapse
 
nhialthouh profile image
NhialThouh

Great to have your broadcast

Collapse
 
lillianwight profile image
Lillian Wight

Hello! My name is Lillian and I understand that this is a comment, not a post. ;)

I began working as an untrained legal assistant in 2013. It was interesting, challenging, inspiring, and I kept doing it until last November 30th, when I was laid off. That's when I realized I didn't enjoy what I was doing and thought that I would rather learn to code. I started taking udemy courses right away (I've signed up for probably too many but I'll always have something to do!), and I even joined a COVID-19 hackathon this past spring. That project taught me I have ALOT to learn and a LONG way to go, so I joined #100DaysOfCode a few days ago. My log is here: github.com/LillianWight/100-days-o...
I heard about CodeNewbies from The StackOverflow podcast and I think it's going to be right up my alley. I need encouragement, guidance, and chocolate.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha! Great ending to your intro. We have plenty of encouragement and guidance to give here... all outta chocolate though, we ran out just yesterday, such a bummer.

In all seriousness though, really hope you dig it here. ๐Ÿ˜€ You may find this beginner's guide to DEV helpful if you're not super familiar with the site:

If you have any questions about the site, don't hesitate to ask!

Collapse
 
lillianwight profile image
Lillian Wight

The Beginner's Guide is excellent! Probably the most welcoming guide I've ever seen. Thanks, Ali and Michael!

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Awesome, so glad this was helpful! ๐Ÿ˜€

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Welcome Lillian! I know we can provide the encouragement and guidance. As for chocolate ๐Ÿซ, while I love it too, youโ€™ll have to settle with a virtual taste.

Collapse
 
lillianwight profile image
Lillian Wight

Don't worry, Katie. You can tell me: Michael (above) ate it all, didn't he? :P

Thread Thread
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Yes, I have actually seen him and he looks like he could do that! ๐Ÿ˜Š

Collapse
 
maxwell63 profile image
Maxwell Shiundlana

Hey everyone, my name is Maxwell I am a Software Engineer. I am passionate about building cutting-edge software solutions. I am a Co-founder for a Tech start-up. I am still learning about the entrepreneurial side of a Tech-startup.

My main interests are AI, ML, Automation, cloud platforms and other various software applications.

Hope I will be welcomed, guided and encouraged in this platform.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I think you've come to just the right place Maxwell! Hope you dig it here.

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Welcome!)

Collapse
 
pamigit profile image
Pamela Prascevic

Hello Everyone I am Frontend Developer And Always Happy To Learn Something New :D
I had some experience working with HTML, CSS and JS but have some gap on understanding deep things. I have willing to improve myself and i am looking for new role :D
If you someone have willings too to work with me i would be appreciate :D
Currently, i am looking active for a job because my project was stopped because of Corona situation.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV! ๐Ÿ‘‹

Whale hello there!

Collapse
 
serginator profile image
Sergio Ruiz

Hi all! Iโ€™ve just discovered this site and it looks promising.
Iโ€™m Sergio, from Spain, and Iโ€™m a fullstack dev. I love JavaScript and best practices, but I also do some devops stuff, or CI/CD, sometimes python, php... always multitasked. On the other side I love to play guitar, videogames, TV shows, movies, books, comics, manga...
Nice to meet you!!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I love CI/CD and python, and dabble a bit in JavaScript.

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Love CI/CD, too, it provides so many benefits, appreciate automation the most.

Thread Thread
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I started using GitHub Actions this year during the hackathon and it was life changing.

Thread Thread
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

It is really cool

Thread Thread
 
serginator profile image
Sergio Ruiz

Iโ€™ve started using GH Actions too for work but on private repositories you have a limit of actions executed so I had to stop using it (at least for work hehe). For my public ones I was using travis-ci but probably Iโ€™ll migrate to GH actions to have everything in one place

Collapse
 
carlosfrodrigues profile image
Carlos Felix

Hi my name is Carlos(you can call me Carl). I'm a brazilian software developer from Rio de Janeiro. Currently studying Electronic Engineering and working developing software for Ericsson. I've been programming mostly in Javascript, Go and Python and Java. This year I started to become hugely interested in functional programming, I've been doing a lot of studies in Haskell

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Welcome!)

Collapse
 
smartym profile image
Sergey V.

Hi everyone!

Iโ€™m Sergey, a technical expert with 11+ years of experience in Java enterprise and mobile app development. I'm a certified Corda and Java engineer and Scrum Master with 5+ years of executive and entrepreneurial background. I have been the CTO at software development company since 2012.

Iโ€™m interested in blockchain, big data, AI, robotics, IoT, and enterprise applications. Feel free to contact me if you are looking for assistance in building software, have a project idea, or want to discuss tech issues.

I will be glad if you check out my blog and say what topics you enjoy and what would like to see in the future.

Hope, I will be welcomed here)

Collapse
 
katnel20 profile image
Katie Nelson

Hi everyone, I'm Katie the #welcome moderator.
My unofficial title: DEV cheerleader ๐Ÿ˜Š

I want to welcome all of you to the DEV community and let you know that you'll find lots of help and support here for all your coding needs.

Don't hesitate to ask questions or contribute new ideas with your own post.
If you are interested in posting, be sure to read my post:

Collapse
 
jeromediver profile image
Jรฉrรดme Lanteri

Hi all. I'm commercial diver who love dev from long time (i was a child and start BASIC, then C when Comodor 64 was born). I'm reconverted myself at 45 years old to become a dev professional. I'm very happy to learn all the time languages and new devops tools myself around C++, Kotlin, Ruby, Python, Javascript, Rust, Golang, and many other languages. I feel sur better with typed languages, but i do appreciate to do things easy also with other new age languages (maybe at first place with Python or Ruby). I also like electronic, and some ARM support. I'm also an full Unix and Linux lover.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Commercial Diver to DEV what a change. Welcome to the community. I'll be excited to see what you post over in the #python thread. If you're more comfortable with typed languages, you need to try out mypy and optional type hinting in python.

Collapse
 
jeromediver profile image
Jรฉrรดme Lanteri

thank you Waylon Walker. Yes, i love my commercial diver job, but i feel myself no more young, but not old, and i want more freedom and i love also coding things, so before to become old, i do change my life.
It should be possible to me to get job from this point (i get my new freelance number, so i'm trying to find clients).
I don't know what i can post around any language (Python why not ?) here or other place an other one didn't already. If you have an idea, i will do it the best i can. Tell me. My feeling is that, as long as there is something someone want it doesn't find, we can maybe provide something to help. In Python, doc and API doc is already very good, language is also very easy to understand. Some point around Meta programation or interface (ABC or Zope) is a bit more difficult, but not to much people need to know it...
What do you think it can be possible to do to contribute there ?

Collapse
 
jprumekso profile image
Jalu Pujo Rumekso

Hello everyone. I'm Jalu, a self-taught web developer from Indonesia.

I've been working as a web developer for almost a year at my family business, a small embroidery shop where I developed a simple management system using the old but beginner-friendly PHP framework: Codeigniter 3. But since the COVID-19 affects the business, we decided to stop the development...

Long story short, here I am now actively learning custom WordPress development and looking for remote opportunities as a technical writer. I plan to share what I've learned here, honing my English writing, and build my portfolio.

Nice to meet you all. :)

Collapse
 
ows_ali profile image
Owais Ali

Hello everyone. I am a Software Engineer with 3 years experience. I have BS CS degree as well luckily. I have been doing web development on PHP then i converted to mobile development using React Native and loving it. I also write blog on Medium.com on technology and other things random as well. Do follow me on here as well as on Medium

Collapse
 
vshl profile image
Vishal

Hello, I'm a software engineer by profession. The topics that interests me are anything opensource, Linux, Ruby and Android. I'm hoping to be involved in a community where I can share knowledge and improve my skills as an engineer. I have few posts to share of my own that I plan to import from my Medium blog. That said, I am happy to be here.

Collapse
 
lokmanedaoudi profile image
LokmaneDaoudi

Hi, I'm Lokmane, I'm a Mining student and right now I'm in the process of learning Web development. And I've already learn HTML and CSS and built some static websites and recently I'm learning JavaScript.
I'm here to learn more and help people who need it.
So if you need help in HTML and CSS let me know.

Collapse
 
sarahmacgrath profile image
Sarah MacGrath

Hi everyone! Iโ€™m Sarah. I work in virtual education, helping healthcare providers build skills and knowledge in mental health care.

Currently Iโ€™m teaching myself web development through The Odin Project and freeCodeCamp! Looking forward to connecting with all of you here ๐Ÿ˜.

Collapse
 
exploreraadi profile image
Aadi

Welcome Sarah and wish you all the very best๐Ÿ”ฅ

Collapse
 
naywint profile image
Nay Wint

Hello DEV

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

๐Ÿ‘‹ ๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ‘‹ ๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ‘‹ ๐ŸŒŠ

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.